Giftcraft

  www.giftcraft.com
  www.giftcraft.com

Giftcraft Reviews

Updated October 28, 2014
Updated October 28, 2014
78 Reviews
4.1
78 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Trevor Cohen
63 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The driving force behind the success of the business is the leadership of our CEO, Trevor Cohen (in 21 reviews)

  • I'm honored to be part of a company that has the designation of Best Managed companies in Canada for 3 years running (in 6 reviews)


Cons
  • there is little or no babysitting from upper management (in 5 reviews)

  • Customer service is terrible which can end up costing great clients (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 6 people found this helpful  

    Bright Future at Giftcraft

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous
    Current Employee - Anonymous

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Growing company always ready to take on new challenges and stay on trend in the marketplace. Quick to change things as needed and fantastic new product releases! The most exciting thing is seeing hard work and company support pay off with big results!

    Cons

    As with any sales job, you must commit the time to see the results! But the pros by far outweigh any cons!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Supportive of ideas and always willing to listen! They work very hard to create a family type atmosphere and develop a culture where all are welcome to participate in the growing of the company and the bright future ahead!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate that you understand that as a sales professional hard work and determination are key ingredients to success. We are glad to hear you ... More

  2. 6 people found this helpful  

    fantastic company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    very individual and hands on management....ability to grow and move up very quickly

    Cons

    must be able to get up and go each day since we work from home

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    quickly and upon job performance

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    Many thanks for taking time to review Giftcraft on Glassdoor. We strive to create an environment for our employees to succeed and are proud when members of our team grow professionally reach their ... More

  3. 5 people found this helpful  

    Endless Opportunity

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    We have a win win situation to work here, endless amounts of products to serve any retail customer. A team from the top down that gives 110% to provide us with the tools to know we are on trend and have products that fit and suit all markets. Samples given to get in your customers hands, iPads to show and sell our line with confidence and great photography. A company that has always had the ability to have an idea or trend and pull a complete line together and bring to market in a short amount of time to be first out. A company that has been awarded two years in a row one of Canada's Top 50 BEST Managed companies.

    Cons

    With any job it takes a long day each day to be a success, but as in life you ALWAYS get out what you put in.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No advice but, always Thankful they are looking to bring us the newest and best products on the market. Our Management team has and does sell they know what it is we all need to be successful.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    Thank you for being a part of the Giftcraft family for more than 10 years! I love hearing from members of our team who share the same vision and passion I have for our organization.
    I look forward
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 5 people found this helpful  

    An amazing company to build a career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Territory Sales
    Current Employee - Territory Sales

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    I've been working at Giftcraft for over 8 years and it has provided me a platform to develop a successful career in sales. The company is like one big family and I've been fortunate to interact and work with individuals throughout the entire organization who've taught me the ins and outs of how to be successful in our industry. From sales support all the way up to Trevor Cohen our CEO everyone shows a vested interest in my personal success and have supported me from the moment I joined the company. I'm honored to be part of a company that has the designation of Best Managed companies in Canada for 3 years running. I've be afforded the opportunity to build a successful career here while maintaining a successful work life balance. I'm surrounded by motivated and hard working individuals who are all working for the common goal of achieving personal and company success.

    Cons

    I believe the companies greatest strength is at times also a challenge with so many amazing opportunities and product launches across so many different categories of business. At times it's challenging to manage all the opportunities properly and give each business category the attention it deserves.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thank you for the ongoing support and continue to innovate, develop and lead in our industry.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    The true reward of a CEO is reading your great review for which I thank you. Our company’s collective objective is to provide opportunities for our employees and sales professionals to achieve great ... More

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Unlimited potential based on how hard you want to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Giftcraft has a wonderful a catalog that is updated regularly. Customers respond very well to the products. You can sell to a lot of different small businesses--florists, gift shops, garden centers, museums, zoos, clothing boutiques, kitchen and wine stores, etc. The job allows you to visit with many different customers without being tied to a desk or doing phone sales. You receive very good job training and you always have the immediate support of managers. Giftcraft has been in business for the better part of a century, outlasting many of its competitors. If you work hard, your earning potential is unlimited.

    Cons

    This is not a good fit for people who do not like to work independently or who do not like to drive. You must be comfortable with cold calling.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Fun, always different, very nice superiors

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    If you love working where every day is different and a new adventure, then you will love it! I love going all over and finding new spots to enjoy. I have met some wonderful people along the way. If you don't do well, then it's your own fault. The lines are huge and always changing and most of the products sell themselves. The clothing has vastly caught on and I have people asking me for it now!

