Green Dot Reviews

Updated August 23, 2015
81 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
2.2
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Steve Streit
50 Ratings

Pros
  • people are great, facility is nice (in 4 reviews)

  • Moving to the new, customized Pasadena headquarters created more positive energy in the work environment (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Revolving door for c-level people (in 5 reviews)

  • New leadership terminated (not lay-offs) a lot of employees this year and now the morale is low but hopefully it will pick up (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

81 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Positive Corporate Culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool coworkers, nice office space, fairly flexible schedule, and room for growth

    Cons

    A few bad eggs who are stubborn about change


  2. Good Company

    Current Employee - Training & Content Specialist in Valencia, CA
    Current Employee - Training & Content Specialist in Valencia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good place to work, team oriented and good management.

    Cons

    Communication between departments was a little tough.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Green Dot Response

    Aug 31, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and insight. Your review informs us of what we are doing well and how we can become an even better company. We are excited that you are enjoying your time at Green Dot.


  3. Helpful (5)

    Take heed! Run away! There are better opportunties!!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevenson Ranch, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stevenson Ranch, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Green Dot (More than a year)

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think of one!

    Cons

    It's very sad, this company is so far off track there is little hope that it will ever see it's full potential. The CEO is a broadcaster by trade and has no business background; he's arrogant and when they DO hire quality people with opinions that differ from his myopic views, they get fired or "leave on their own" wink.. wink... The half hearted responses that you see here from the Green Dot "Employee Communications and Culture Team" are simply bad attempts at damage control. They are clueless as to the true issues at hand. The environment is toxic, upper management is always looking to point a finger when things go wrong. Their complete lack of understanding of processes and their team's job descriptions drives the finger pointing mentality. I am being brutality honest here, and as the sayings go, "The truth hurts" and the "Truth Shall Set You Free". Go elsewhere, you will dodge a bullet.

    Advice to Management

    Wake Up!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Project manager

    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    lots of change for better; great vibes

    Cons

    Benefit is not up to today's standards; such is 401K . The industry standard is 100% match up to 6%.

    Advice to Management

    Communication, transparency, better benefits

    Green Dot Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. Our benefits are part of a complete total rewards package. We offer medical, dental and vision insurance, short and long-term disability, tuition reimbursement ... More


  6. Helpful (9)

    Technical Program Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Pasadena, CA
    Current Employee - Technology in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    *Fun work environment *Low premium for medical benefits *product development

    Cons

    *middle and senior leadership exercise favoritism when it comes to promotions * executive leadership is incompetent.....none of the leaders are strategic *product and program management are treating as the same role in this company *many of the program managers are just 'task' masters *the CEO and COO are incompetent snobs

    Advice to Management

    clean out the Rovi leaders (program mgt.,product management, and technical operations

    Green Dot Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for providing insight about your experience at Green Dot. As a current employee we invite you to express your concerns to the Human Resources team or anonymously through the employee ... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    Great Vibe

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Luv the people I work with! The culture has really come a long way -- having more fun at work! But still getting the job done! :)

    Cons

    Some employees still like the Green Dot from the past -- small company, manual process, know everyone cause it's only 200 employees. These employees need to embrace the new and improved Green Dot!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! It's really paying off! There's a better vibe in the hallways, employees are excited to be working at Green Dot.

    Green Dot Response

    Jun 30, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    Your enthusiasm is contagious! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are enjoying your time at Green Dot.


  8. Helpful (2)

    decent

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    cool products chance to work for the company that pioneered the industry accomplishments acknowledged lots of my friends work here (: firm values diversity. female General Managers and senior executives, female & african american board members, cto is (? hispanic with asian name? blackspanic? something) on and on

    Cons

    be careful of negative reviews from people who were FIRED for being TERRIBLE. Do not fall for it. Green Dot may call them 'lay offs' for legal reasons. But we breathe sighs of relief when these people are gone and more qualified replacements arrive!!!! I am not on the technology side but we heard the horror stories of how it was. I was one of the people suffering blowback from customers 3 years ago when the products kept failing and IT kept going down. Who WHO is longing for those days !!?!!!!! Our customers were so angry in those days WHY would you miss THAT?!!!?

    Advice to Management

    Keep at it. I find it hard to believe people here are missing the old days. Does not make sense. Our customers were so upset with us in those days. Who are these people did they really work here !??!

    Green Dot Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your positive experiences. Your feedback provides us with valuable insight on areas that will make us a better company as we grow and expand. We appreciate the time and ... More


  9. Helpful (6)

    Bad culture, Bad management, Bad Strategy, All around BAD

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Potential for cool products (risk averse management currently has neither the patience nor the ability to realize that potential). Undervalued, talented employees in Palo Alto. New management would do wonders for morale and productivity. Ability to progress on relationships only and not actually do any valuable work. Developers are free to use new technologies (provided you don't mind being constantly second guessed). Free snacks. Leaving the company was a very pleasant experience thanks to HR department.

    Cons

    Annual reviews, whether good or bad, do not matter to managers come review time. If your manager likes you, you'll get a good raise, period. Hard work is not recognized, had my manager tell me "all you do is get your work done" as if that was a bad thing. Butt-in-chair organization (BIC), working remotely as a developer is frowned upon. Product management is in disarray due to poor strategy and the constantly changing vision of C-level execs due to their ADD, fear of risk, inexperience, and willingness to say "Yes" constantly.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that company you bought in Palo Alto, you killed it when you bought it. And by killing it, I mean you literally killed that company and its progressive, team/product building culture. Steve Streit, you are an emperor with no clothes, your employees and Wall Street know it, time to move on.

    Green Dot Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    We are sorry to hear of your experience, but thankful you have taken the time to share your thoughts.


  10. Helpful (6)

    Run, run, run the other way!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Green Dot full-time

    Pros

    Only pro is pay and a few long term associates that have managed to navigate the crazy with some success.

    Cons

    Executive team is horrible (like eat their young horrible). They are not willing to make business decisions and do not empower employees. No corporate vision, strategy or plan. Constant power struggles and back stabbing at the highest levels. Typical behavior involves demeaning and belittling employees. Executive team successfully promotes a culture of fear. The company has been relatively successful despite leadership.

    Advice to Management

    None; cant fix crazy and can't fix stupid!

    Green Dot Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    We sincerely appreciate your perspective and feedback. We strongly encourage you to contact Human Resources and/or utilize the Green Dot Employee hotline to anonymously or openly express your ... More


  11. Helpful (8)

    Good Company, Good Compensation, Horrible Leadership.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Professional in Pasadena, CA
    Former Employee - Software Professional in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Green Dot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    All lost in last few years.

    Cons

    Group of discarded people brought from a shutdown business to drive the technology team. Corrupt technology leadership lack definition of software architecture and justifying their paycheck by defaming the people who built the real technology foundation of this company.

    Advice to Management

    Identify the chain of slackers sitting in every team connected to the top. How to identify? Have them get interviewed by an external team of neutral highly technical consultants. It is about time for them to be shown the door. Clean the house and hire best people from Microsoft, Google, Amazon......

    Green Dot Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Employee Communications and Culture Specialist

    We value insight from past employees as it helps us identify areas that can be enhanced in addition to what we are doing well. Over the years, we have gained top talent from various professional ... More



Showing 81 of 84 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.