HD Supply Reviews

Updated March 23, 2015
265 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.9
265 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
HD Supply CEO Joe DeAngelo
Joe DeAngelo
90 Ratings

Pros
  • Most important is the encouragement to have a healthy work/life balance (in 5 reviews)

  • Branch level associates are great people that are fun to work with (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management has no clue about whats going on in the field (in 6 reviews)

  • Communication between the lines of business is poor (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great learning experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    -Managers that care
    -Practical work that grows the company
    -Class of interns

    Cons

    -Long hours
    -Not enough social events

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 24, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your review. We always appreciate when our associates take the time to provide us with feedback.

  2. Building your career while building your community.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Class-A Driver in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Class-A Driver in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    There are many reasons that I enjoy working here , great hours (6:30 to 3:00), quarterly bonus, monthly driver bonus, three weeks vacation, holiday pay,,sick time, personal time off and a fair hourly wage.
    The trucks are all brand new as are the fork-lifts.

    Cons

    They need to work on the insurance plan. Also communication could be better between management and drivers.
    @ "no use talking when there's no one listening"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Maybe it's the way you've always done it, but there are times when change is good for the company.
    @ If your going to talk the talk then walk the walk!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 24, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your response. We appreciate you taking the time to share what you enjoy about working here as well as your suggestions for improvement. We welcome all feedback both positive and ... More

  3. This company is not the company it used to be

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    No pros for this positions

    Cons

    In my opinion they do not do a good job of hiring senior managers. Senior managers do not practice what they preach. Junior managers do all the work while senior managers get all the accolades and there is no work-life balance for junior managers because of the very long hours they work and the pay isn't comparable to the hour worked.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Good company and fantastic co-workers.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    Great work environment. Managers are selecting new hires who fit well with the current team (in my department, at least), which makes everyone's job easier. Advancement options, if you put in the work.

    Cons

    Benefit package is not as good as I believe it could be. It seems some departments like to hire people as young as possible in order to keep salary averages low, which may have an effect on the salary of people who deserve more.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 24, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your response. We are very proud of the great work environment we have here at HD Supply. We continue to review our compensation structure to ensure that it aligns with current industry ... More

  6. Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Worker in Carlisle, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Worker in Carlisle, PA

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Very structured, training, policies are very buttoned up

    Cons

    Long hours, no advance notice for OT

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management need to disagree to agree, meet each other in the middle

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 17, 2015HR Leader

    We hear your concerns. The wellbeing of our associates is the foundation of our success pyramid. That’s why we constantly seek out a balance between fairness and our progress as a company. Thank you ... More

  7. Great Place to Get Started

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    -Easy work load for the most part
    -immersive experience across all lines of business
    -Team first atmosphere

    Cons

    -"We've done it this way forever" mentality
    -Power of customers heavily outweighs your power as a distributor
    -Interaction with exceedingly difficult customers and co-workers daily

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    -Do more reviews to allow associates opportunity to improve work habits
    -Support each branch as its own entity, the entire market is not the same across the board

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 17, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for acknowledging that HD Supply is a great place to work and that we strive to work as one team. We always appreciate when current employees take the time to provide us with feedback.

  8. Hd is my best emplyee beginning w traing til u get on the floor

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in New Braunfels, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in New Braunfels, TX

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    Ppl are friendly sups are awesome

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up d good work

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 25, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your review. We agree that our people create an excellent working environment. That's why we continuously strive to develop and empower best of the best talent by listening, learning ... More

  9. Can be a great workplace.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate in La Habra, CA
    Former Employee - Associate in La Habra, CA

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    The work schedule was flexible. Overall quality depends on the other people you worked with. Management is very open to suggestions.

    Cons

    The quality depended on the people you worked with. This could be both a pro or con depending on the team.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be beneficial for management to provide more perks to improve overall company morale. Suggestions are taken into consideration, but management should take a pro-active role in making the workplace a better place.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 17, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your feedback. We recognize that each associate experience is unique. We value your feedback and suggestions and encourage you to express your concerns with your manager or HR partner.

  10. 3 people found this helpful

    good company, many changes throughout the year, focused on health and wellness

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Director in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    flexible work hours, many locations around the country, great people, focused on health and wellness, business casual clothing, focused on the customer experience

    Cons

    things change often, high turnover in management, costly medical benefit plan, high deductible, hard to achieve bonus due to high growth targets

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    focus more on employee moral and satisfaction, need greater visibility to career path planning, would like better less expensive benefits

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. No communication

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    The people are nice. Company and office events are frequent. Decent pay initially. Flexible working hours for most. Insurance benefits are effective immediately. (Although very expensive!)

    Cons

    Mgmt has no interest in developing their employees. Need to start communicating when expectations fall short so there's a chance for improvement before firing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk to your employees about expectations before blindsiding them with termination.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Mar 24, 2015HR Leader

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, both positive and negative. We wish you the best in the next step of your career.

Work at HD Supply? Share Your Experiences

HD Supply

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.