    Cons

    You must love travel....It's not really a con, just be aware of it! You will not be sitting at home in front of your computer being successful with it. Get a GPS and get out there!!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  8.  

    Great opportunity for hard-working, self-motivated individuals

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Territory Manager
    Current Employee - Territory Manager

    I have been working at Giftcraft full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    This job is great for someone who wants to write their own schedule. Customers love our products and the company continues to release new product on a regular basis.

    This is one of the most simplistic jobs I have ever had. Make sure you have a full calendar of appointments, see customers everyday, write orders and make an appointment to go back the next time. It is just that simple!

    Cons

    Always have a plan B. Sometimes customers have to rearrange their schedule or just can't make the appointment, in this job you mast have a plan to see other people when something changes on your calendar so you can write orders every day.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep hiring well qualified sales people that are willing to get up each day and do their job! Most importantly people that will have fun every day.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great potential but management ruins the CEO's great vision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative

    I worked at Giftcraft full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The inside sales support staff are wonderful with support and efficiency. Top notch really.

    Cons

    Reviewing the current reviews tells you everything you need to know. Word got out with the onslaught of massive hiring and firings in 2014 and some of them posted here. The few positive recent postings are because there are some amazing sales talent whom I met at one of our meetings in the right geography, that deserve their success. But the dwindling number of top performers weekly means these are the exception and not reflective of the national sales force.
    One of the reviewers needs to look on the Giftcraft website. They are posting their territory as open.
    Territory development into a $500,000.00 annual sales volume or higher for a small city (1-2 million) takes time that you are not given, and you may start with half of that. There are many customers in multiple territories in my state that won't buy from Giftcraft again. Not because of quality- they have addressed some of these issues and retailers will try again with a good salesperson to give them confidence to do so- but the ultra high rep turnover really scares them off.
    There is a review from this summer that really eloquently nails the Giftcraft challenging experience. They are currently employed with them so no venting, just exact accurate analysis. The lack of analysis of sales numbers (LY vs TY) it is not even allowed to be discussed. They just want everyone to do the $500K no matter where you start at ( including starting at half of that) calling on independent retailers only - whom are just starting to recover from 2008 economic meltdown.
    There is a member of management who should not be in any people focused business. I have been out here in corporate department store sales and independent retailers for many years and I have never met someone as unprofessional and held in contempt by that many employees. "Ruthless and narrow minded" are the most common way to describe this member.
    Sales samples- terrible reflection of top items that should be carried in your car. But when a new launch happened this summer that we have to text the numbers in daily for -many of us did not receive those samples. But some did who have been with the company longer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get some management that understands you hired these self starters that actually enjoy cold calling and opening new accounts with a successful track record- so, let them work their magic and grow the business that the product development talent has worked so hard to develop.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10. 4 people found this helpful  

    Run the other way, do not give a second of thought!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Territory Manager
    Former Employee - Territory Manager

    I worked at Giftcraft full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    They do have some nice lines, but due to lack of corporate support to take care of customers and excessive sales person turnover, retailers don't support the lines.

    Cons

    Giftcraft will promise you the world and tell you how much money you are going to make. A majority of the product has 6 month lead times to ship. So they hire in lots of sales people who go out work hard to sell in for the next season. Then they will cut you loose after 6 months, but before the product ships and they keep the commissions you worked hard for. Welcome to the Giftcraft experience. I would encourage anyone to get hard numbers before they start (good luck) and speak to some retailers.

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    Thank you for your review. It is the Giftcraft mandate to clearly communicate our company’s goals and expectations to our new sales professionals before they begin their role as Territory Sales ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great till they tried to steal my accounts I developed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - National Sales in New York, NY
    Former Employee - National Sales in New York, NY

    I worked at Giftcraft full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Gary Polan is a sraight up guy.

    Cons

    Trevor is the most difficult person to work with

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Retire

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Giftcraft Response

    Sep 29, 2014CEO

    Thank you for expressing your thoughts. If there is one thing in which we are in total agreement is that Gary Polan is a straight up guy! Although it may be your perception that I am difficult to ... More

Work at Giftcraft? Share Your Experiences

Giftcraft

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.