MasterCard Reviews

Updated July 2, 2015
393 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

393 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Interesting work, competitive compensation, development opportunities and good people. Company is undergoing a lot of change - individuals can make an impact. Strong executive management. Good work-life integration.

    Cons

    Company is undergoing a lot of change, which can be hard to navigate. No priorities at the senior management level (need to be everything to everyone) and execution is unrealistic. Company needs more diversity at all levels.

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 23, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your time and attention to writing this review. Your candor helps our Brand build for the future. Thank you.


  2. The best induction process I've witnessed and it's evident that this company care about their staff

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in Peterborough, England (UK)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Career progression, personal growth, morale, communication

    Cons

    Large company culture means it's difficult to stay on top of changes


  3. Smart, Talented Individuals - Company progressing very well

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits, vacation, 401k, holidays. If working for the right manager, life is very good. Much room for advancement, coaching and education are encouraged.

    Cons

    Some high-level management have no business "managing" people. Complaints are put back on the lower-level management, who end up stuck in the middle with no alternative but to move to another position. If you are friends with one of these high-level managers, you're in - if not, better looki for another position. On the other side of the house, there aren't many promotions in current positions (even as you grow) unless you apply to a higher level.

    Advice to Management

    HR should listen to their employees, not simply nod and say "I understand." That does not produce results. When People Effectiveness Survey results are published to management and HR 1. Commend those with high results and 2. Deal withi those who have low results. Don't ignore them.

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 8, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thank you for your candid remarks. We take reviews and our employee surveys seriously to garner insight for continuous improvement!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great Exprience!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - Great work culture and ethics
    - Takes care of its employees
    - Decent complensation

    Cons

    - Employees could get few more benefits

    Advice to Management

    n.a.

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 2, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Hearing positive feedback on our culture feels great! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.


  6. Great company to work for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Compensation very competitive, solid management team, loads of career opportunity, company truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    A great deal of lateral opportunity, but can be challenging to find upward opportunity especially at senior management level, at times management is not as transparent as they should be

    Advice to Management

    Become slightly less risk averse, beat Visa to the punch, continue to focus on emerging payment opportunities

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your thoughts - an open, transparent culture is a winning one!


  7. Helpful (1)

    wonderful experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    So far my thoughts about Mastercard are very positive. The people and the environment is very friendly. The employees really are commited to the organiztion and management sees it. I can say that I am proud to be a part of this company and look forward to seeing the future here. I would for sure tell friends and family that this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I have seen

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 19, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    So glad that your early experience is so positive! Thanks for sharing....


  8. Admirable Culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The companies culture is extremely impressive. I have worked as a contractor for a little over a year and recently became an employee and couldnt be happier. I worked for another company based in St. Louis for 5 years and they are night/day with MasterCard. There is lots of employee appreciation and a also a committement to employee growth.

    Cons

    Any time you are working in IT there will be lots of challenges with the work which can be stressful at times. The only thing is it is very hard to come into this company as an employee without knowing someone first.

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 6, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Culture is a key driver when people consider working for any Brand - thanks for your thoughts!


  9. Good Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Fast Paced, Good work environment, if you work hard you get rewarded. Good tuition reimbursement, pays for certifications and training.

    Cons

    You may have to work overtime, not everyone works hard.

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 22, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your review - we are happy that you gave some insight into our culture!


  10. Excellent company with a dynamic CEO who has led the company thru significant growth and positive cultural change.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Solid business model with focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    Cons

    Overall, excellent place to work, but sometimes organization is hard to navigate despite being relatively small with 8,000 employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 22, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your comprehensive and positive review - an insider perspective is valuable!


  11. Great place to work

    Current Employee - Business Leader in Purchase, NY
    Current Employee - Business Leader in Purchase, NY

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities exist if you are proactive in finding them and building your network internally. The company has clearly laid out its strategy going forward and has been well received by our customers and shareholders.

    Cons

    None to report at this time



Showing 393 of 426 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.