Guaranteed Rate

  www.guaranteedrate.com
  www.guaranteedrate.com

Guaranteed Rate Reviews

Updated December 18, 2014
Updated December 18, 2014
220 Reviews
3.7
220 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Victor F. Ciardelli III
177 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The technology is very good, allowing work from home as an option (in 11 reviews)

  • Loan officer is able to sell instead of "babysitting" file through close (in 17 reviews)


Cons
  • On weekly calls he rants about how loan officers should know guidelines better than underwriters (in 23 reviews)

  • Upper management needs to look at what those numbers actually stand for (in 8 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great tech; Comfortable atmosphere

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - On-boarding Support Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - On-boarding Support Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The biggest pro is the large group of like-minded, hard-working individuals that make up the company. Having a solid group of peers makes coming to work enjoyable. There is great technology at this company. The business thrives on it. Loan Officers especially have an advantage with it all. There is an extraordinary wealth of resources that are available within an internal site and a support center. These two things are invaluable and really help to advance the knowledge of the employee base as a whole. No matter what position you have, you can further your knowledge with this site or with the incredible training department. It’s a great way to make progress in your own career.

    Cons

    Benefits are incredibly expensive. A number of options, but even the poorest coverage will dent your paycheck. I also think the 401k match is low for a company of this size. If you are not at the corporate office or within the Chicago area, the support can also seem lacking. A major disconnect from company culture that way.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make sure that regional support is clarified and strongly built up to fit the same standards as corporate/Chicago area. Try to find a way to improve benefits packages or company contribution.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Dec 23, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    Guaranteed Rate is filled with motivated people looking to make a difference in the mortgage industry regardless of the department they work in. With top notch technology, the Loan officers are set ... More

  2.  

    Workplace where one can learn so much

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Loan Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Loan Coordinator in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate

    Pros

    A fast paced and very dynamic environment to work in. It’s always a great company to work for. You learn a lot and you learn a lot about the industry.

    Cons

    We don’t get a lot of sick time or personal days.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    We don’t get a lot of feedback because everyone is very busy. So we do not know if we are doing a good job or not.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Dec 8, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    Thanks for the review and recommendation! The mortgage industry is a nonstop train of hard work, fast paced environments, and constant change. We are glad you're enjoying your time and will look into ... More

  3.  

    Company Built for its Customers AND Employees

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President of Business Development in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Vice President of Business Development in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate

    Pros

    - Laid back and non-militant organizational environment.
    - Entrepreneurial production environment and self-controlled growth opportunity.
    - Private entity, absent of structural restrictions on individual growth and promotion, often seen in publicly
            traded firms, due to extreme compensation policies and shareholder interest.
    - Organizational environment serves both customer and employee satisfaction equally; satisfied employees
            naturally attribute to consumer and business partner satisfaction.

    Guaranteed Rate is a company built not only for the consumer, but equally beneficial to the employee. One’s success is self-controlled and those whom are self-motivated, with a high work ethic, have endless opportunity.

    Cons

    Employee benefits are less attainable and significantly more expensive than larger and/or public organizations, however expected. The workdays can often be demanding and require 24/7 attention, which can be a difficult initial adjustment if one is use to structured operations.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Dec 5, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    In order for our customers to be happy, the employees have to be happy and want to produce. GR does this just right and it shows with the laid back environment, perks and resources available for LOs ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    1

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate

    Pros

    very good company with good support

    Cons

    cant think of any right now.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    1

  6.  

    Used to be a really great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate

    Pros

    GReat culture for LO's provided you can do 5 or more loans per month. If not, you may want to look elsewhere

    Cons

    Operations are minimum staffed at times and can create late closings due to turn times. Seems like operations doesn't bother to look at contingency and coe dates...

