Marin Software

  www.marinsoftware.com
  www.marinsoftware.com

Marin Software Reviews in San Francisco, CA

Updated November 26, 2014
Updated November 26, 2014
49 Reviews
3.5
49 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Marin Software Chief Executive Officer David A. Yovanno
David A. Yovanno
5 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Growing pains

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is in an extended the growth phase, gives you options.

    Cons

    feels a little adhoc. Can get frastrating

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on figuring out what marin does an why

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your patience during this time of change! We appreciate your hard work. As the field of search marketing has been evolving from targeting key words to targeting audiences, Marin is ... More

  2. 9 people found this helpful  

    Poor leadership, low employee morale, high turnover

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Once a fantastic company that valued its employees, where there was collaboration and mentorship, where people believed in the vision, the mission and the leadership.

    Cons

    With a few key hires put into executive level positions who had no business being there, the company unraveled and there has been significant loss of talent and an overall malaise amongst those remaining at SF headquarters and in satellite offices, Chicago and New York.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Unfortunately the horse has left the barn and the toxic environment that was created by leadership late last year has decimated many of the departments and has left them devoid of confidence in company management and outlook on the future

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Companies must experience change--especially in the immediate years after going public. All of our changes are in an effort to lay a strong foundation for the ... More

  3. 3 people found this helpful  

    Good Software, Nice People

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Success Director in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Success Director in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The company office locations are great, the pay is competitive, and there are lot of young/smart people to collaborate with.

    Cons

    The company has seen a lot of turnover as of late which is a little worrisome. Seeing more stick around would help improve confidence.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Change is a natural evolution but more consistency would help improve morale and focus.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Nov 14, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    And thank you for understanding that all companies must experience change. All of our changes are in an effort to lay a strong foundation for the future. We know
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    Political atmosphere, high turnover with sudden departures, engineers keep their heads down.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Strong benefits, smart coworkers, great office location, execs can have title changes frequently if they complain enough,

    Cons

    Senior Management in ego fights with each other, lots of back-stabbing and they're invisible to engineering unless there's blame to cover up their own shortcomings. Customer Support is half the company - where's the investment to keep engineering talent?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stabilize the company or you won't have anyone strong to build and sell the product. What steps are you taking to retain employees?

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Dec 4, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Hello! As with many companies in a similar phase of development as Marin, we are experiencing a lot of change, including change in senior management. These changes have been very positive, especially ... More

  6.  

    One of the better companies in the bay area

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Significant number of opportunities for career cultivation. Most promotions come from within and transferring departments or roles is common.
    Great healthcare.
    Benefits are strong, I'm sure they'll get even better once we hit profitability.
    Convenient offices worldwide. All of them seem to be in great locations.
    Market leading product and improving.

    Cons

    The biggest challenge is the march towards profitability and how lean we have to be in client facing roles. It's not uncommon to handle 25-30 accounts, some people manage as many as 40. This really hurts our ability to deliver best in class service. As an employee, it's unfair at times because your clients don't see how under water you are and your reputation is on the line.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Nov 14, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    We're so glad to hear that you have enjoyed working with us thus far. All of our offices actually have a walkability score falling between 96-100 (with 100 being
    ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Not bad for an enterprise software company. Fun culture in the early days but grew stale and underpaying its employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Nice office, good views, decent managers.

    Cons

    Boring work, pays relatively low.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Innovate and act like a Silicon Valley firm

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Marin Software Response

    Aug 11, 2014Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback!
    We're glad to hear that you liked the office and managers.
    Your advice to "Innovate and act like a Silicon Valley firm," is something that Marin Software does
    ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Stable Release Process

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Very stable and regular release process. Stakeholders understand the value of quality code and unit testing and the dangers of scope creep, which is almost non-existent.

    Cons

    Working on a large, mature web application, technical progress can seem slow sometimes.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Great company to grow and learn

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Data Researcher in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Data Researcher in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Marin Software as a contractor (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great environment to work in with lots of young smart, talented professionals.

    Cons

    Convenient location in downtown San Francisco and with a stocked fridge and snack bar.

    Recommends
  10.  

    Great experience in the Silicon Valley

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Junior Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Junior Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software as an intern (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great working atmosphere, very nice colleagues.
    A lot of flexibility for working hours as long as the work is done.
    I was given a lot of freedom handling my internship project (research on online bidding algorithms).

    Cons

    No lunch provided, only dinner 2 times a week.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
  11. 3 people found this helpful  

    Nepotism and Post-IPO Woes

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - N/A in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - N/A in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Marin Software full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    strong brand, good location, solid benefits

    Cons

    Company suffering from incessant nepotism and change of management. HR is clueless. Product has lacked innovation for some time.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get back to grassroots. Poor executive hiring is forcing current talent to find less abusive employers. Not ok way you're treating ppl who've dedicated years to mission/vision.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Marin Software? Share Your Experiences

Marin Software

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.