HD Supply

www.hdsupply.com
Employer Engaged

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    HDSupplyReview

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Drop Ship Coordinator in Marietta, GA
    Former Employee - Drop Ship Coordinator in Marietta, GA

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Longevity in its career as a company

    Cons

    They do not give their employees proper training. Not good communication. Disorganized.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 10, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your review and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Had you still been with us, we would have guided you to our robust ... More

  2.  

    SALES MANAGER

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in San Diego, CA

    I worked at HD Supply full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    the employees are very friendly

    Cons

    It is a very difficult company to work

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Learning experience, however not a place to stay and grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    Actual work. Same work load and type as the full time staff

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity for someone looking to advance their career.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 25, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We understand that talented, committed associates are the heart and soul of HD Supply and therefore strive to develop and empower best ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Has competitive pricing for customers.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at HD Supply

    Pros

    Steady salary with a competitive portfolio of products.

    Cons

    Can be micro managing. Company is on the market because it went public. Bad move for the employees.
    Did ruthless layoffs a few months ago.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Most managers are good and have a Home Depot background.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 3, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for sharing this information with us. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative.

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good company, stuck in place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate Manager, EBusiness in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Associate Manager, EBusiness in San Diego, CA

    I worked at HD Supply full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I really liked the company and my team. We had great collaboration and could speak our minds. More often than not our concerns were addressed and reasons given for why we went in the direction we did. I was afforded many opportunities for getting widespread work experience.

    Cons

    While I was there I was told repeatedly that I was overdue for a promotion by my management team. The red tape for promotion and entrenched management made forward progress very difficult.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If you cannot promote a valuable employee, put something in place that allows for economic progress to show how they are valued.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 3, 2015HR Leader

    We understand that talented and committed associates are the heart and soul of HD Supply. By empowering our associates to grow professionally while providing competitive benefits and compensation to ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good Company hard to grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Account Representative
    Current Employee - Field Account Representative

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Managers and people are good to work with. Overall the culture is good.

    Cons

    Hard to advance to higher positions.
    Salary and bonus amounts are not great

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    encourage promotion in position and salary

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 10, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your review. We continue to review our compensation structure to ensure that it aligns with current industry standards. Our compensation packages are competitive with the market, and we ... More

  8. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great company, growth can be difficult.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Account Representative
    Current Employee - Field Account Representative

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, no weekends, normal 9-5. Pay is good, not great. Managers seem to always be fair and understanding. Field sales has a lot of freedom. Solid company, leader in the facilities maintenance industry.

    Cons

    Moving up can be difficult, company was growing fast 3 years ago but after we went public everything hit a plateau. Company is nepotistic. Micromanaging is obnoxious. Cross department communication is poor

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Tightening your belt does not instill confidence in loyal employees who have been here for years

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Spectacularly Incompetent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH

    I worked at HD Supply full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    It's a job in a bad economy, because they are always churning staff. Very easy, low to no expectations. Brown nosing is more effective than at any other place I have ever worked.

    Cons

    Complete lack of executive control. Top executives are completely isolated from their own failures. I have not worked there since summer, but continue to get literature and samples sent to my house, despite having called three levels of management. Yet, they were able to cut off all benefits the day I left.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    What can you say to people who run a global corporation and stiff everyone except the top seven executives when the company goes public?

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Feb 10, 2015HR Leader

    Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, and we are concerned about some of the points you have made.
    Had you reached out to your HR partner, we would have
    ... More

  10.  

    Stay Away

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Pay, product offering, technology, good co-workers on the team.

    Cons

    Training, Management, want you to be a robot, no freedom to sell, think they can control customer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let sales people sell.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    HD Supply Response

    Jan 23, 2015Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing. We're sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to develop and empower best of the best talent by listening, learning helping and leading.

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Not a great company to work with

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Developer
    Former Employee - Senior Developer

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Latest IT software, salary, location

    Cons

    Company hypes itself too much. No room for advancement that is get stuck in a rut. Not able to use your talent. The management is very tight in accepting anything creative, that is there is a lot of political jungle.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please train your managers to 1. accept suggestions for improvement. 2. Train them in good management practices

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at HD Supply? Share Your Experiences

HD Supply

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.