Lithium Technologies Reviews

Updated July 18, 2015
150 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

150 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (7)

    Growing company with lots of potential

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I've been here a while, and I've seen the ups and downs, and overall, the company has moved up like crazy. In the last few years we have more than quadrupled in size, expanded to many locations, and acquired big names. This trend continues to grow, highlighting the potential to come. When it IPOs it will be worth it, that's for sure. To me though, even more than the growth, what keeps me here everyday is the people. The engineers are some of the smartest I have worked with, and the teams are passionate about their work. "Work hard, play hard" is a motto followed seriously. Sure there is politics every now and then, and sometimes bad decisions are made, but overall the people are honest and open to feedback. More importantly, they are willing to let you be an agent of change. If you see something wrong that needs fixing, and you go ahead and do it, you will be lauded. I have done this many times, and each time I have loved the feedback, it makes me want to work harder everyday. I'm not the type to sit back and complain about problems with my workplace and not do anything about it, and this company lets me do that. In fact, they appreciate it and have shown in many ways that doing this is beneficial to both the company and to me (through perks, bonuses, raises and promotions).

    Cons

    The company is growing in size pretty fast, and that kind of fast change can bring about some anxiety. The management has now realized that this is a potential problem, and steps are being taken to rectify it. With the growth there is also some "professional-ness" that seems artificial, but during day-to-day activities it still feels like gamer culture.

    Advice to Management

    With the growth in size and the cascading of management (vertically), it would be helpful if information were cascaded as it were being thought out (or before it happened). This would help alleviate some of the confusion around why some decisions are made. More events focused around socializing would also help bring people together, removing inter-team disconnects.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 24, 2014 – CEO

    Great feedback. Thanks for highlighting the amazing culture and talent of our engineers -- I couldn't agree more! I get reviews of projects at least once a month and the innovations that are being ... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    Had some rough patches. Turning around for the better

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent manager, smart co-workers, low primadonna factor. Friendly, helpful, caring people. Responsive upper management. Promising product vision. Fun product to build. Innovative atmosphere. Good work/life balanec. Fun company culture. Easy commute location.

    Cons

    Rough, unfocused atmosphere after the Klout acquisition, but this has been improving over the last month and a half. I've worked here for almost two years. There were about four months where I would not have recommended the company to a friend, but things are getting back on track.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 27, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for your input and feedback. Post-acquisition periods are always difficult, and I appreciate your acknowledgment that we used it as a way to get refocused on the opportunities ahead for the ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    Good place to grow your career if you know your stuff

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time

    Pros

    1) You get to work with some of the new technology stacks 2) Great work place location 3) You get to interact with some of the smart people who are very good at their work and who are ready to help you 4) Pretty good balance between work and fun

    Cons

    1) Company is bigger than few years back and I like the fact they want to act like an startup but too many changes among teams can be avoided 2) Compensation could be improved and meet similar sized company payscale

    Advice to Management

    Company has great potential and hope they execute the plans to make it big on the market.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Be yourself, sharpen your skill,build a kick-ass product,Friendly and inspiring management,smart coworkers!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies (More than a year)

    Pros

    I am working here for more than 1 and half year.Lithium culture is getting better and better,the direction is changing to be more clear and crisp,Community platform and LSW product with Klout perks is going to give brands great tools to connect with their consumers and consumers to engage into sharing the content they are passionate about.The engineering team is well focussed, if they know what to be delivered at the end of the day.There are really smart engineers who are committed to lithium's success.Still some great members among founders who constantly inspire new comers.Very open culture between management and technical teams.Small scrum teams are mostly in self-operative mode, which is only possible because you are trusted here,and brings in lot of freedom to your daily role and at the same time put great responsibilities on your shoulder,which is very valuable learning for many young engineers. It is a great environment that gives you the tools to grow and expects you to deliver success with them.No BS in management layer,no nepotism...real down to earth great leaders committed to connect business with product.

    Cons

    * long commute to the city,some teams are flexible with wfh and some are not. * no 401k match * need to focus on fostering team players.

    Advice to Management

    Let the senior most members help more in architecting products with long term vision.It is my perspective that I don't see architect brains here which is needed when some teams have relatively less experienced yet very smart young engineers,but they need to be guided in high level specially in cross system integration areas.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Nov 3, 2014 – CEO

    Great insight and really appreciate the review. I agree that the open culture in our engineering org drives innovation, and I also appreciate the point on long-term architecture as well -- something ... More


  6. Helpful (10)

    Great potential but unfortunately...This is not a "Great" place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some great people at this company unfortunately, they'll never reach their full potential by working at Lithium. Location is awesome and the creature comforts are also very good

    Cons

    Management unfortunately is not clear on where the company needs to go and the turnover is awful. Anybody considering a sales position here should ask to speak to 5 sales people that met or exceeded their annual quota for a couple of years that are not in the Bay area.

