Lion Apparel

  www.lionapparel.com
  www.lionapparel.com

Lion Apparel Reviews

Updated November 1, 2014
Updated November 1, 2014
10 Reviews
2.6
10 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Stephen Schwartz
4 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great laid back working atmosphere.

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Lion Apparel

    Pros

    Full time work, if openings happen in different department jobs are offered to existing emoyees first. Employees are permitted to celebrate holidays appropriately.

    Cons

    I worked at the Beattyville plant and the company consolidated plants and closed the facility I worked.

  2.  

    Corporate Finance Intern

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Corporate Fonance Intern in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Corporate Fonance Intern in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Lion Apparel as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    I liked working here, depending on which department you are working in. I worked in finance and was a friendly environment overall.

    Cons

    I thought that the company was consistently laying people off and the working environment was continually stressful.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We think the finance department is pretty great, too! We value our employees and promote a long term career at LION. While we haven’t had layoffs or feedback of a ... More

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    LION squeaks not roars.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Lion Apparel full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company although big can be family/friendly oriented. Everyone gets the same percentage bonuses, same percentage raise, and vacation time begins at the first of the year and ends at the last month of the year for everyone.

    Cons

    Very antiquated in thinking. Slow to advance, if at all. Senior executive administration have been here for years. The CEO is family so no one will ever get any higher on the pay scale than being his senior executive administration.

    Corporate Headquarter employees make peanuts.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take the fresh, new outside opinions of incoming staff. Really listen and understand they are fresh eyes and just wanting to improve the company for the better.

    Reward employees for how well they do, not how well the company does fiscal year ending!!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    Thank you for the comments. LION is always looking for new ideas to advance and stay on the cutting edge with ideas and technology. Two of our core beliefs are “collaborating to deliver solutions ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    BullEx one of the companies they have acquired - Very Unprofessional team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Albany, NY
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Albany, NY

    I worked at Lion Apparel full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Involved in Design of Equipment and Electric Connections. Mostly electric field for those interested in the Electric Field.

    Cons

    1) Very Unprofessional: They will not care when they acquired you, they will still let you go if they find someone better.
    2) No one in the staff who are of non management positions has stayed more than 2 years with the company. (There is an extremely high turnover rate)
    3) Poor Management Skills: They have extremely bad management skills, they will not give you advice, they will not train you and they will expect you to do the work even if you are not trained for it or have never done it before.
    4) Very poor Interviewing skills: The Job description which I was interviewed for does not match at all what I was doing in the end. They assumed things during the interview and never ask about it during the process and then expect you to accomplish these things regardless and if you don't know how to do they will let you go.
    5) They don't care how much effort you put in your wok, even if you stay more than 12 hours a day working
    Over all I would not advise to work here. The people are very unprofessional and have poor management skills. This company will get rid of you in a second if they find someone better to do the job. No loyalty to anyone

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You have a long way to go to improve your interviewing skills, management skills and respect for your employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    If you would like to further discuss your experience, please contact me at escharrer@lionprotects.com.

  6.  

    Few Opportunities for Advancement

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Lion Apparel

    Pros

    Laid-back office environment
    Good corporate citzenship projects throughout the year that involves fundraising, item collections, and off-site volunteering
    Some flexibility for working moms

    Cons

    Few internal positions ever open up and hiring from within is not a priority
    Poor planning and execution of special projects from upper level management
    Overworked employees with little time to get anything accomplished outside of essential job functions

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    We do support and encourage internal promotions especially for positions where Lion has existing employees with a relatable skill set. That being said, LION frequently has positions in locations ... More

  7.  

    Only friends and family of Management get promoted...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Issue Line Worker in Camp Pendleton, CA
    Current Employee - Issue Line Worker in Camp Pendleton, CA

    I have been working at Lion Apparel

    Pros

    Pay is good, time off is good.

    Cons

    Don't expect to be promoted unless you know someone... or have testicles.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More equality as far as promotions go. People that work there for years shouldn't be put on the back burner for promotions just because you have a buddy that needs a job.

    Approves of CEO
  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Lion Apparel Comments

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Dayton, OH
    Current Employee - Manager in Dayton, OH

    I have been working at Lion Apparel

    Pros

    Time off if needed was always given.

    Cons

    Upper management very difficult and miro managers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    VP's have got to stop miro managing and must be postive to employees and their direct reports. VP's go directly to managers reports and give direction as well as seems to think that it is acceptable to wear employees down to make them feel they have no worth.

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO
  9.  

    Human Resources

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Lion Apparel (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Difficulty with getting improvements approved

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Allow people the chance to make Lion better.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    We are glad you would recommend us to a friend. I think the people are great to work with as well! We are always looking to improve and finding new ways to collaborate, learn, and implement new and ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Warehouse worker that is required to do all positions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Okinawa (Japan)
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Okinawa (Japan)

    I have been working at Lion Apparel as a contractor (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is absolutely nothing that is good about this job. Stay away.

    Cons

    CEO thinks that we make fire fighting equipment, we actually issue government owned military issued gear to service members. Upper management is absolutely clueless as to what their job responsibilities are. Waste government funds on a regular basis. Paid to do a single job with no benefits. But do the work of a crew of 10 with the same pay. Absolutely no raises in over 2 years after talking to management over a year ago.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Fire yourself and hire people that know what they are doing.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Lion Apparel Response

    Aug 4, 2014Staffing Manager

    It is unfortunate to hear these comments. While I am disappointed you don’t like your job, I need to be very clear the CEO is daily engaged in the leadership of your division and does understand the ... More

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Honorable industry - dinosaur management style

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Lion Apparel

    Pros

    Paycheck - don't stay long

    Cons

    Extreme micro management - rigid contol

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Why bother - won't change

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

Work at Lion Apparel? Share Your Experiences

Lion Apparel

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.