Masonicare

  www.masonicare.org
  www.masonicare.org

Masonicare Reviews

Updated December 15, 2014
Updated December 15, 2014
17 Reviews
3.7
17 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Stephen B. McPherson
13 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Patient's always were top priority.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Wallingford, CT
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Wallingford, CT

    I worked at Masonicare part-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nursing Supervisor, kind,excellent morals and values. Ongoing education, in-servicing frequently.Work-life balance could at times be not so balanced, as assignments change's were frequent according to patient need's. Loved teaching patients and family member's regarding illness/recovery. Hospice and palliative nursing excellent. The training in Wallingford was so much fun and really informative.

    Cons

    Small office, difficult at times to concentrate. Little to much backstabbing at times. However the supervisor had quick control of situation. Unfortunately at times some of the case manager's tended to hand off "the difficult patient's" to the lpn's very frequently. Also there was favortism among the home health aides. Many times the aides would say "well if the scheduler didn't like you for whatever reason you won't get the hours".

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Just a thought....Before jumping the gun to terminate an employee, a meeting would be very helpful. Sometimes in life there is much more than meet's the eye. Instead of punitive action, question if the same issue's keep creeping backup. A little kindness goes a long way. I wish that had happened to me. I loved that job

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Mediocre and at some points terrible

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Support Specialist in Wallingford, CT
    Current Employee - Business Support Specialist in Wallingford, CT

    I have been working at Masonicare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great Invironment
    Allowed to work independently
    Lots of room for movement, even if it is slow.

    Cons

    Undervalued and Opinions are not considered by upper management, even when they hold a special meeting to adress concerns.

    Horrible pay I was offered a full time position at 12hr. Turns out my part time coworkers are making 13-16.

    Horrible sensitive information keeping. I stumbled across a document that contained pay's and social security numbers.

    Terrible mangement of PTO, paid time off, no option to not use it. Everything is lumped into it, i.e Sick time, scheduled and unscheduled time off, personal days. etc

    Since I've been here, I've watched three supervisors get fired and walked out with no cause.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Value those who work in your offices. Without us the company wouldnt be able to function. For someone with a college degree, We deserve more than a starting base pay of 12hr, especially when your part time employees make more without a college degree.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Masonicare Response

    Dec 22, 2014Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback. Employee satisfaction is very important to us, and we welcome the opportunity to attempt to address your concerns. I would encourage you to engage your affiliate HR ... More

  3.  

    It Was Once The Best

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Wallingford, CT
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Wallingford, CT

    I worked at Masonicare full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Everything for senior needs on one convenient campus from luxury retirement, senior housing, assisted living, medical offices, audiology, acute care, etc. Ideal location. Dedicated staff. Until recently it was the best place to work or live.

    Cons

    Recent cut backs, change in administration has had a negative impact on Masonicare culture. With an increased work load, there is not much time left over to have relationships with residents which is the most therapeutic part of delivering care to human beings. They are not plants to be watered and fed! No one knows who is going to be fired next which drives an atmosphere of paranoia.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pushing a corporate culture that you picked up at another facility does not work. Masonicare had an exceptional culture without "kindness badges" and phoney rhetoric that management does not follow in being kind or empathetic to staff. It is obvious that you are saving money in healthcare so you can build expensive private pay communities that will fail in this economy. Management is patronizing and does not consider the experience or expertise of the staff and many times they lecture on implementing procedures and they are completely ignorant.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Masonicare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    High morals, high customer and staff values

    Cons

    supervisors in other off site offices are horrible!

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    management and nursing against cna's.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - CNA in Wallingford, CT
    Former Employee - CNA in Wallingford, CT

    I worked at Masonicare part-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great residents and co-workers. O.K. pay.

    Cons

    Management, most of Nursing, unfair distribution of work hours.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your CNA"S, we love our residents and we are not the enemy. Try teamwork, we do. Nursing is not always right, they try to hang the CNA's for their mistakes. Not all but a majority. Could be a great place to work. It was when I first started, then shifted around, got rid of wrong people and replaced with poor substitutes who do not practice teamwork!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Masonicare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for your review of Masonicare. We appreciate your feedback and will use this information in our on-going continuous improvement efforts.

  7.  

    Ashlar Village Dining Room Staff

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Masonicare

    Pros

    Work with great people
    flexible hours

    Cons

    management has no clue what they are doing

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    more organization

    Doesn't Recommend

    Masonicare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and your comments are very important to us. Since you posted this review in April 2014, there have been some changes in ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Masonicare is a wonderful place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager

    I have been working at Masonicare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, family type culture, work/life balance, competitive salary. Leadership values it's field staff and the work we do.

    Cons

    I don't feel there are any cons to speak of!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Masonicare Response

    Oct 29, 2014Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback! Keep up the good work!

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - CNA in Newtown, CT
    Current Employee - CNA in Newtown, CT

    I have been working at Masonicare part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The benefits the company offers are great. As a whole, the company does show appreciation for employees. Beautiful campus.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like your concerns aren't being heard by your direct management team. In one ear and out the other.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Spend some time getting to know your employees on ALL shifts and hearing their concerns. It's hard to develop a rapport with someone you don't see on a daily basis.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Masonicare Response

    Dec 9, 2013Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback and for your commitment to the care of our Masonicare at Newtown patients and residents! Masonicare does value our employees and we love to hear that our employees can ... More

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Great place to work!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wallingford, CT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wallingford, CT

    I have been working at Masonicare full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The employees of Masonicare truly care for the residents and patients. I have never seen such a positive work environment. Leaving my previous job in "Corporate America" to come work for Masonicare was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

    Cons

    Technology is lagging a little but they're working on improving things.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Thanks for all the little things management does from the ice cream socials all the way up to the employee appreciation event! Keep it up, we appreciate it very much.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Masonicare Response

    Nov 22, 2013Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. It is always nice to hear from newer employees that they feel they have made the right choice in joining the Masonicare family.

  11.  

    You will be more than just a number at Masonicare

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Masonicare full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employees are treated like human beings. Contributions are recognized and appreciated. Most staff have a positive outlook and are helpful towards one another.

    Cons

    Technologically speaking, Masonicare would be considered highly advanced ... if we were located in Bangladesh. But the company is aware of the problem and is taking steps to bring us into the 21st century.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to focus on ways to maintain and lift employee morale across all affiliates, clinical and non-clinical.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Work at Masonicare? Share Your Experiences

Masonicare

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.