Informatica Reviews

Updated July 5, 2015
510 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
4.1
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Informatica Chairman and CEO Sohaib Abbasi
Sohaib Abbasi
396 Ratings

Pros
  • Super great culture with work life balance (in 67 reviews)

  • Great Work Culture and fantastic people (in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • People worked themselves to the bone running in circles for upper management - no work/life balance (in 21 reviews)

  • Work is not a seasonal thing at GCS unlike R&D where everything happens "before" the release time (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

510 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    Great company, fantastic technology, good benefits, amazing employees.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Informatica is a hidden gem in the Silicon Valley. The company has best in class technology. The management team is a good mix of company veterans and new talent. The employees that Informatica hires are hard working, dedicated and committed to doing the right thing for the company and its customers.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done being a mid-size company. The business unit structure can be challenging to navigate, but is certainly possible.

    Advice to Management

    Continue taking calculated risks as we grow and move into adjacent markets. Be bold about the company and our products.

    Informatica Response

    Jan 26, 2015Senior Employer Brand Manager

    Your review is appreciated. There are many employees that would agree with you that Informatica is a hidden gem in the Valley. Although we have a few rough spots around the edges, the company has ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    Great!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Great benefits
    - Great people to work with
    - Even though its a large company they do try to make you feel that they care
    - Good working environment (at least in our offices)

    Cons

    - More training opportunities
    - Good raise but could be a little more then inflation rate... Say 1%-1.5% more then inflation

    Informatica Response

    Jun 15, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thanks for your comments. For training opportunities, be sure to check out INFAEdge for courses and seminars to help you achieve your personal and career goals. Good luck!


  3. Great Pay but future uncertain

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in San Mateo, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in San Mateo, CA

    I have been working at Informatica (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great company for technical folks

    Cons

    Not sure where things are headed once acquisition is final.

    Informatica Response

    Jul 6, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your comments. We try our best to make sure Informatica is a great company for all of our people, technical and non-technical alike.

    You should be seeing updates on our plans for the
    ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great Culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Informatica full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great products; strong, ethical leadership; a real focus on customer success; and financially strong.

    Cons

    Too big to be bible with new technologies; sometimes the bureaucracy is more than a company of their size can justify.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the drive to $3B in revenue adversely effect the great culture your have created.

    Informatica Response

    Jun 15, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your comments. We treasure the culture of Informatica and work very hard to keep it as personal and friendly as you describe. And, while we may be changing and growing, our commitment ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    Confused Leader

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President
    Former Employee - Vice President

    I worked at Informatica full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Informatica has some excellent technologists and a relatively friendly atmosphere. The integration space is growing and lots of companies are looking for data integration solutions.

    Cons

    The company is product focused on the 60+ products it sells making it difficult to service customers that want integrated data-integration solutions. They were trying to integrate many acquisitions, but never quite figured out how to do it.

    Advice to Management

    The management is tactical and has trouble executing to a consistent strategy and articulating that consistent strategy to the whole company over more that a couple quarters.


  7. inside Sales

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA

    I worked at Informatica (More than 3 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Team are collaborative, approachable staff and overall friendly environment.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility, a flat organization.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on most profitable product lines. Too diversified.

    Informatica Response

    Jun 15, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your feedback. As for advancement, be sure to check out the array of training and development opportunities on INFAEdge for courses and workshops that help you prepare for that next ... More


  8. good work culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Engineer in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Support Engineer in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    great team , supportive and informative. good work ethic . people are very nice and accommodating.

    Cons

    nothing much as such. sometime the work gets mundane but i guess its a part of the job .

    Informatica Response

    Jun 15, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your comments. We agree that our culture is good. And, as Mike Murdoch is often quoted, "The secret of your future is hidden in your daily routine." Look for that spark of opportunity!


  9. Helpful (2)

    Short title for my review

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica full-time

    Pros

    Good people, good work life balance

    Cons

    leadership not focused and lack of follow through from management (flavor of the month management style)

    Informatica Response

    May 22, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    We appreciate your feedback. And we completely agree with you that the people of Informatica are great.

    As for our focus and long-term strategy, that was discussed at the All-Hands meeting April
    ... More


  10. Great vision and execution

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Technical Support Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Principal Technical Support Engineer in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company has great outlook and looking strong.

    Cons

    Company is entering into new areas and a lot depends in how it performs in next 2 years.

    Advice to Management

    Need to set priorities carefully and see where it is worth investing, maybe a bit diversified.


  11. Helpful (12)

    Great company but poor sales and marketing leadership

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent products, great product engineering
    Loyal customer base
    Enormous market potential, well positioned as a leader in growing market
    Cloud presents a huge opportunity which is exciting
    Generally positive culture of people, most attempt to be good and do the right thing if they can
    Informatica has continued to grow despite its problems in some key areas

    Cons

    Massive turnover in sales for at least 2-3 years now, 30%-70% per year depending on region and role
    Frustration in sales is pretty intense
    Marketing is antiquated at best and has totally missed the boat on possibilities to expand the Informatica brand and lead the market in the new world of data. Our competition smokes us in field marketing and using innovative and fresh techniques to reach new markets and buyers.
    The more industrious sales people do a lot of their own marketing, build their own contact systems and buy tools to deliver fresh messages to new markets to do what marketing has not bee able to do
    The sales infrastructure is broken. The system was so broken this year in 2015 that salespeople got a standard draw in Q1 since sales operations and finance couldn't figure it out.
    Sales Operations leadership is the archetype of what not to do in business, bonus and comp plans are unclear in many cases, are not well thought out and are misleading
    Informatica doesn't integrate its own data well at all. Our CRM system is a mess.
    Sales and marketing leadership reacts, thinks short term and cripples sales by being disruptive and desperate for quick results. Sales management does the best it can but these issues all stem from the top and in trying to accommodate so many political agendas in the company

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully the privatization of Informatica is a good thing because it will give the company an opportunity to kick out the old guard and bring in new sales and marketing leadership so the company can shatter its political silos and fulfill its true potential.

    Informatica Response

    May 21, 2015Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition Marketing & Employer Branding

    Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you are frustrated working in the Sales organization at Informatica. We make every effort to ensure that our managers respect their teams. We encourage you ... More



Showing 510 of 533 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.