LifeWay Christian Resources Reviews

Updated June 26, 2015
109 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.9
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Thom S. Rainer
54 Ratings

Pros
  • Great people to work with at LifeWay; there is an atmosphere of continuous improvement; benefits are competitive (in 10 reviews)

  • The laid-back work environment makes this company stand out from others (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Not many opportunities for advancement and low pay (in 6 reviews)

  • Upper management is in a panic mode (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

109 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Lifeway sales associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    It is a wonderful place to work! Lifeway hires truly the best managers and coworkers. I hang out with my coworkers on a regular basis outside of work, they are some of my closest friends.

    Cons

    There will be very difficult customers, like in any other retail store
    There are no raises and very few opportunities to move up in the company

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Jun 8, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback and the contributions you made to assist us in providing "Biblical Solutions For Life".


  2. Helpful (1)

    Going through a lot of change

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Nashville, TN

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great purpose.

    Cons

    Reactive mentality instead of strategic. Not relying on the spirit to lead.

    Advice to Management

    Start with a plan and stick to it. Rely on the God you claim to serve to help decision making instead of going on gut feelings all of the time.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Jun 29, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback and many years of service.


  3. Helpful (1)

    Manager

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources

    Pros

    Love the mission and values

    Cons

    Top down communication is sometimes lacking

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Jun 8, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    Wonderful people, growth concerns

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good working environment. However, the long term financial health of the company is in doubt as LifeWay adapts to current market conditions.

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities. Compensation was under market due to this being a non profit.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Jun 12, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are confident that God has big plans for LifeWay as we head into the future. Thank you for your service and for helping us provide "Biblical Solutions For Life".


  6. Great Company to work for!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Loved, loved working at LifeWay's corporate offices! Great company culture, great people. All leadership eyes are on how to best push the Gospel forward for Christ. All initiatives are steadfast in that and it gives all employees a real sense that they're working for the advancement of the Kingdom each day. Very fulfilling. Would work there again in a heartbeat if I had the chance.

    Cons

    The only con may actually be that everyone is trying so hard to be Christian in all things - which is wonderful in many ways - but, it makes things move very slowly sometimes as everyone takes such care to gingerly walk through resolution when a situation needs to be addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eye on the Kingdom as you move forward with the changes that 2015-2016 will bring. Praying God will bless your efforts!

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    May 28, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We appreciate your efforts in helping us carry our mission of providing "Biblical Solutions For Life".


  7. Great place to work!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Awesome Co-workers, Company really cares about your growth

    Cons

    Pay is slightly lower than similar jobs with other companies

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and make sure to always keep God first!

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    May 28, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback and all that you do to assist us in providing "Biblical Solutions For Life". Please know that YOU are valued and important to LifeWay.


  8. Helpful (2)

    Compassionately working to assist Christians in their walk of faith

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representatative in Redlands, CA
    Current Employee - Sales Representatative in Redlands, CA

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    One of the main pros of working at LifeWay is to work with great people. Sure they aren't perfect, neither am I, but more times than not as we work I see these people I work with more as "friends I work with" rather than "co-workers."

    Another pro to working here are the customers that we receive. 90% of the time we receive the most happy and kind hearted people. There have been times that I have been able to help mend broken hearts and spread some love while at other times I have been blessed by customer encouragement when I was in my time of need.

    Cons

    One of the main cons are the hours they have you working. I can be working from 6 hours a week to 20 hours a week. Sadly, most of the time I am working with lower end of hours.

    Other than that I have no real complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Continue striving towards synergy with both the company's goals and mission statement. Also, give more options for the employee's voice to be heard.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    May 6, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback and all that you do to assist us in providing Biblical Solutions For Life.


  9. Helpful (1)

    Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Wonderful job! Great staff! Flexible schedule, perfect job for a college student. Great environment, able to pray with customers and show the love of Christ.

    Cons

    Pay is not great. If the pay was better many people would make this a career. Growth potential isn't what I wish it could be.

    Advice to Management

    My management is fabulous, could not ask for a better manager. Consider higher starting pay, I know it is up to corporate, that is the only con.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Apr 27, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the work you do.


  10. Helpful (1)

    Good Store

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at LifeWay Christian Resources

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people that come in are nice and so are coworkers.

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons to this store and job.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    Apr 7, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback and your daily contributions. You and your team assist us in carrying out our mission of providing "Biblical Solutions For Life". Thank you for all that you do at the ... More


  11. A genuine company you can count on to learn sales and grow your Christian walk.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Douglasville, GA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Douglasville, GA

    I worked at LifeWay Christian Resources part-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The fact that you can have a discussion about someone's salvation, customer or employee, is a wonderful thing.

    Cons

    Only one con comes to mind, everything else was great at LifeWay. When I was thinking about doing the Manager in Training (MIT) program I learned that if selected to be an MIT or eventually a manager, a requirement was that you *had* to move to another state to be MIT/manager. I don't understand the reasoning behind this requirement. Promoting from a sales associate to a key holder (lower/entry mgmt) is as far as I made it and so there were not many add'l advancement opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    This is a wonderful company and I would have loved to keep working at LifeWay but the compensation, benefits and career opportunities were below par. Other than that I have learned some retail [management] skills/traits that will surely come in handy again someday.

    LifeWay Christian Resources Response

    May 6, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in process of making revisions to our MIT program. We look forward to seeing the positive impact these revisions will have on our future employees and ... More



Showing 109 of 118 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.