Heritage College & Institute
2.8 of 5 30 reviews
www.heritage-education.com Denver, CO 500 to 999 Employees

Heritage College & Institute Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

2.8 30 reviews

                             

Not yet rated.

(no image)

Richard Shepard


44% of employees recommend this company to a friend
30 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Loved Changing Lives

    Admissions (Former Employee)
    Fort Myers, FL

    ProsBuilt some great relationships and really helped people make a change

    ConsFocused on numbers way to much and not on the real people

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jul 2, 2014 EditDelete
    Thanks for the feedback. It is unfortunate that your outlook on the company that gave you the opportunity to love changing the lives of others is so negative. We appreciate all feedback, and hope ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Welcome to Cleveland Heritage College.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsI recently interviewed for a position at the new Cleveland campus. It was one of the best interviews I have had in awhile. The vision is there and they seem determined to be successful in the market. Ive read here that they have alot of structure. Structure is not micro management, without it there is no direction and will be destined for failure. I come from structure from the military and failure is not an option. Heritage from what I have seen in a short period has a can do attitude and should succeed.

    ConsBreaking into a new market. But a market that is starved for new ideas and values. Should do very well in the Cleveland market.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jun 10, 2014 EditDelete
    Hello and thank you for your feedback. At Heritage, we believe systems are important. Not only from an accrediting perspective, but because there is so much on the line. The more organized we are ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    If Heritage is so great, why is there SO much turnover in their schools?

    Instructor (Former Employee)
    Columbus, OH

    ProsThe instructors that you work with. The students.

    ConsAverage employment for an instructor is more than 1 year and less than 3 years. I was at my school for 1 year and in that time, 9 instructors were terminated and 3 quit! Since I left, 2 people have been terminated, 1 person was "laid off", and 1 person quit. The school director acts concerned, but is not! The benefits are EXPENSIVE and WORTHLESS! WHY THE TURNOVER?

    Advice to Senior ManagementQuit acting FAKE! All you care about is money!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jul 2, 2014 EditDelete
    Hello, we are sorry to see that you are so upset. It would not be right to address individual situations, but I assure you that there are reasons behind every action. Turnover takes place as a ... More
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Beginning teachers only

    Massage Instructor/Program Manager (Former Employee)
    Denver, CO

    Pros40+ hours a week, plus good benefits

    ConsPay rate stays the same can't make over 20 an hour when going rate for teachers is a minimum of 30/hr. Very restricted, no creativity allowed. Teachers are not rewarded, admin takes all credit and moneys for classroom education

    Advice to Senior ManagementTeachers should be held in higher esteem, treated as part of a team and given the tools and freedom needed to teach the students. Higher pay.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review May 19, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your feedback. We believe that we treat our instructors extremely well. We have many with us that have been here for 5 years or longer (some even past 10 years). Our Program Managers ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Good company

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat company to work for and with. Good people to work with

    ConsWe deal with the general public which can be a challenge but knowing that management has your back is an awesome feeling.

    Advice to Senior ManagementContinue to listen and thrive WITH your employees. You guys are doing a good job!

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jun 2, 2014 EditDelete
    Hello! Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We value the feedback from every employee and are happy to hear that you continue to have a great experience working for this fantastic company ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    telemarketing in disguise

    Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee)

    ProsWorst company i've ever worked for. No pro's whatsoever

    ConsPushy sales techniques that have trainers breathing down your neck.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jul 2, 2014 EditDelete
    Hello, thank you for your feedback. As a current employee, I wonder why you are still with us if you do not like changing the lives of others. All of our Admissions practices are compliant with all ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Very strange work environment!

    Instructor (Former Employee)
    Columbus, OH

    ProsThe curriculums in the programs are good. The students are some of the nicest people you will meet. They just want to get a leg up in life!

    ConsRULES, RULES, RULES, I realize that society requires rules but this place takes rules TOO far! Their admissions reps are 100% scripted and cannot deviate. Students aren't allowed to know the rules until the first day of class. The company says it is to keep things positive. Our students are adults, let them be adults!