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking about the IPO..this could be a great place without hanging this carrot. Be more "real" and take a close look at the C-suite..some of these people are not delivering to us in the trenches that love Lithium

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Nov 3, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for your review and sorry to hear that you are unclear on where we need to go. I am proud of the many sales reps who have succeeded here at Lithium -- we have enormously talented people and ... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    Best place in the world if you're committed to community and social

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I appreciate some of the perks, but to me the best workplace is where I get the chance to do the work I want and to learn the most, and about the people I'm working with -- both colleagues and customers. This place is the top of the list on both counts. I have never in four years had anyone question a decision when it's right for the customer -- not management, not peers. I work with some of the smartest and the most humble people I've worked with in my career. But the best thing for me is the incredible list of brands that choose to work with us. Every week there are great new companies to learn about and work with -- and we have great working relationships because our customers understand that making them successful is what makes us successful.

    Cons

    Think of all the challenges of fast-growing companies and you will find them here: hiring decisions aren't always great, communication can seriously suck, problems aren't always dealt with as quickly as they need to be. There's still too big a divide between management and staff -- decisions don't always take advantage of our best thinking, because the right people aren't involved. We sometimes suffer from the very same challenges we're helping our customers solve every day -- which is a shame. Lots of missed opportunities to be great, when political challenges make us settle for being average or merely good.

    Advice to Management

    Break down the barriers between management and staff. Stop doing what you think an executive should do, and follow your instincts and your principles. You have the chance to create something really great, and a lot of brands are trusting you to help them. You can't get there unless you open up more decision-making to customers and employees.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 7, 2014 – CEO

    Really thoughtful review -- I appreciate that you took the time to share it. Our #1 Value as a Company is to "take customer success personally" - good to see that you feel it is being practiced ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    Great Place to Be!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A recently joined Lithium and I have had an outstanding experience. I have been really impressed by the talent of the people that I have met across all departments and the passion that the people that I spoke with had about the company. It has also been inspiring to see the drive that employees have for making customers successful and the outstanding brands that are eager and proud to share the value that they have achieved from the company. The other thing that has really impressed me was the organized and professional HR on-boarding and IT setup process - it couldn't have been any any easier and I was able to be productive and feel like a part of the team from day one. It's really exciting to work somewhere that employees and customers are so engaged!

    Cons

    This is a fast growing company which always creates changes and this might be hard for people that don't embrace change as readily.

    Advice to Management

    Keep staying engaged with the employees and keep offering opportunities for employees to hear the strategy and ask questions.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 15, 2014 – CEO

    I am thrilled your on boarding has been a positive experience. We will stay engaged as this market is only heating up further!! Thanks for the input. Rob


  9. Helpful (16)

    We need to start firing on all cylinders, sooner than later.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    First and foremost- its blatantly apparent to me, and many people working here, that Glassdoor is stuffed with a lot of “fake" reviews for this company. I guess that shouldn't be too shocking ...since narcissism just a trait that comes along with "Social Media" world. You can pinpoint the individuals who wrote a few of them, and they just drink the kool-aid here so much they can't help themselves. I try to be as fair as possible when I write reviews, ... I am not a "disgruntled" employee, just trying to tell it how I see things. As someone who has owned a couple large communities before, I believe in the product. Sure you can stand up phpBB/vBull or whatever, but most people aren't really going to be successful at doing that. I would like to quickly call out an earlier review that slammed the folks down in Austin working on the LSW product, which was totally out of line. I feel like people in that office work very hard on the LSW product. I'm not sure why that comment annoyed me, but it did (I don't even work on LSW). Overall... I would say the benefits are pretty fair here. My biggest "gripe" would be the lack of a 401k match, and that the equity stake here is likely to have a net value of $0.00, but more on that later. The health, dental and vision are roughly on par for most other employers I've had. I appreciate the commuter benefits, and for someone who lives in the city, it 100% covers my transit costs. I enjoy the "flexible PTO" plan here, but lately they've been wanting to track the usage of it more. I REALLY hope people aren't abusing it, because that would upset me. Everyone I know is very appreciative of this perk and treats it with respect. I would advise any net-new employees to negotiate your base pay well, because you'll be at that amount for a while. Lunch is typically catered in 2/3 times per week and also breakfast a 1/2 times per week. Pretty typical for this area, ...snack and drink rooms around the office. Some people scoff at that stuff, but it saves me a lot of money :) The office itself is very nice (perhaps a little too nice given the situation), and can get loud at times. While there are some duds working at Lithium (or for *ANY* company), there are some real diamonds mixed in too. I wish I could name them all, but I think they know. I would like to thank those people for all of the great times I've had, and all that I've learned and been able to teach in return.

