Independent Capital Management

  www.icmfinancial.com
  www.icmfinancial.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Independent Capital Management Reviews

Updated August 12, 2014
Updated August 12, 2014
17 Reviews
4.3
17 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Drew Marloe
13 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Independent Capital Management - Torrance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Services Specialist  in  Torrance, CA
    Current Employee - Financial Services Specialist in Torrance, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment. The management team are seasoned veterans helping the advisers in the office grow their practice. We have the flexibility to offer our clients a wide variety of services and products. We are not required or incentivized to pitch a particular company or product. We have a friendly group in our office that support each other.

    Cons

    It is overall a tough industry, we work hard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A great work environment.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 5, 2014President

    Thank you!

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    waste of time,

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Independent Capital Management

    Pros

    supposed "unlimited earning potential".
    flexible hours

    Cons

    you get paid with air for the first two months when you go through their "training". Then you drop $395 on the exams/licensures. If you pass then you start calling up all your friends and family and hitting them up for $$.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Include a decent base and pay for the training and licensures and then maybe you won't come off as being so shady.

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 2, 2014President

    We provide a salary option for those that prefer a steady income rather than unlimited earnings. It is a decent base salary but we are not permitted to pay an advisor long term if they are not ... More

  3.  

    This is the perfect company to begin a financial career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Continuous training, learning at your own speed, management support, positive environment, and growth.

    Cons

    If you are not self driven you may not be able to handle the pressure of finding your own clients and setting appointments throughout each week.

    Neutral Outlook
  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    ICM fits me like a glove

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Torrance, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Torrance, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only limitations are those you put upon yourself; teamwork is great in the Torrance, CA office but you operate your own business: seeing whom you what and what you offer is not dictated by quotas but by what the client wants and needs. The company does not have its own products so you are able to recommend a wide array of services including investments, life insurance, and estate planning

    Cons

    Because I didn't have a sales background, the training program seemed confusing and rigid at first.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Some managers could do a better job of giving prospects and newer employees a more realistic picture. Most people will not succeed because it takes hard work, confidence, and self direction.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Great place to learn the industry

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    The is the perfect place to get started in the business. The training and support you get from day one is outstanding. Coworkers and the work environment are second to none.

    Cons

    This business is hard work. Not your typical 9-5

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    Good place to get into financial services field

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Registered Representative  in  Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Registered Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, helping others with financial status and long term planning

    Cons

    Starting up can be challenging since business model is based on referrals

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Help new consultants get a better start building their practice

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    ICM - Torrance Office

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Services Specialist  in  Torrance, CA
    Current Employee - Financial Services Specialist in Torrance, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hands on training, Great leadership from office OSJ Tina. ICM Torrance office is the best office to work in by far. Great support from other senior reps. New reps are treated with respect and trained truly how to be a financial advisor. If you want to help people and learn to right way to be a financial advisor this is the office you want to work in by far.

    Cons

    We should market ourselves more as a company and let the general public know all the good things we do. Why do we have a marketing guy if we don't do any marketing

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No more holiday parties in January. All holiday parties should be in December

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 5, 2014President

    We have our year end party for all employees to recognize our top performers. It is more of an "Awards Celebration" than a holiday party. Most of our offices have holiday parties that are for all ... More

  9.  

    Great place to develop a long-term career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor  in  Beverly Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Beverly Hills, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked here for about two years and have had a wonderful experience. ICM has a very team oriented atmosphere which I enjoy. Everyone who is successful here is very self motivated and ambitious which brings a great energy to the office.

    The opportunity for growth is there as quickly as you want to earn it, whether it is by being a manager and having your own team or simply by being an advisor and expanding your book of business. You truly get out what you put into your career here.

    In terms of receiving help with your clients and advancing your career, the management team will match your efforts. If you are working hard, the management team will spend more time with you. If you aren't putting in the effort, you shouldn't expect a manager to step in and fix everything for you, especially if you aren't applying what you have already been taught.

    Also, the flexibility of creating your own schedule is a huge plus, especially for someone who enjoys vacationing.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to work hard and put in the time in order to be successful in this industry. This is definitely not the right fit for someone who just wants to sit behind a desk 9-5 every day and get paid a salary for doing the bare minimum. You will work late on some evenings and weekends but the trade off is the flexibility to create your own schedule.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing a great job!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 5, 2014President

    Thank you

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    More training would be nice.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor  in  Beverly Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Beverly Hills, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    You get your insurance license, your series 6 and your series 63. This is more than some companies will help you acquire. This is also less than other companies require for you to get hired. This positions you to move into the insurance industry very well but makes changing jobs in the securities industry difficult.
    You have great autonomy.
    The people in the office are great.

    Cons

    The managers are busy with their own clients and have to choose between helping new hires or helping themselves.
    ICM-BH expects you to open business on your first appointment with a client which can hurt credibility.
    The script is the law. If you aren't doing well they are going to 'help' you by practicing the script with you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Develop a client acquisition model that is based on more than JUST referrals.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 5, 2014President

    Many of our advisors use seminars and trade shows to add to their referrals. We provide "turn-key" marketing programs in addition to referrals. Referrals are best because they want to see an ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to build a career in finance.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supervisor  in  Beverly Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Beverly Hills, CA

    I have been working at Independent Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at ICM for about a year now and I have learned so much about finance in my short time here. I am a supervisor at the Beverly Hills branch.

    Management is extremely team oriented and really focuses on educating the employees as well as the clients they meet with.

    The office has a really positive work environment.

    There is also unlimited earnings potential.

    ICM only promotes from within, so there is a lot of upward mobility within the company.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to work. It's going to be a little tough in the beginning, but once you build a client base and start getting referrals, it becomes easier to make a living.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You are killing it :)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Independent Capital Management Response

    Sep 5, 2014President

    Thank you

Worked for Independent Capital Management? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.