Helix Electric Reviews

Updated July 8, 2015
16 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.1
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Gary Shekhter
6 Ratings

16 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Safety first.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Apprentice in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Helix Electric

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Helix is a great electrical company but it's how much they care about employees safety that makes them extraordinary. They also encourage personal growth by offering all types of certifications and classes and they show they care with special events

    Cons

    There are no cons to report

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see more comradery between employees, maybe place a team in a softball or soccer league.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Safety is our number one value and a benefit to working for Helix. We are proud to offer our employees excellence in training and development. Thank you for your input!


  2. Awesome place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Helix Electric

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    If you want challenge, opportunity and a fast paced work environment, this is the place! You are only as limited as your dreams here. They say that they hire and promote based on merit and I have never been anywhere where this is more true. More and more employee engagement events are in the works, this is a company that cares about its employees!

    Cons

    None that I can speak of.


  3. Growing and Improving

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Growth Opportunities Great Experience Team Mentality Safety Innovations Training Opportunities Mentorships Reasonable Pay Great Benefits Sense of Accomplishment Various Work Experience Diverse Team

    Cons

    Communication Between Departments Needs some help Expectations can be Higher than pay grade The work Experience varies significantly depending on where you are working

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be stronger communication and more transparency within the company. At times it feels like good ideas are only good if they are free, but the company isn't willing to invest much in making growth and improvement. Anytime something involving cost comes around it is pushed around from Dept. to Dept. as it is argued about who would pay for it and how we can avoid paying for it. While it is good to keep costs down, it costs money to have to chase down someone who will pay for it.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great Place to Be!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Hires some of the best and brightest in the industry. Offers fun employee perks like food trucks, volunteer opportunities, etc. Congenial environment and exciting growth opportunities.

    Cons

    If you aren't a go-getter it could be difficult to succeed.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jul 7, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Thanks for your review!


  6. Journeyman Electrician

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Helix Electric

    Pros

    You can't beat the money. The best benefits there are. Local 26 pays your benefits for you not like other companies out there you have to pay your own benefits with there cheap wages

    Cons

    Paid benefits. Best retirement in the DC , VA and MD area. Top notch apprenticeship/ journeyman training. No one ever comes close.

    Advice to Management

    You say you care about your employee's, you pay your employee's very well. Then prove it? Pay your employee's good money and pay there benefits for them.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Thanks for your review! At Helix, we are continually striving to be an industry leader in training and development.


  7. Helpful (1)

    Paid for Performance - think like an owner and you'll be successful.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    You must enjoy working in a fast paced environment to work here. The executive team is approachable. To be successful you have to think like a business owner and act like one everyday. If you don't fit the profile, you will struggle in the "Helix culture." If you're programmed to think and act like an entrepreneur, you will be very successful and do well financially. I personally love the culture, the career opportunity, the core values, compensation and the people I work with. Love the financial stability and future outlook of Helix Electric!

    Cons

    You're responsible for creating work/life balance for yourself.

    Advice to Management

    The constant problem for all organizations...communication. Be clear and concise about the strategic goals and involve everyone in the vision. Empower people.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    One of core values at Helix is to recognize, reward and provide opportunities for those who excel. Thanks so much for your feedback!


  8. Helpful (1)

    Decent Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Helix Electric

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well, plus they usually do large commerical projects.

    Cons

    Work can be sporadic. If current job is slow they will keep you at home until it picks up. Other companies I have previously worked for will send you to another job until the main job has pick up again.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Thank you for reviewing!


  9. Helpful (1)

    Exciting and Fast Paced - Never a dull moment!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very fast paced organization with lots of autonomy and not a ton of red tape. "Take the bull by the horns" mentality. Lots of opportunity to grow if you have the right attitude and are willing to work hard. There are many people who are tenured and have been with the organization for 10+ years who seem very passionate about the organization. Benefits are great (best I've had so far..) and environment is friendly. President is easily accessible as are most executive team members. New wave of management taking over with a "new school" mentality. Enormous backlog.

    Cons

    They do have some room to grow with technology but are working hard to overcome this. Not a ton of structure which leaves room for creativity and flexibility but this might not be for everyone. With the fast paced nature, you do have pressure to perform at a high level. Especially now with how busy things are.

    Advice to Management

    Continue down the path - headed in the right direction.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jun 29, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Helix is proud to be an industry leader and that means providing significant growth opportunities for our employees. We appreciate your review!


  10. I do not recommend working here.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Office in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Corporate Office in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Building is nice. Benefits are okay.

    Cons

    I do not recommend working here. The recruiters are not very truthful in bringing you in. They focus on only the negative. No women in upper management. The attitude towards women there is a throwback to the fifties. The compensation is not comparable to other positions. High turn over rate at the corporate office.

    Advice to Management

    You need to trust your employees a little more and not make them feel as if they are criminals. Also, training is helpful to all employees instead of yelling at them after they make a mistake they did not know would be a mistake to begin with. Job descriptions and actual guidelines are nice as well.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Thanks so much for the feedback. Helix is striving every day to be the employer of choice in our industry.


  11. Needs to learn how to treat loyal hardworking employees.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Las Vegas, NV

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    No compliant regarding pay for type of work . Free lunch once a month, company sponsored picnic and Christmas party. .

    Cons

    The Victor factor (Las Vegas Branch), I did every thing I was asked plus more. Company paid insurance, but the plan was very restrictive.

    Advice to Management

    Reward loyalty and hard work.

    Helix Electric Response

    Jul 7, 2015 – Manager, Communications

    Thank you for your review!



Showing 16 of 18 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.