HomeFinder.com Reviews

Updated June 11, 2015
51 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.6
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
HomeFinder.com President & CEO Doug Breaker
Doug Breaker
45 Ratings

Pros
  • Great people and great management team (in 5 reviews)

  • Casual Dress Code, Fun Loving Staff, Laid back attitude, Perfect for the younger generations, Happy Hours and Karaoke wrap up the weeks (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Because it's a smaller company, it can be hard to bring about certain changes (in 3 reviews)

  • Low pay compared to other tech companies in Chicago (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

51 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Love This Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -Very relaxed atmosphere -Everyone is great to work with -Family is very important - Family comes first then your job -Able to work from home -Bad weather we are told to stay home and work, be safe -weekly emails asking fun and odd questions ( fill out if you want ) - it is a good way to see people in a personal way -mentoring program - volunteer to be a mentor - if you want to learn something hook up with that mentor. Love my Job

    Cons

    The ONLY con I can think of is there is only beer on tap, I would like to see pop on tap. (pro side of this is we do have free pop in the fridge)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work you are doing, keep us growing!!!

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks for the kind words, appreciate it! We'll get to work right away on that beer issue.


  2. Typic "Enterprise"

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Developer in Chicago, IL

    I worked at HomeFinder.com full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Talented people and good opportunities for lateral transfers.

    Cons

    Lower than industry standard salaries and "flat" compensation schedule: one of those places you leave for a few years in order to jump back at the salary you really want.

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 1, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks so much for the feedback, we always appreciate it. I agree we do have talented people, and we're always on the hunt for more. As for lower than industry standard salaries and "flat ... More


  3. Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture - flexible - great people.

    Cons

    Lacking in communication at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep open channels of communication

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Jun 1, 2015 – CEO

    Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it. I smiled reading the kudos on culture and people, thanks for those comments. I hear you on the communication. We strive to share as much information ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. fun place t work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    young, creative people fun place to work

    Cons

    low pay they should really pay more

    Advice to Management

    none

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Dec 29, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it. This review is from an office manager that was with us a few years ago. I am happy to report we've upped the pay for that position, and we're much more ... More


  6. Plenty of challenging projects

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    For a software engineer HomeFinder has a lot to offer. Handling millions of impressions a month gives you plenty of data to analyze, a large audience to A/B test, demand for services that need to scale, and many other challenges that require researching new technology. It's challenging, but the team is always supportive so stress is still generally pretty low.

    Cons

    It's a smaller company so if you want to make dramatic role shifts there aren't a lot of options.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Dec 9, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for the review, appreciate the feedback.


  7. great company, great people

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Client Services Data Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work hard, play hard attitude. People came up to me and introduced themselves for weeks after I'd been hired. Everyone is very nice, welcoming, and open to questions

    Cons

    No training program. There's nothing to complain about, and I love complaining.

    Advice to Management

    get some kind of training program in place, other than that, doing great!

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Aug 28, 2014 – CEO

    Glad to hear there's nothing to complain about. :) We hear the message loud and clear on training, and it's something we're actively working on making better.


  8. GREAT PLAY TO WORK, WITH GREAT PEOPLE

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Laid back work environment Great Boss Great Team atmosphere Great work benefits Start-up feel

    Cons

    With any young company, there is a lot of change, can be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, but I would ask you to find ways to max talent's of every employee to push the company forward. Company is small now, but has pretty good talent. Try to help them reach their full potential.

    HomeFinder.com Response

    Aug 28, 2014 – CEO

    Change can certainly be frustrating, hopefully we do a decent job of communicating when it does hit us. Thanks for the review, we really value the feedback.


  9. Great place to work. No complaints...really!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Relaxed working environment - Great benefits - Working from home is allowed and not frowned upon - Very nice employees. Positive and friendly. - Beer tap in kitchen!

    Cons

    After a handful of months, I have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!


  10. Open, driven, and talented organization focused on delivering amazing products.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Hacker in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Growth Hacker in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Great Leadership - Work with intelligent, talented people - Amazing workspace (beer on tap, enough said) - Support for continued professional growth and education If you want to build great products, advance professionally, continue improving your technical skills, and make material contributions, then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Chicago is cold in the winter.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and the sky is the limit.


  11. A company with a great environment that is poised to grow.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at HomeFinder.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It's a great group of people that are all focused on making our product and the company better. I really like the flexible environment and culture.

    Cons

    Fixing past mistakes takes some focus away from growth. Seems like the company is making the right commitments to fix those. I'm optimistic about the future.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing in the direction you are going.



Showing 51 of 54 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.