HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Reviews

Updated June 5, 2015
14 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Simon Forder
4 Ratings

14 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Lab Analyst

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The company culture and the desire to always be expanding make Hyde a very enjoyable company to work for. There is a work life balance and the company tries to make everyone feel like they are important.

    Cons

    There can be a lot of difficulties in communication because the company is largely spread out and newly expanding.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely listen to employees about certain difficulties and strive to make sure they know you are working towards improving them. Overall, really not much to complain about though.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Jun 1, 2015Manager, Global Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback! I can assure you that strengthening company-wide communication is an area that we are actively working on improving.


  2. Corporate Office

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Global reach, history with biopharmaceutical clients, actively growing, casual work environment.

    Cons

    Lacked transparency. Made promises to many employees and consultants that they knew they couldn't keep in order to close the deal. Low balled on offers, promotions and salary increases. Unethical behavior from executives.

    Advice to Management

    Treat professionals with respect by having transparency. Have a big picture in mind so you're not having to make promises you can't keep. You may not get the deal the first time around but you will be respected and therefore close the deal next time around. STOP UNETHICAL BEHAVIOR BY YOUR EXECUTIVE - PERIOD.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Jun 10, 2015Director, Human Resources

    It is troublesome to see this feedback. My career with Hyde spans almost 17 years. I can truly say that, in my experience, I have encountered genuine caring and ethical behavior from my colleagues ... More


  3. Engineer II

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II
    Current Employee - Engineer II

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible hours while at the site office during training. Company really values employee contribution and you're expected to work hard. It's honestly a little bit difficult not to work hard when you look around you and see how hungry and driven everyone is. At the same time, the company also really values employees' work/life balance and encourages you to take time off. The corporate culture is warm and encourages entrepreneurship and growing not just Hyde's brand, but your brand as well. ISPE membership is compensated and encouraged by the company. Networking is valued and the company understands that career paths can change. They work very actively towards placing you in a role that challenges you and will allow you to grow.

    Cons

    Employee interaction is something that is being developed. it is hard to encourage when engineers are at so many different sites and social interaction to develop stronger working relationships can get a little inbred. However, internal resources are working to change that and the company is trying ways to encourage more intersite employee interaction.

    Advice to Management

    Only advice is to keep the talent you've worked so hard to get. Currently doing a great job at hiring talent but keeping turnover low will be key.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Apr 16, 2015Manager, Global Recruitment

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!. I can assure you that keeping turnover low is something that we are working hard to achieve. We welcome any suggestions that you might have.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Consultant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good work environment, plenty of work to go around

    Cons

    Need more opportunities to grow

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Apr 15, 2015Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback regarding growth opportunities at Hyde. In the consulting arena, expertise and project duration can potentially limit growth for employees from a project perspective ... More


  6. Great Place to Work !

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    I feel it is important in my life to work in a profession and at a company that benefits society. Hyde has given me that opportunity. All the projects I have worked on support life saving work in the pharmaceutical industry.

    Great co-workers. I really respect and enjoy working my fellow employees.
    Excellent benefits - This is one of the only employers I know if that pays 100% of your health care benefits (you cover co-pays) . There is also a significant 401 K match on every dollar. Generous time off / vacation policy.

    Cons

    It has been said - travel. But that is the name of the game on the consulting business. While they strive to keep everybody on local projects, every now and then you have to travel .

    Advice to Management

    More training !

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Mar 13, 2015Manager, Global Recruitment

    Thanks for the review!


  7. Lots of work, but travel can be an issue

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Current Employee - Engineer in Boulder, CO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    You will be with very good pharma people in many cases. There can be a lot to learn. There is also a chance to help organizations that are in trouble get back on track, saving patients' lives and helping people stay employed at the client site.

    Cons

    There can be a lot of travel if you are willing to do so. It can be hard on marriages and family. There can be places where the tasks are a bit overwhelming, leading to poor client relations. You have both Hyde management and the client management to please, which can be challenging. You are often brought to location when all other choices are already tried, meaning having things not work out is pretty hard on most people.

    Advice to Management

    Need to have better interaction with road warriors. some of us rarely see the regional managers or corporate people that are not on our job site. Need training that we are seeing in webinars more frequently. People commonly travel on their own time to distant sites, which does not feel fair. With 5 hours of travel to get to site and 5 hours to get home, that means tens of non-income work travel each trip. It would be nice to get something for that.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Apr 10, 2015Regional Manager, Midwest Operations

    Thank you for the honest feedback. As a long-time employee at Hyde, I’ve done my share of travel to client sites, and I agree that it can be hard on one’s personal life. As a manager, my goal is to ... More


  8. Great Work-life Balance

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great with work-life balance, they are very conscious about how they treat their employees, and very easy to talk to the upper level management, and they encompass the core values very well.

    Cons

    It seems like leadership doesn't have a clear vision about where the company is going. Communication across departments doesn't seem to flow very easily.

    Advice to Management

    More open communication with employees.
    Policies and procedures should be communicated more effectively with employees.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Mar 13, 2015CEO

    Thank you for the feedback and review! As we continue to grow, it is important to me that we embrace our core values and maintain work-life balance. Our families play an integral part of who we ... More


  9. Excellent people, excellent work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Hyde Engineering + Consulting is a very different place than I've worked in the past. The atmosphere is collegial, and the people are intelligent and capable.

    Cons

    Travel is required in my role more than most, and adjusting to that has been interesting.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your employees, and they'll stick with you.

    HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING Response

    Mar 10, 2015Manager, Global Recruitment

    Thanks for the feedback! We truly believe that it is the people that make the company:) Hopefully, you've been able to work on some great projects while traveling and can use the frequent flier miles ... More


  10. Why work for Hyde E+C?

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Boulder, CO
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Boulder, CO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    You'll have the opportunity to work collaboratively with the largest pharmaceutical and biotech companies in the world; if you have to travel, why not get paid to do so and earn some frequent flier miles:) We also provide a great opportunity for career growth, both laterally (in terms of experience) and vertically (project lead / management). Fabulous benefit package!

    Cons

    Some of our Engineers need to travel outside of their region to support a project, sometimes for an extended period of time - while they may love the work that they are doing, it can be a challenge to be away from friends/family/hobbies.

    Advice to Management

    We are working to integrate the fun-filled company culture in Boulder into the other regions - which is a challenge given the geographies that we span.


  11. Hyde E+C is a great company to work for, with outstanding people, family values, and opportunities to grow one's career.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Boulder, CO
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Boulder, CO

    I have been working at HYDE ENGINEERING + CONSULTING full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The leadership at the company has an employee's best interests in mind. They offer competitive salaries, tremendous company-paid benefits, and harbor a work environment that is both professional and easy to work in. The opportunity to work for a number of different clients allows for fostering of multiple different skill sets and exposure to all different types of working environments.

    Cons

    As a consulting firm, the only real drawback is the necessity to travel, and that's only a drawback if you don't like traveling.



Showing 14 of 17 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.