Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Reviews

Updated July 3, 2015
130 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

130 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Too much work, not enough pay.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Katy, TX
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Katy, TX

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Meeting new people, a diverse set of work responsibilities.

    Cons

    Not enough staff at the time I was working, almost impossible to take breaks at times. So much to do yet don't get payed accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 8, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We will make sure our management team in the Katy area sees this.


  2. marketing Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The pay was good the hours could be long at times great deal of turnover.

    Cons

    nights turn into days had to shop your store on your day off

    Advice to Management

    training will reduce turnover so will increasing pay rate

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Apr 20, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for the recommendation! We also appreciated that feedback and advice to management. Thank you!


  3. Helpful (2)

    A poor life decision and not the opportunity it appears when first investigating the potential.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Former Employee - General Manager in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Benefits
    Can provide good work / life balance if you can manage your time effectively.
    Some districts are very well run by very involved leaders
    Good promotion opportunities if you are willing to work for it

    Cons

    Not everyone is treated with the dignity and respect they deserve from a family based organization.
    Some managers not invested or interested enough to provide any level of support
    Monthly visits serve no purpose - no assistance with resolving issues, just slows you down
    Senior management only interested in execution, not interested in your opinions or suggestions.

    Advice to Management

    Expect everyone to live the Loves Pledge from the top down.
    Don't allow team members to be terminated without cause - it damages morale & casues distrust

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 5, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you both for your pros and cons, taking the time to provide us with critical feedback. Learning opportunities abound from your comments, and for that we most definitely thank you!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Shift supervisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Pros

    Fast past environment, vacation time, flexible schedule depending on gm, family oriented,

    Cons

    Whether you have a good experience working for loves depends on the gm and management. Company does continue to grow which is nice, but company is very bias. Women management is very rare, unless it's the restaurant manager. Newsflash loves! Women can do a just of good job as men. Company says they promote within... Ha. Worked there for over six years, store was constantly short management and I was to work ops/ marketing manager position and demonstrate all of the duties. Had the last four gms try to push for a promotion for me.

    Advice to Management

    Advice for district, regional and all corporate. Promote within and give women a chance!

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 1, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you tremendously for your comments and candor! We will ensure that senior management sees your comments and concerns. Thank you again for taking the time to post your employee review here.


  6. Learn all you can, work hard, Loose Job

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Clerk in Woodburn, IN
    Former Employee - Cashier/Clerk in Woodburn, IN

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Working with good people (not management) and meeting the customers
    opened new store and was looking toward a future with this company

    Cons

    Training was faced paced and under informed - Not enough staff at times to Succeed at the customer service level - to many differing ways and wants of managers - to many promises with no truth in them - no real understanding of the issues when asked just a forced do this answer -
    trained other employees and then was dumped based on poor management

    Advice to Management

    Look at the people working and be more responsive to the real questions, Talk to you employees not at them - and listen to them not " hear what you want" - lost a good worker and a responsible one due to listening to other management that never listened or helped but confused the employees more

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 20, 2015External Communications Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. We also thank you for what you wrote in the 'Advice to Management' section. It's good to be reminded of those universal communications truths.


  7. Operations Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Richmond Hill, GA
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Richmond Hill, GA

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Really there are no Pros, at the beginning I thought I was making the best decision for me and my family.

    Cons

    Long hours, the pay may sound good at the time, but if you have a bad audit, you are working 5 days a week 12 hour shifts till the next audit, and audits are done every month. The 4 day work week sounds good at the time, but its only for a few weeks here and there, they find something to make you come into work. The location I was at, we were working 6 day work week, 10-12 hr days. By all means, if they ask you to cut fruit, while the bonus check for that was better than the store bonus, it really is not worth it. Now for the sad part, take the hours you work and divide it into your salary, and bam... your only making $12 and hour. Really truely think before you work for this company.

    Advice to Management

    Advice for the District and Regional, look at your managers, and ask why they are going through so many Ops Managers. The reason is because of YOUR GENERAL MANAGERS

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 21, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you for the frank feedback. We hope you'll also discuss this with your general and district managers.


  8. Entrepreneurial, positive culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Love's is a place where good ideas and work ethic win out, and it's an organization where the individuals with those ideas and a passion for them can see them through (within reason). Love's is family-owned, family-oriented and positive with a corporate culture that celebrates success but that always looks to the future.

    Cons

    Haven't encountered any significant issues.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the people who help the organization succeed.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Apr 23, 2015External Communications Manager

    Wow! Thank you for the awesome review.


  9. Helpful (1)

    run as far as you can!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Cashier in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    weekly pay,free drinks,50% off inside restaurant

    Cons

    first off working here is STRESSFULL!!!always short handed,the people i work with act like they are in high school and talk bad about other employees behind their backs and lots of gossip!,seems like every time you ask for help they roll their eyes at you like you are a bother to them (go figure),truck drivers can be rude at times and they think they are better than you

    Advice to Management

    better training!if you want people to stay then things gotta change..make sure employees help one another and not give out attitudes if someone needs help


  10. Helpful (1)

    General manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company. Employee benefits good. Fair reviews process. Upper managemt accessible

    Cons

    Terrible training. Lack of focus on details . Training GM didn't care if you got trained or not.

    Advice to Management

    Certify training managers

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    Apr 20, 2015External Communications Manager

    Thank you for the nice comments and the detailed, specific feedback. We will make sure your constructive criticisms are seen by our executives.


  11. Poor training and management

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lodi, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lodi, CA

    I worked at Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits may have been good

    Cons

    Lousy training program! Management yells in earpiece "what do you want" when you call for manager's help, inconsistent procedures at locations has new employees confused, give employees less than 10 days to say they aren't catching on never considering they weren't given proper training, management needs to treat people with respect and learn that they are there to support the employees not hide out in the office. Also your name is on your register and others may use it. Any mistakes made will be blamed on you!

    Advice to Management

    Watch the lower level mgmt staff. Make sure you train people before saying they aren't catching on. Be consistent in stores. Mgmt from other stores teach new people different procedures.

    Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Response

    May 5, 2015External Communications Manager

    We sure do thank you for your comments. Of course, we wish they were all positive -- but this is an opportunity for us to learn from what you have to say. We greatly appreciate the fact that you took ... More



Showing 130 of 132 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.