Marin Software Reviews

Updated April 19, 2015
59 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Growing pains

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The company is in an extended the growth phase, gives you options.

    Cons

    feels a little adhoc. Can get frastrating

    Advice to Management

    Focus on figuring out what marin does an why

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your patience during this time of change! We appreciate your hard work. As the field of search marketing has been evolving from targeting key words to targeting audiences, Marin is ... More

  2. Helpful (4)

    Good Software, Nice People

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Success Director in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Success Director in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The company office locations are great, the pay is competitive, and there are lot of young/smart people to collaborate with.

    Cons

    The company has seen a lot of turnover as of late which is a little worrisome. Seeing more stick around would help improve confidence.

    Advice to Management

    Change is a natural evolution but more consistency would help improve morale and focus.

    Marin Software Response

    Nov 14, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    And thank you for understanding that all companies must experience change. All of our changes are in an effort to lay a strong foundation for the future. We know
    ... More

  3. Helpful (12)

    Poor leadership, low employee morale, high turnover

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Once a fantastic company that valued its employees, where there was collaboration and mentorship, where people believed in the vision, the mission and the leadership.

    Cons

    With a few key hires put into executive level positions who had no business being there, the company unraveled and there has been significant loss of talent and an overall malaise amongst those remaining at SF headquarters and in satellite offices, Chicago and New York.

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately the horse has left the barn and the toxic environment that was created by leadership late last year has decimated many of the departments and has left them devoid of confidence in company management and outlook on the future

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Companies must experience change--especially in the immediate years after going public. All of our changes are in an effort to lay a strong foundation for the ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (6)

    Political atmosphere, high turnover with sudden departures, engineers keep their heads down.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Strong benefits, smart coworkers, great office location, execs can have title changes frequently if they complain enough,

    Cons

    Senior Management in ego fights with each other, lots of back-stabbing and they're invisible to engineering unless there's blame to cover up their own shortcomings. Customer Support is half the company - where's the investment to keep engineering talent?

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize the company or you won't have anyone strong to build and sell the product. What steps are you taking to retain employees?

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Hello! As with many companies in a similar phase of development as Marin, we are experiencing a lot of change, including change in senior management. These changes have been very positive, especially ... More

  6. Helpful (8)

    You can find a better job, keep looking

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great SF location, plenty of smart and friendly coworkers, decent (but not great) benefits

    Cons

    My manager was an absolute nightmare and several people quit or moved out of his department to get away from him. Exec leadership knew he was a very poor leader yet did absolutely nothing about it.

    Some departments are better than mine was, and deserving of 3 or maybe even 4 stars.

    The product is considered best-in-class, but it's a very boring product and there is no innovation to really improve upon what the ad platforms build. You will never be passionate about working at Marin.

    Advice to Management

    Marin management never listened to advice, so no point putting any here.

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion on this site. The number one reason why people leave a position is due to a bad experience with a manager. Our company is in a very hot space in ... More

  7. Helpful (6)

    Lots of turnover, boring product, but decent work-life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Marin Software full-time

    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Work-life balance. For a medium-sized company in the Bay Area, I would say their work-life balance is fairly decent. Usually I don't have an issue working just the expected 8 hours per day.

    Unlimited sick leave + 15 days of PTO

    Decent salary, decent kitchen/stocked fridge

    Depending on your luck, you could have an awesome manager, tech lead and interesting projects.

    QA get all the window seats

    Not much in the ways of crazy politics, backstabbing colleagues, etc. In fact, I found quite a few friends here.

    Cons

    Almost no one works remotely and this is only done if you're sick. This is somewhat of an issue - although there is unlimited sick leave, there's often the expectation that we work from home while we are sick.

    No 401k matching.

    High turnover. A lot of the senior employees are leaving, leaving fewer people to mentor the new hires. This is made worse by the fact that Marin likes to hire new college grads who often need training, but lack the right mentors (since so many are leaving).

    Not particularly Agile at all. There is often bureaucracy that stops Agile in its tracks, despite this not being a big company.

    The micromanaging tendencies of a few have quite possibly led to more than one employee choosing to leave.

    Certain teams are understaffed and overworked and Marin does not seem to be trying very hard to recruit in those areas. This should certainly take priority over hiring more new grads.

    Advice to Management

    Actively recruit some senior engineers who understand the tech stack well to replace those who are leaving.
    Get rid of people who simply micromanage and do not contribute to the product.

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    To address your concerns:
    We do allow people to work remotely if it is prearranged with their manager. It is the preference to work on-site as in-person collaboration is often more effective.
    As
    ... More

  8. One of the better companies in the bay area

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Significant number of opportunities for career cultivation. Most promotions come from within and transferring departments or roles is common.
    Great healthcare.
    Benefits are strong, I'm sure they'll get even better once we hit profitability.
    Convenient offices worldwide. All of them seem to be in great locations.
    Market leading product and improving.

    Cons

    The biggest challenge is the march towards profitability and how lean we have to be in client facing roles. It's not uncommon to handle 25-30 accounts, some people manage as many as 40. This really hurts our ability to deliver best in class service. As an employee, it's unfair at times because your clients don't see how under water you are and your reputation is on the line.

    Marin Software Response

    Nov 14, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    We're so glad to hear that you have enjoyed working with us thus far. All of our offices actually have a walkability score falling between 96-100 (with 100 being
    ... More

  9. Helpful (2)

    Growing company and a lot of opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Engagement Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Customer Engagement Manager in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Global company - 14 office across the world. Certain employees get to fly out to San Francisco for new hire training. They invest in their office spaces and employees - which means offices with great views in prime locations. Lots of cool perks like $75 per diem while traveling on business, stocked kitchens, and great benefits. Really cool offices and have a laid back atmosphere. Great training program and room to grow. Good work life balance. Rewarded for working hard. Fun events like sand volleyball leagues.

    Cons

    Competitive, they are known to fire people for underperforming (but that comes with any job). They do not match 401Ks. Parking can be expensive (but they pay for half of commuting and parking costs).

    Marin Software Response

    Nov 14, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    We're so glad to hear that you have enjoyed working with us thus far. Austin is definitely a very fun office to be part of.

  10. Helpful (3)

    Pretty Alright overall

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    In my position, my boss is super nice and flexible, making for a very enjoyable work environment. The company also tries to do a lot of team building and fun activities.

    Cons

    In the multiple years I have been there I have not been given a raise of any kind, not even cost of living. I would have to move positions to get a pay increase and none of the other positions are nearly as flex. (And mgmt in osome positions can come off as a bit shady and are people I would not want to work for)

    Marin Software Response

    Oct 7, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    Over the past year we have been implementing performance reviews which should lead to raises and promotions for those that merit them. Please reach out to HR if
    ... More

  11. Helpful (3)

    Growing company but lacks in many ways

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Always very flexible, small perks, great location, strong product in the current market

    Cons

    Boring, dull workspace, not as good benefits as other startups in the area, not much of a culture in its community

    Marin Software Response

    Aug 11, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    Your comment about not having much of a culture in its community is an interesting point and we would love to hear your suggestions about how we can improve it
    ... More

Work at Marin Software? Share Your Experiences

Marin Software

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.