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop acting like robots!! Stop seeing the students as money! Ms. President of Heritage, while visiting the Columbus campus a few weeks ago, you neglected to introduce yourself to the instructors. Shame on you! How can you be at the top of the company and have no interest in the instructors or the students? Those of you in management need to get to the wizard, because you are in need of a heart!!

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Jun 2, 2014 EditDelete
    Heritage College values all thoughts and opinions from students and employees. In career education, we must adhere to strict compliance guidelines set forth by the government. All of our processes ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Very good

    Admissions Coordinator/Director of Admissions (Former Employee)
    Jacksonville, FL

    ProsHeritage is a great place to work. Home office provides great support and as a whole the organization goes above and beyond to take care of their employees. There is room to grow and they love to promote from within. If you are a hard worker and like to move up this is the company for you.

    ConsSchedules are not 9-5 but this is what allows students from all times of day to get the support they need from various departments

    Advice to Senior ManagementContinue to recognize for hard work and support employees.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Apr 7, 2014 EditDelete
    Thank you for your comments about your experience with Heritage! We work very hard to make sure our employees know that we truly do care, and we will continue to recognize those that work hard to ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    Steer clear!

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
    Columbus, OH

    ProsThe students are great and I've really developed a good relationship with them.

    ConsEverything else is horrible. There are ridiculous rules and you are prevented from doing your job effectively. The work environment is incredibly stressful. I wouldn't recommend this job or this school to anyone.

    – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Apr 7, 2014 EditDelete
    Hello, thank you for your feedback on your experience at Heritage so far. As a current employee, you would know that we are heavily regulated by the state and federal departments of education, and ... More
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           

     

    Poorly Ran, Poor Pay, Bad Morals. Professionals Steer Clear of this company!

    Business Instructor (Former Employee)
    Denver, CO

    ProsWorking out in the gym is free even though it about the size of a one car garage.

    ConsDirector of Education was a fitness instructor with no education and the previous one that hired me was a massage therapist who was fired before I even started.

    Hire young people fresh out of school to teach classes that have no "real world experience".

    Administration will try to bully instructor to pass student that have failed or did not even come to school the entire semester.

    They will try to write up instructors because a student sneaks a can of soda in class and you did not see it. Does not sound like college to me.

    Split shift work in morning and have to come back at 4:00PM. So you get to fight rush hour in the morning, evening and at night for about 16$ per hour.

    The place is cultish in how it treats people and some staff will gang up on other staff. The only thing that saved me was that I was male with more education and experience then the wannabe bullies in the place.

    Heritage College does not look good on a resume if looking to teach college since it is a laughing stock in regards to higher education.

    Do you the people in the crowd on Jerry Springer Show? That will be your students with all their problems, baby mamas, loser boyfriends and everything else that makes for a dysfunctional environment.

    I was called into the fitness instructor oops I mean Director of Educations office for refusing to pass a student that never came to class and they accused me of some weird allegations about refusing to enforce rules that I supposedly said to a student. I went home and next day told them I would not be back.

    I must admit that Heritage College was the worst place I have ever worked and I really thought it would help to get a position instructing at the college level, but found out it was of know value in terms of higher education employability.

    Denver site is very junky, out in the boondocks.

    My current position is a Program Manager and issues I reported are the "God's honest "observation in my four months as an employee.

    The five stars ratings are from management.

    They change staff daily at this place because of the work environment.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop calling it a college! It is functions like a elementary school, treats staff poor and pay is a joke for what they expect and treat staff.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Heritage College & Institute National Director of Admissions responded to this review Feb 4, 2014 EditDelete
    At Heritage, the success of our students is our number one priority. We appreciate the feedback of any former employee as it is in our bests interests to evolve and continue to be a desirable ... More
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for Heritage College & Institute? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at Heritage College & Institute reviews and ratings — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for Heritage College & Institute CEO Richard Shepard. All 30 reviews posted anonymously by Heritage College & Institute employees.