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Challenging work, strong culture, and amazing people!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I have worked at companies ranging from massive Fortune 50 corporations down to tiny internet startups, and both ends of the spectrum have their pros and cons. Guaranteed Rate, however, is in the perfect sweet spot by being both a sizable company with the resources and stability that brings and also being a nimble and entrepreneurial organization that is truly revolutionizing an industry. The work I do is fast-paced and challenging, and I look forward to the new experiences I face each day. I have never worked with a better group of employees that simultaneously push and support each other for the very best results. There is a strong emphasis on overcoming obstacles to get things done…and then celebrating those wins together with the GR family.

    Cons

    I just wish some of the remote locations had access to amazing perks available at GR corporate HQ. The rooftop deck, the professional chefs, the gym, the nurse, the massage therapist, etc... Sounds more like a luxury resort than an office!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    As the company grows like crazy, please stay close to the needs and feedback of employees. If you do so, I see big things in store for GR for many years to come.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Nov 24, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    GR is filled with great resources and people who are always looking to push to the next level. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us and look forward to the future. Thanks for the ... More

  8.  

    Open company that gives you a great system to work in with great support

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Ann Arbor, MI
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Ann Arbor, MI

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    I like the commitment to systems and support. I really like the level of transparences. For example everyone’s numbers are broadcasted. So you can see how everyone is doing. In the past I have worked for a major bank, brokerages and mid-sized bank. It’s usually standard practice where managers hold you up to an unrealistic expectation. If you’re good you know what your abilities are and what your output potential is. Here I know what the Top LO, MC and LCs are doing. So I know who and where to compare myself too. It makes me push myself so I can continue to produce over $30MM a year. I really appreciate that, everyone one knows what everyone’s doing.

    Cons

    Really the only thing is what I noticed is that in regards to policies, it’s a big cumbersome animal. Most of our policies make sense, but occasionally we see one implicated that doesn’t make sense. Because this is a company that is geared out around LOs, they usually get hammered out. We don’t really know about the decision making process. The closing process is so slow while everything else is really fast. We need to figure out a way to improve that.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stremline the closing process. For a company that is SO good at everything else, it doesn't make sense as to why it takes 2-3 full business days to get a file from CTC to docs at title and HUD approval.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Dec 3, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    We couldn't agree more about the support and commitment that GR provides to their employees. The mortgage business is a competitive field and we are pleased that seeing others excel in the field ... More

  9.  

    Business that continues to provide

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    My team of 6 and I heard that GR was looking for Loan Officers in the east coast and we interviewed in Chicago and got the job. One thing that is pretty amazing about GR, when we came into the business we didn’t know much and overnight pricing improved as well as technology. When I was in the Presidents Club, Victor made it a point that VPs are important, which I respect and agree with him completely. It’s been a great run so far with GR and out of everything that looks like GR but none compare to it.

    Cons

    Condo is difficult to deal with, but GR is doing great to improve. It’s more positive than a negative overall to be honest.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Nov 24, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    Always great to hear stories of GR bringing in people and making them feel right at home. We hope you're enjoying your time with us! Thanks for the review and recommendation.

  10.  

    A business model that works!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President Mortgage Lending
    Current Employee - Vice President Mortgage Lending

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The resources are terrific. There is so much content and there are always answers for just about anything on the intranet. The sales coaching and marketing is great, I can have so much more time to sell. I am thoroughly impressed with the POD team members and how much they really know. My team are all very motivated to put the customers first whether it means coming in early or staying late or answering emails after hours. The culture is inspiring that rewards good smart work.

    Cons

    As with any large organization, there can be layers of approval. This has not held anything up as turn times are terrific, however, we could be even faster if some of the redundant work was consolidated.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Guaranteed Rate Response

    Nov 26, 2014VP - Client Satisfaction

    The amount or resources and content that we provide our employee and specifically loan officers is astounding. We set them up for success and can tell you have taken full advantage of it thus far ... More

  11.  

    GRate

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Guaranteed Rate full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule, able to work from home if needed. Fun events and nice perks for employees.

    Cons

    Pay is below average. Not a lot of hands on training available, unless you have a co-worker who is willing to help.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Better pay=better employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Guaranteed Rate? Share Your Experiences

Guaranteed Rate

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.