    Cons

    Churn is HIGH here, straight up. My back of the napkin math says we're going through 20-25% of the work force PER YEAR. I've asked my manager about this before, and pretty much got a shoulder shrug. I know turnover can be high in Silicon Valley/SF, but it feels like we're off the chain. Lately it's been a lot of the old timers/some founding members ... which is demoralizing in many ways. As of late, they have not been backfilling many positions either. The CEO has admitted he's "all in" on ... whatever ... the current strategy to marry the community product+Klout+LSW is. Almost four months later, there is STILL no clear plan on how that's going to happen though. I've seen a lot of presentations with animated GIF's (spinning gears == profit!!), but that's about it. Sometimes I think we're using the Southpark business plan FOR REAL as our business plan. If you don't know what that is, look on YouTube for a chuckle. I don't *think* the CEO is inherently evil as some people do, but I think he's in a situation where he's damned if he does/doesn't. I DO think he has some friends in various positions around the company they are ill suited for. Rob made a statement last year he took a lot of heat for, but I actually liked hearing: If you don't believe in what Lithium does... GO. I mentioned equity above in the positives- BUT Let's "Be Real" here, nobody actually believes we're going to IPO anymore. Get various members of senior management drunk enough (which isn't hard around here!), and they'll admit the BEST CASE SCENARIO is an acquisition. Beyond that, we're going to have to keep raising money and diluting out our equity stakes for the foreseeable future. If you think about it rationally, the time horizon laid out could mean the country ends up in recession again by the time we would/could IPO. Suffice it to say- I don't think we'll be driving Bugatti's to work anytime soon. BART and MUNI it is. Another possibility would be a drastic OpEx reduction (read: more layoffs?) sooner than later to cut the burn rate. Every now and then management lets it slip what our cash position is, and those who choose to be observant can determine we're burning through cash at a decent clip. The 20-30 people just let go will help, and also subletting underutilized office space will too. That said, those leases never should’ve been signed in the first place. The bonus/review cycle here is, in a word, onerous. WHY are we literally doing what most companies do 4x a year now? What a colossal waste of time. I honestly feel bad for my manager having to do that. I say reduce the formal reviews down to once per year, and at managers discretion pay out the bonus in quarterly chunks.

    Advice to Management

    As others have said, be more transparent and WHY are there so many managers here? I can name like 3-4 people who have 1-2 maybe 3 direct reports. I know throwing a title at people can be a perk in lieu of pay, but maybe dial that back a bit. Even if its going to be painful, let's keep cutting if we have to. People who hate their jobs, put in your notice and save us your whining. I think you'd be surprised how well we can take the truth.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 17, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for the time to give us a review -- and thanks for recommending Lithium. I tried to follow your train of thought in this review but found some parts difficult to understand -- let me try to ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    Good culture, disruptive technology, career opportunities, optimistic about future.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart people, good benefits, lots of opportunities for training, career growth, good culture and office. Branding and word of mouth and increased sales are helping Lithium gain strong reputation in the space. Customers love the products/services.

    Cons

    Lots of changes (this is good and bad). Change is happening every day and some changes will be bigger than others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, but make sure to keep your ear to the ground to what employees are hearing/saying/feeling.

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 7, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for this review and your advice. I try personally to keep my ear to the ground as much as possible, but it is always a good reminder. I agree with your comments about our customers -- they ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Great people, great challenges, confused management

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lithium Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * people working here are smart, friendly, and fun to work with. * fun and challenging problems to work with and solve. * focus on scrum process * good benefits including travel expenses except 401K match. * lithium is a leader in its space. Not many companies do what lithium does. * lunches 2 days a week. Although, used to be 3 days a week. * competitive compensation. * good HR team.

    Cons

    * Management seems to be lost and confused on the direction that they want to take for the organization * recent sudden layoffs

    Lithium Technologies Response

    Oct 12, 2014 – CEO

    Glad to hear you see the strength in the people at Lithium -- it is our #1 asset as a Company. I am sorry you don't see the management direction clearly -- let's connect on this as our strategy is ... More



Showing 150 of 155 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.