Genesys

  www.genesys.com
  www.genesys.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Genesys Reviews

Updated September 30, 2014
Updated September 30, 2014
171 Reviews
4.3
171 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Genesys President and CEO Paul Segre
Paul Segre
127 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Easy going atmosphere, where people are always willing to help where they can (in 7 reviews)

  • I like the fact that I have the ability to work from home or out of the office; gives great flexibility (in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • The influence of Alcatel-Lucent while I was there was detrimental to the atmosphere of the team (in 11 reviews)

  • Constant lay-offs which contribute to the work-life balance issue (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Poised for continued success!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid product. Competent team. Strong focus on the customer. THE Leader in the market.

    Cons

    We can do everything. Which can (at times) be a bit bewildering.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consolidate products, process and paperwork. Make it easy for your employees to get work done and (much more importantly) make it easy for your customers to do business with you.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great product, poor management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Accountant  in  Daly City, CA
    Former Employee - Accountant in Daly City, CA

    I worked at Genesys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has s great software product

    Cons

    Life balance non existence in here.
    No vacation accrual. So pray for a good and understandable manager (unlikely).
    The worst medium level management that I've seen in any company that I've worked for. Worst of all, high level managers don't care.
    Don't expect a good flow of communication.
    Daly City (nothing in here but fog)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Can you please stop thinking just about your bonuses and focus also on the employees?

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive  in  Daly City, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Daly City, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - As a sales rep, Genesys offers what you want - an opportunity to make money. The product is rock solid and the company is not against its reps doing well.
    - the company follows a work hard / play hard mentality
    - execs are very approachable and will work with reps wherever needed to get things done

    Cons

    - due to demand and a recent ramp up of the sales team - resources can be stretched thin.
    - so much to do! (also filed under pro's)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    - keep up the good work
    - streamline processes wherever possible to make things easier for reps

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Genesys Response

    May 23, 2014HR Representative

    Thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to write. We’ll definitely pass your comments about streamlining along to the team.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Company is clueless as to what it takes to be successful and professional

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of work
    lots of projects
    assumption that they know what they are doing as its their SW
    They sell a lot of their SW

    Cons

    Very poor management
    no idea what it takes to run a project
    dont do the basics well at all
    very cheap attitude

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire some management that know waht they are doing and understand what it takes to run projects

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Genesys Response

    May 23, 2014HR Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We want to make sure we are always improving, and awareness of your concerns helps us do that. I encourage you to contact your manager or HR Partner with ... More

  6.  

    No respect

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer  in  San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart sales engineers that are willing to indure the stupidity of administrative staff that do not respect, appreciate or understand how an SE contributes to an enterprise software sale.

    Cons

    No respect for the above mentioned sales engineers. Here is an idea, we are going to hire SE's right off the street with no industry experience.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Why not hire management and HR and other back office right out of college? Surely they could not do any worse.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Genesys Response

    Jul 24, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    It sounds like you are frustrated by our Associate Sales Engineer Program, which is designed to hire and develop new talent to support and work with our senior SE’s. We GREATLY value our existing SE ... More

  7. 4 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work, stable company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great success record and lots of new growth and opportunity present for existing employees. Being part of something that you know won't go away anytime soon is great for employees with families.

    We've got a lot of historical data to work with, and new ideas and drive to innovate. We are leaders in our industry and we'll continue to stay out front with the acquisitions and new products we are rolling out.

    Cons

    We should continue to focus on improving collaboration across teams. For such a large workforce across so many countries we are succeeding but we could do better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep a focus on innovation and moving to the future.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Genesys Response

    May 23, 2014HR Representative

    Thanks for posting! Scaling and innovation are key initiatives for us; we appreciate your continued feedback and ideas. We’re glad to have you as a part of the team!

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good Work/Life balance.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant  in  Daly City, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Daly City, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovative products that lead the contact center industry. All of us will go out of our way to make sure the Customer needs are met. At professional services, we build and implement large (> $1M) solutions for big enterprises (Banks, telecom companies, utilities etc).We get to work from home full time in any US city (Travel to customer sites as necessary).

    Cons

    Not much in terms of career growth opportunities. Fairly static careers for all my co-workers and managers. Genesys is pretty much focused only on the contact center and maybe not for someone interested in fast growth sectors like Mobile Computing, Big Data and Machine Learning etc. They recently acquired companies to have products in the Cloud, but I don't see much of it in my line of work (yet). We HAVE to work from home full time!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    A good starting point (marketing ops)

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Database Intern  in  Daly City, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Database Intern in Daly City, CA

    I worked at Genesys as an intern for more than a year

    Pros

    - The current senior marketing database manager permitted me room for growth.
    - Supportive of my success and gave me a shining reference (even created an opening for me even though I ended up having to decline the offer).

    Cons

    - I did not have a grasp of our product despite being on the marketing team..
    - Not much visibility if you're an intern; but I guess it would not be the best use of time to fill-in an intern with your business strategies anyhow.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    - Keep encouraging growth. It helps foster talent and success. You will see a return in a more happy, efficient, and creative employee.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    Genesys Response

    May 23, 2014HR Representative

    Thanks for posting! You’ve given us some valuable insight. We want all of our employees, interns included, to understand the product better, so that’s a place we can definitely improve! Your feedback ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good pay, but success based primarily on politics.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager  in  Daly City, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Daly City, CA

    I worked at Genesys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people as individuals, competitive environment not conducive to collaborative

    Cons

    Lack of clear objectives and budget

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Value your employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Genesys Response

    Jul 25, 2014SVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for posting your concerns; I’m sorry we won’t have a chance to address them with you personally. I’ll be sure to share your comments related to your former department with the appropriate ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    My overall experience with this company has been neutral, not great, not horrible.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst  in  Daly City, CA
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Daly City, CA

    I have been working at Genesys full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Plenty of room for growth, Competitive Salaries, Striving to go public

    Cons

    HQ Location, Public generally unaware of product, older workforce

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Worked for Genesys? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.