Informatica

  www.informatica.com
  www.informatica.com

Informatica Reviews

Updated December 20, 2014
Updated December 20, 2014
438 Reviews
4.2
438 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Informatica Chairman and CEO Sohaib Abbasi
Sohaib Abbasi
350 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Work-life Balance: One of the best IT companies in Bangalore I have seen (in 67 reviews)

  • Informatica has a good work culture compared to many Software product companies (in 30 reviews)


Cons
  • People worked themselves to the bone running in circles for upper management - no work/life balance (in 21 reviews)

  • Work is not a seasonal thing at GCS unlike R&D where everything happens "before" the release time (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    "The Party's Almost Over"

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Major Account Manager
    Current Employee - Major Account Manager

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ok pay though slipping compared to competition,benefits are good but you got to pay for them, nice choice and ensemble of internal technological systems for core operations. That's it

    Cons

    Middle Sales Management is weak at it's very best both in the field and inside. As mentioned in a previous genuine review they seem to be posturing to cover up the greater issues and there overall lack of experience and regard for Infa's position in the IT market. The training and knowledge of something as vast as DI is not present nor is the potential for capturing additional opportunities by understanding customers overall IT architecture. Unfortunately the scope seems narrow and the ability to take advantage of growth is stagnated due to lack of experience and ambition of Management overall which permeates through the entire organization.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't just rely on the commoditization of your technology as competition is coming up with other technologies and ways to integrate and fuse data. Please put your focus on hiring qualified people and not encouraging HR to write up "Happy happy" reviews. People will eventually be forced to read 3 stars or under reviews to get the real picture before being misled int the org..

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Got out quick.

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Informatica full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Pay is great......... Parking is available..... Free gym on site. That's it.

    Cons

    People here don't directly communicate. They skirt around issues and have some major egos (this could have just been my department). I remember within my first few weeks, I saw an individual contributor vent to a director about one of the director's direct reports and the director joined in on the attack, and yet when the director talked to the direct report, she acted like it wasn't a big deal and it was just a minor slip-up (and why these people wouldn't close their doors for this is beyond me). I realized after that and after meeting with more people that they don't really care about the product (on the business side) and their "niceness" is actually passive-aggressive. The CEO likes to call out other companies/business leaders negatively during meetings which I think is unnecessary.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get over yourselves.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Not the Company it once was - Low Pay, High Stress, Legacy Products, Too many Sales Reps.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Major Account Manager
    Current Employee - Major Account Manager

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Potential to reclaim it's glory if someone takes back control

    Cons

    - Pay is not competitive
    - Losing to open source competitors and to the mega vendors. We are losing market leadership, fast.
    - Was once a family, but now sale teams are stressed and not making money.
    - High turnover - Many once-successful people have left. Many of us are planning to leave if not fixed NOW.
    - Lots of politics and in-fighting
    - The board appears to run this company, but it's clear they have no clue what our issues are.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Manage needs to:
    - Innovate. You can't grow organically with the same old ETL, MDM, & PIM. Cloud is low $s. Need to expand in Big Data, BI, Analytics, Business Applications. Take a risk on acquiring new companies! You loss your entrepreneurial spirit.
    - Improve culture and solve the feeling that we are a number. High pressure from management is not a motivator!
    - Many of us once-successful sales reps are starving.
    - There is better pay and more aggressive compensation plans elsewhere, hopefully you see that with those that have left and or will leave.
    - Provide a reasonable sales quota and coverage. Reps and much of the field team are leaving for better jobs and to make money.
    - You over-hired reps just to cover revenue goals - this is the definition of stupidity as evidenced in revenue issues.
    - Who's the leader? We don't see it. What's the plan?
    - Many of us are planning to leave if not fixed NOW, not next year, now!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Compensation is a disgrace and not up to industry standards.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore (India)
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore (India)

    I worked at Informatica full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Experienced manager. Good work and personal life. Onsite opportunity.good teammates.

    Cons

    Compensation does not reward experience; skills. Promotions scarce. Work gets frustrating at times.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Sep 9, 2014Director - Human Resources

    Hi There,

    Thank you for taking the time out to let us know what you feel. We really value the opinion of our employees and try to make improvements where ever we can.
    If there is something
    ... More

  6.  

    Extremely discouraging. Significant contributions are ignored. Depth of technology expertise and seniority ignored.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bangalore (India)
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Bangalore (India)

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent work life balance, I don't see any other pro,just filling this up to complete the 20 word minimum.

    Cons

    No standardization of compensation and promotion based on seniority; skills; impact of contribution.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  7.  

    Good company but getting worse

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Bangalore (India)
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Bangalore (India)

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Good products and good outlook

    Cons

    Getting worse as professional people leaving, Management in RWC need to get this that people leaving are people who can easily get job because they are talented and others maybe waiting for opportunity.

    There are people who joined this company only because of some great leaders and the worry is that those great leaders are planning to move out that seems like they are giving up and started believing that they can't help anymore

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Would advise to the management in RWC is that retain professional leaders and take appropriate action against people spoiling the environment. you have written complaints already, but looks like they are promoted for being worse, unprofessional leader

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Nov 13, 2013Director - Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give us the feedback. We value your input and truly appreciate you taking the time out to provide us your feedback.
    If there is something specific which you would like
    ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Horribly Run

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Informatica as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    - descent pay
    -good location and easy to park

    Cons

    - horribly run it department
    - some of the people in charge don't really know what they are doing
    - a lot of office politics

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get rid of some of the douche's there

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Oct 17, 2013HR Director, Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad that you find Informatica’s pay and location good, and sorry to hear that you don’t like how your department is run. We are always looking for constructive ... More

  9. 3 people found this helpful  

    TToxic ToxicToxic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Architect in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Architect in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Enterprise level Integration is a good place to be in despite freebee products out there.
    Company has a range of products that enable it address multiple market verticals.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment.
    The company is focused on moving 'all' of Engineering & Operations offshore.

    Lately they have been importing folks from India on 2 yr work visas.
    Work hours are brutal with no work-life balance.

    Managers are pathetic with no people skills what-so-ever.
    New products or ideas are non existent.
    The good ones have either left or are heading towards the door.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Clean up your act.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Oct 8, 2013Sr. HR Business Partner

    I would like to Thank You for your candid feedback. We take all feedback good or not so good to heart. I am happy to hear that you feel that Enterprise level integration is the place to be and that ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Toxic environment .

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Architect in Redwood City, CA
    Current Employee - Architect in Redwood City, CA

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good health benefits, gym facility

    Cons

    Toxic environment.
    Management within Engineering is very immature, micromanage and beat the hell out of any forward looking idea.
    Stuck in the 80's technology wise.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Clean up management.
    Too much dead wood around.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Jun 11, 2013Vice President International Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. Obviously its's disappointing to read some of the comments here and I, or one of my team, would be happy to talk to you directly if you wanted to reach out. I hope that you ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Toxic, stressful environment with bad managers and no career growth opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Officce location is nice at the water

    Cons

    Bad managers no career opportunities no interesting things to work on

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Jun 7, 2013Vice President International Human Resources

    Thanks for your review - Its really helpful to get this feedback and we are doing everything we can to make sure that we continue as one of the happiest Silicon-Valley based companies. We are glad ... More

Work at Informatica? Share Your Experiences

Informatica

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.