Highland Forwarding

  www.highlandforwarding.com
  www.highlandforwarding.com

Highland Forwarding Reviews

Updated May 2, 2014
Updated May 2, 2014
12 Reviews
3.3
12 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Radek Maly
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Best company I have ever worked for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Logistics in Londonderry, NH
    Current Employee - Logistics in Londonderry, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Highland Forwarding is a unique company in many aspects - smart & dedicated employees speaking multiple languages, innovative approach to problem solving, caring supervisors ready to help not only with work related issues but family hardship as well, great vision on the part of senior management (6 times listed on INC5000 and new office building with a warehouse being some of their accomplishments). As a small company the benefit package is quite impressive and salary is directly tied to work performance - the more knowledgeable & productive you are the higher your commission level. Strong work ethic, good head on your shoulders and willingness to go above and beyond will get you very far here. You may feel family atmosphere everywhere - kids are always welcome in our office and we have a family outing every quarter. Last but not least, the owner's wife truly takes care of us - kitchen is stocked with 20+ different kinds of coffee, tea, fruits, vegetables, crackers, cookies,... her unique listening ability & converting it into reality is second to none.

    Cons

    Our customer service work is quite demanding - it takes about one year to be fully trained and long hours are often necessary. All of us start at the bottom and then it is up to the individual to make her own path; frequent reviews help in becoming better and more productive. If you are looking for great pay be prepared to wait a few years and work very hard to get there; nothing in life worth anything comes easy!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the awesome work, keep listening to us and keep growing.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Challenging and exciting place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    This is a very fast paced environment. The work is very challenging and exciting. There are new things to learn every day. Team work is encouraged and co-workers are always willing to offer advice and share their knowledge to help others.

    Cons

    The job can be demanding and the hours can be long at times, but those who show their commitment are very compensated accordingly.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Try to improve efficiency in the office to help with reduce the long hours.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Nice people and hard work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    From the moment I first met my co-workers, I was treated as if I had been a part of the company for years. Every employee that I came in contact with, welcomed me with open arms and a promise of assistance whenever I should require it. My knowledge and expertise was valued and put to use.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take care of your employees so they take care of your company.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Jun 2, 2014President

    Dear colleague, thank you for the nice comment. We try very hard so that all new employees feel welcome. Over the past year we have made substantial investment in our new office building so that we ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    Current employee with intent of leaving the company as soon as possible.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Londonderry, NH
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Londonderry, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Not many pros to consider when it comes to working for or with the company as a customer.

    Cons

    Lack of honesty on management's part with both employees and customers, and I agree with the above review that most leadership gain is at the expense of others.
    As a full-time "salary" job, work should take 35-40 hours/week, where as at Highland Forwarding employees may spend upwards of 50-60 hours/week, the most common reasons for this being exploitation and trying to cover for a lack of actual skill. This goes unrecognized and unappreciated by management as well.
    In comparison to other forwarding companies, compensation runs on the lower end of the salary spectrum.
    Favoritism in the office is very obvious and blatant, ruining employee relationships and morale.
    Hiring policy seems to include hiring two incompetent, easily manipulated employees to one proficient worker as a cost-cutting technique.
    The President of the company is correct in saying that employment here is not for everybody. Just for those who have no other choices or opportunities. Desperation is all that would keep an employee at Highland Forwarding for long.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Refrain from listening to your wife and consider what is best for your company, employees and customers.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Jun 2, 2014President

    Hello,
    I have been thinking for 2 months how to respond to this post. I see only 2 alternatives as to who could write such a negative post.
    1) an outside competitor - much of the language seems a
    ... More

  6.  

    A challenging career with a family atmosphere

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Logistics Specialist in Bedford, NH
    Former Employee - Logistics Specialist in Bedford, NH

    I worked at Highland Forwarding full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The intelligence, work ethic, and helpfulness of staff and management surpassed that of anywhere I’ve worked in the past.

    This is a dedicated, extremely reliable, brilliant team of people.

    The atmosphere is that of a welcoming family.

    Cons

    Logistics is a complex, demanding field and can be a bit overwhelming to a newcomer.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great work. Highland Forwarding is successful because of the high expectations of management. The average person may not fit in, but this is an above average business and employment opportunity, which is why you are the "BEST."

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    What are we doing now ?

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Logistics in Bedford, NH
    Former Employee - Logistics in Bedford, NH

    I worked at Highland Forwarding full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Fast Growth in the us.

    Cons

    Long Hours to get the job done .

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No advise to give at this time..

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Oct 9, 2013President

    Hello, sorry your employment with us did not work out. Highland is not right for everybody. It is very busy environment with a lot of energy and 'do-it' attitude. We try very hard to hire the right ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Work at Highland Forwarding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Import in Manchester, NH
    Current Employee - Import in Manchester, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Interesting industry. Close to boston.

    Cons

    Very bad management. Dishonest to their employees and to their customers. The owner has a couple favorites in the office and it shows. New and innovative ways of doing business is frowned upon and dismissed by the owner/management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No advice. The owner does really not do anything without the permission of his wife, so no advice would help.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Oct 9, 2013President

    We do not believe this comment is from any current or former employee as some of the factual information is wrong in it. It is possible it has been posted by a competitor. We have asked to have it ... More

  9.  

    Business Development

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Development in Bedford, NH
    Current Employee - Business Development in Bedford, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    This appears to be a professional working environment. Many good managers in the office.

    Cons

    Lacks a marketing and sales plan . They are on a production mentality rather than a "business " plan for sales. Once you have sold your initial customers no guidance on future markets. They claim a team but when something unexpected pops up I am not sure they are looking at things objectively and from a marketing standpoint.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You need a marketing plan and system with built in lead generation.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Oct 9, 2013President

    Thank you for the feedback. As we grow we are putting in better sales and marketing system in place. We are lucky that many customers come to us through word of mouth as they hear about our excellent ... More

  10.  

    Seem fair and accomodating . Open to new ideas and want to incentify people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Development in Bedford, NH
    Current Employee - Business Development in Bedford, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding

    Pros

    Flexible and seem like good people. A nice family business .Growing and its exciting .

    Cons

    They need to get to the next level to be even more competative.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Unsure at this time what to advice not worked here long enough.

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Oct 9, 2013President

    Thank you for your comments. Yes we are always growing since customers seem to seek us out in search of highly professional personalized service. New ideas are always welcome, at our monthly ... More

  11.  

    Professional Environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Bedford, NH
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Bedford, NH

    I have been working at Highland Forwarding

    Pros

    Positive energy and professional workers. Everyone cares about doing the job right.

    Cons

    Compensation is fair but not sure if they keep pace with what you would get at other forwarders. This may change as they grow and get more long term employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Maintain leadership and try not to be to idealistic with employees.

    Recommends

    Highland Forwarding Response

    Oct 9, 2013President

    Thank you for your review. We are very glad you are happy and appreciate the work environment.

Highland Forwarding Photos

HIGHLAND BUILDING AT NIGHT
HIGHLAND STAFF - NOVEMBER 2013
HIGHLAND FORWARDING OWNED BUILDING MOVE IN DATE 9/2013

+ Add Photo

Work at Highland Forwarding? Share Your Experiences

Highland Forwarding

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.