Leggett & Platt

  www.leggett.com
  www.leggett.com

Leggett & Platt Reviews

Updated November 5, 2014
Updated November 5, 2014
54 Reviews
3.7
54 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Leggett & Platt Chairman of the Board & CEO Dave Haffner
Dave Haffner
31 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Very large, publicly traded, S&P 500 company established in 1883; (in 3 reviews)

  • Leggett does care about its people and is a really great place to work (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • Like any large company, there are challenges (in 4 reviews)

  • the management is rude to the workers and treat them with no respect unless they want something in return (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt

    Pros

    Leggett is a company that lives out what they preach. This is a place where people genuinely care about your personal & professional development. Great down to earth management and awesome co-workers. Work is fun & challenging and there is plenty opportunities throughout many different branches and departments. Depending on what you love to do, you can most likely find it at Leggett.

    Cons

    Compensation is not based on your performance, might be hard to keep the talent around here.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 14, 2014Talent Advisor & Social Media Manager

    We're glad you love Leggett! Also, thanks for your thoughts on how to keep the best talent. We're definitely moving the right direction.

  2.  

    Wrong Direction

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Leggett & Platt full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Allowing branches to be autonomous

    Cons

    Corporate HQ is changing that and putting more and more pressure on branches to give up their autonomy

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't try to Legget-ize everything

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 14, 2014Talent Management

    Thanks for the constructive criticism — since we are in so many diverse industries different businesses require different levels of autonomy. Our desire is for the entire company to move together in ... More

  3.  

    A stable, reputable company

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Leggett & Platt

    Pros

    Very large, publicly traded, S&P 500 company established in 1883;
    Very well-known in the industry;
    People at HQ are very down to earth;
    Very stable (for the most part).

    Cons

    Very financially driven (answer to wall street analysts);
    Opportunities to improve name recognition among consumers;
    In an industry that puts a lot of emphasis on long-standing relationships and family ties;
    Very, very conservative.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Wish you all the best!

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 14, 2014Talent Management

    We're glad you saw us as down-to-earth kind of folks. And we wish you the best as well as you continue your career!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Excelent

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt

    Pros

    Good Company, good salary, excelent

    Cons

    No complains for this Company

  6.  

    Large company with lots of opportunity.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Leggett & Platt full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Leggett & Platt is a Fortune 500 company. It is very large and operates hundreds of plants in more than twenty countries. They have many strategic business units encompassing the manufacturing of component parts for Original Equipment Manufacturers in many industries. With a company this large, there is plenty of opportunity to succeed. The company stock is a good investment both short term and long term.

    Cons

    There is quite a bit of travel in management, but some do not see this as a con. Leggett is a very large company and the procurement people are not well versed in all of the things that the entire Leggett corporation makes. The point is that Leggett could do a better job buying component parts from other Leggett holdings.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 14, 2014Talent Management

    Actually we dropped out of the Fortune 500 list for a few years following a shift in our strategy (we are currently a member of the S&P 500, though). But that decision to align ourselves around Total ... More

  7.  

    Terrible Pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Leggett & Platt full-time

    Pros

    The corporate office is big.

    Cons

    This company operates with a "stick and carrot" mentality. When you arrive at your carrot "performance goals," they then move the carrot once again. It's an endless cycle. You'll never be at that performance level to warrant a decent raise. Plan on about a 1% raise per year (if that).

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay for performance and not favoritism.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 14, 2014Talent Management

    We're disappointed that you had such a negative experience. While there are a number of factors that may affect compensation, we do agree with you that "favoritism" shouldn't be one of them. That's ... More

  8.  

    Culture of Caring for People

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carthage, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carthage, MO

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    For several years I worked with Leggett & Platt in an external capacity. It gave me a chance to experience the culture, get to the know the people, and work alongside some incredible talent. When the chance to join the company full-time arose, I was excited to join. The company truly takes care of its people and gives me access to resources that help me do the best job possible. On top of that, nearly everyone I've met is respectful and kind. Also, the Team Talent division gives me access to professional development opportunities that allow me to grow and stay sharp. If you're a hard worker who cares for people I highly recommend working at Leggett & Platt.

    Cons

    In a large company there are times when you'd hope divisions could work more closely. In my short time here, I've seen improvements in cross-pollinating ideas, but there's room for growth.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. Our culture is wonderful. Work to knock down any silos and maximize ideas by bringing business units together.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 20, 2014Talent Management

    Thanks for the positive comments about our talent initiatives and L&D offerings. We've invested a lot of time, money, and resources into developing our employees over the last five years. We look ... More

  9.  

    Great company to work for!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    People are important to the leadership of Leggett! Emphasis is placed on finding and hiring top talent as well as developing people from within. There is always room for growth and opportunity. This a small town company with a global thumbprint - so you get the feeling of family with a company that is leading the industry in many areas around the world.

    Cons

    It is the Midwest - not the highest paying region of the world.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Leggett & Platt is a hidden gem.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Carthage, MO
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Carthage, MO

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The managers at Leggett realize that skills are something that can be acquired but personality and work ethic are not. They make an effort to hire people who have a cultural fit. Everyone I've come into contact with is down-to-earth, encouraging, and willing to help or mentor you when you when needed.

    The opportunities here are endless and furthering education is encouraged. It's very common for people to move around in any direction they like within the company, whether that be through promotions within a single department or moving between groups and departments. There are well-rounded and experienced employees wherever you look. They also give entry-level employees a chance to shine. Leggett realizes that good ideas don't come solely from upper management. So it's really one of the best places you could go to start out your career in the Midwest. I know I'm glad I've ended up here.

    You will be stretched past your comfort zone. For some people this may be a con, but I see it as a plus. If you're ambitious, personal growth is easy here.

    You're treated like a person, not a number and you're constantly reminded of the bigger picture. The Corporate Office is very involved with the Branches and there's so much to learn about the company. It's really amazing, everything Leggett manufactures. I'm constantly surprised.

    Cons

    The on-boarding process is so-so; once you get your office and survive the first day, you're on your own for the most part. Now, I know above I said that people at Leggett are helpful, and they are, but you have to have the initiative to seek that help and ask questions. Self-starters will really flourish in this environment, someone that needs hand-holding will not. Recently, HR started an orientation and tour day that they conduct 4 times a year. This is a great program. Of course, I didn't get to participate in it until I had already been here 14 months but at least they have it I guess.

    Managers here won't give you regular feedback unless you push them for it. If you're someone that needs your work critiqued regularly, let your manager know.

    Despite the lack of initial training, once you get the hang of things Leggett & Platt is a pleasant place to be.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 20, 2014Talent Management

    Wow! Thanks for leaving such an in-depth and insightful review. You make a great point about taking the initiative to ask for feedback. Implementing goals and performance reviews a few years back has ... More

  11.  

    Great culture, smart leadership and strategy, with great opportunities.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Financial Area in Carthage, MO
    Current Employee - Financial Area in Carthage, MO

    I have been working at Leggett & Platt full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company has a great and truly unique culture. There is a down to Earth, small company feel that is combined with the great benefits and opportunities of a large S&P 500 company. Management is ethical, candid, smart and focused. People are treated well and respected. Great place to work.

    Cons

    There are not a lot of cons. Like any large company, there are challenges. However, these are prioritized and dealt with in a practical manner.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Great job!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Leggett & Platt Response

    Nov 20, 2014Talent Management

    Very true! "Down to earth, small company feel with the great benefits of a large S&P 500 company" really sums us up nicely.

Work at Leggett & Platt? Share Your Experiences

Leggett & Platt

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.