Mark Travel Reviews

Updated September 12, 2014
Updated September 12, 2014
25 Reviews
2.7
25 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
William E. La Macchia
14 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great company to learn about the travel industry.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great vacation packages. Training is done very well and new employees are given feedback to achieve call center standards,

    Cons

    Travel Benefits are not offered as frequently as in the past. TMTC President Bill La Macchia has been a great innovator in vacation travel packages, however most people book their vacation packages through the internet instead of wholsalers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Offering more Fam trips would be a great way for employees to experience the destinations and hotels offered. Reservation agents should recieve higher compensation, better benefits. I expect that the Mark Travel reposnse will be the "corporate" response that the salary and benefits package are comparable to other companies in the Orlando area.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Aug 11, 2014Human Resources

    Hello,

    Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you think the Customer Care training is done well and will continue to make sure that is the case. We do still offer a plethora of great travel
    ... More

  2.  

    A company more interested in its own growth rather than it's employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist III in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist III in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    In a good part of Milwaukee, decent benefits

    Cons

    Horrible hours, they manipulate you into taking different positions based on the company's need, but fail to mention said position will not allow for an easy move of departments or promotion, per handbook if an employee has an occurrence they are ineligible for a promotion however certain employees don't apply for some reason, allegedly per HR cannot apply to multiple positions at once internally and be considered yet once again same employees who are given promotions with occurrences also are allowed to forgo this rule, it is an office culture of seniority, those who have worked the longest are allowed to slack off while the newer employees must suffer through ridiculous schedules and carry the company on their back, many instances of people coming in late or leaving early but their supervisor will "take care of it" while others get fired for same practices, favorites are picked and if you don't play the kiss up game even if you work harder than everyone else and by the rules, you will get nowhere. The most knowledgable in their positions are pidgeonholed for the company's benefit at a low wage. Paid time off was nearly impossible to get approved unless sporadic days off are how you prefer to spend your vacation time. Promotions are given on the back end without compensation or letting the employee know, just pile on the responsibilities without approval.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees' complaints, don't just hear them. Many innovative ideas are thought of daily, but everyone stuck in a process that clearly isn't working. Practice EEO considering it is the law or update your handbook as to compliment the actions you take with certain processes. Get all of the departments on the same page and become autonomous. Reward those who work hard not those who have been in the same position for years and thus feel like they have nothing to prove anymore.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Sep 18, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We really value hearing from our team members, both current and former, because it helps us improve. We are glad to hear positive feedback on our benefits and we are ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Very Stressful, but Opportunities Given & Experience Gained is Irreplaceable

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mark Travel full-time

    Pros

    -Many opportunities for advancement within the company
    -Great job if you're looking to start your career
    -You gain power to make influential decisions in a very short period of time
    -Creative freedom to an extent
    -Mostly everyone is very nice
    -I am extremely comfortable around my co-workers and consider many of them my friends
    -casual attire
    -4 weeks PTO if you've been there for a year

    Cons

    -Some executives don't have a good understanding of the task load so some people get out at 5 every single day while others are there until 6-8 most nights
    -It is a very fast pace industry
    -You have to be able to handle stress & not get overwhelmed easily
    -have to be willing to put in late nights if you are one of the unlucky ones
    -Low pay, especially for how hard you'll work
    -Benefits are not great by any means: very high deductibles

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop preaching about wellness when some people in the company don't even have time to take a lunch and stay late most nights...

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014corporate communications manager

    Hello,
    While we are glad to hear you feel your work experience at TMTC is valuable and that your team works well together, we want to make sure you have a good work-life balance. In such a dynamic
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5. 4 people found this helpful  

    My experience at TMTC was the worst. I wish I would have left when I first wanted to leave.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Accounting in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Accounting in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    I do not have any real pros to offer.

    Cons

    The benefits are good, compensation is very low & time off is ok if you brown nose with the hire ups. Some people are able to dress like slobs while others have a dress code, which should all be the same, since we are all in the same company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management needs to listen to what is going on around them, such as talking, laughing & carrying on so other people are disrupted and cannot do their job properly. There is too much gossip going on in the company & if you are not in the "click", then you better watch out, because you will be turned against by your co-workers. Also, they will be rude to you, when they are able to & then when told to not be rude, they all of a sudden turn a 180. Then it starts all over & back to the silent treatments.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    We’re sorry you did not have a good experience as a team member here. Thank you for bringing your concerns about work disruption to our attention.
    We do review compensation to be competitive and
    ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Need New Reservations Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at Mark Travel full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company overall is a good place to work and has expanded it's wellness program. The vacation packages and the core values of the company are very good and the company is one of the best in leisure travel packages. The president of the company is very personable and is always interested in talking to his employees as friends. The upper management is doing a good job but is not aware of some of the corrupt things that are going on in the other building. This problem should have been handled a long time ago, and the bottom line would have doubled, but dead weight is bringing everything down.

    Cons

    Mark Travel use to be a good company to work for. Over the past 5 years the company has gone downhill in that there are dishonest supervisors in the reservations department. This department has been a revolving door for a very long time due to the fact that the current manager has no education or previous work experience, and does not know how to communicate effectively with people. Actually bullies employees.
    Certain supervisors are allowed to get away with lying and cheating people, and the manager will make up excuses for this behavior, side with them and turn a blind eye.
    The result is a constant turnover of dissatisfied employees, who end up going someplace else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It is time to look at the reasons why the company is getting bad reviews for being a revolving door in reservations. It is time to hire some new and qualified individuals who possess deductive reasoning and advanced coordination skills that will put the company back on tract in this department. A bullying manager is not keeping things running smoothly and is alienating employees, instead of fostering an upward trend.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    We are glad you feel TMTC is overall a good place to work, but are disappointed to hear your feedback on this manager. We encourage you to talk with your HR manager about your experiences with the ... More

  7.  

    Not as good as it used to be.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers and most of the supervisors are friendly. The work is interesting. For the most part it is a good work environment.

    Cons

    I have watched this company invest less and less in training as the years pass. This seems to be a company wide problem, and leaves many people not able to effectively do their job. There also seems to be a disconnect between the top management and the people really trying to fulfill their policies. And there still is quite a bit of nepotism.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Start with good training, by people that know how to teach, not just someone off the floor.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    While we’re glad that you enjoyed the work environment, we are taking into consideration your concerns regarding appropriate training. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    If you want to work in fear this is the place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mark Travel full-time

    Pros

    1. Great strategic tools, shame as not all employees get the benefit of being trained on these.
    2. Great Wellness program
    3. Co workers were great people, almost like family, willingness to help always
    4. The owner Bill Snr is a very respected gentleman, always stops in his tracks to ask how you are. Superb person just wish his son was like that but complete opposite.

    Cons

    1. A lot of poorly ran departments.
    2. The owners son is a complete nut job, screams at employees, if you so much as don't share into his idea he fires you on the spot.
    3. Poor salaries, poor health ins! poor management! poor raises.
    4. There are always changes being made or different kinds so paperwork to fill out, but no one actually takes the time to monitor or track how well something is doing. No efficiency in this company at all.
    5. I have known a lot of employees who have left ad things have got so bad, a lot I know have been hospitalized due to anxiety, migraines and stress.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bill Junior quit your day job please, you are not capable of running this company like your father did. Bill Senior is a top guy, a true legend and bill junior is no match.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    We are glad you find our operating system and tools helpful and we do make an effort to schedule quarterly training for team members who may use them in their daily work. Bill La Macchia is still the ... More

  9.  

    Good place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Internet Marketing Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Internet Marketing Manager in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive senior management for new initiatives.

    Cons

    Define processes better for overall improvement.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good job

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for the review! We are glad you had a good experience.

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Was once a great place to work BUT has gone downhill since 2009

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Reservation Lead in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Reservation Lead in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Mark Travel full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Used to be the travel Benefits on airline partners and hotels. The fun we used to have on FAMs, Good benefits, health, 401K match, vacation time and schedule flexibility

    Cons

    The travel benefits are gone, staff has been cut significantly, (I was there 18 years before they cut me). Internet travel access has brought a competition that they can not match. I have been told schedules have been less liberal because of cuts

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Replace Jr. and bring back the Original CEO, Develop a new direction by taking the Expedia model and have a large presence in the brick n mortar as well as cyber markets

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    We are disappointed to see that you believe the company is going downhill. Our travel benefits are still active and many team members take advantage of those offers. We are a growing company and ... More

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    Used to be an amazing place to work but not so much anymore

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at Mark Travel full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Focus on wellness
    Fun product to sell and work on
    Some employees have been there for over 20 years
    Senior/upper managers are beloved by employees
    Do promote from within
    Generous time off policy
    Other benefits are fair
    Good place for entry level employees to get experience

    Cons

    Unexperienced managers
    Focus on poor performers, not on rewarding good employees
    People who do stick around because they are afraid to move - otherwise sometimes frequent turnover
    No understanding by management of workloads - results in some employees over worked while others do very little
    Minimal increases and often no increase for years
    Old boys network- while there are some upper managers who are women they have been there for years, otherwise men seem to move up much more quickly
    Work could be done from home allowing for more flexibility but they can't seem to make this work

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Reward and recognize good talent, address problem employees consistently, offer more flexible schedules and ways to work from home to make work more appealing

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Mark Travel Response

    Jul 17, 2014Human Resources

    Hello,
    It's great to hear you appreciate the focus on wellness, our time off policy and the overall work experience. We hear your concern about recognition and do believe a work-life balance is
    ... More

Work at Mark Travel? Share Your Experiences

Mark Travel

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.