Medtronic
3.4 of 5 711 reviews
www.medtronic.com Minneapolis, MN 5000+ Employees

Medtronic Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.4 711 reviews

                             

83% Approve of the CEO

Medtronic Chairman and CEO Omar S. Ishrak

Omar S. Ishrak

(206 ratings)

73% of employees recommend this company to a friend
711 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in

Review Highlights

Pros:
  • "The work-life balance is manageable across most functions and the compensation is competitive"
    in 33 reviews
  • "Great benefits with one of the best overall retirement packages of any Fortune 500 company"
    in 58 reviews
Cons:
  • "To much no work life balance needed additional money for training patients"
    in 26 reviews
  • "upper management chooses downsizing staff as means for cost cutting"
    in 23 reviews
  • Show more review highlights

Reviews

    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Horrible!!!

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsCompany name holds some weight; benefits were good; time off was a joke!!

    ConsTerrible training department and system. Right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing in any department, especially training and management. Would NOT recommend to work there!!!

    Advice to Senior ManagementKnow what's going on with your team, i.e. what they are doing and selling, what the latest regulations are.
    May want to have a few compliance and harassment courses to make sure the company understands what these things are.....

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    2 people found this helpful  

    Consistently changing

    StartRight Representative (Current Employee)
    San Antonio, TX

    ProsI really enjoy the building environment & the people are great! The benefits are excellent!

    ConsThe challenges of working here is with Poor Leadership with false promises. Communication is slim to none. Medtronic promotes many people into leadership positions that do not have leadership experience. This company is mostly a "who you know," company. This creates challenges of working with leaders who do not listen to their employees and creates low morale. Also Personal Time Off needs more of a fix. Medtronic only allows 40 hours of PTO, and many employees prefer a different approach. Promotions are based on "who you," and sometimes seen as unfair in some departments.

    Advice to Senior ManagementListen to your employees and give them what they want. Create career plans. Create more promotions in the work place and do not promise things to your employees if you cannot give it to them.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    In the process of looking for a new job.

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsThe mission of Medtronic is wonderful and the desire to help customers with diabetes is what keeps me going. The benefits are very good considering they just raised in price.

    ConsThere is lack of direction, lack of loyalty, lack of promoting those who truly deserve to be promoted. In 5 years of hard work for this company I have only received a 2% raise each year. I question whether or not if this is the right place for me. I have a feeling I will not only improve financially by leaving Medtronic but I will grow in ways I cannot at this company.

    Advice to Senior ManagementBe fair to those who work hard.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
  • We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    3 people found this helpful  

    Where are we going?

    Senior R&D Engineer (Current Employee)
    Northridge, CA

    ProsGreat Company. it has OK pay.

    ConsBad Management. Few selected people get everything.

    Advice to Senior ManagementManaging cost and people should go together and not against each other. Stop favoritism.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Disapproves of CEO

     

    sales representative

    Sales Representative (Former Employee)

    ProsPay, Culture, teamwork, promotion,personal growth, perks

    ConsThey will Black Ball you from the industry

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Add Employer Response Flag Review
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Excellent experience, but they manage people resources poorly

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)
    Minneapolis, MN

    ProsPlenty of extremely smart people makes it a great place to learn and grow. Company culture emphasizes work-life balance and the trust that you will get your work done. Everyone is extremely committed to the mission and to helping improve peoples' lives.

    ConsMedtronic has the interesting practice of training all of their interns to go off and work for St. Jude and Boston Scientific; they do not hire anyone out of college. Frequent layoffs. They do not invest in young talent at all, which seems like a bad strategy for long-term growth. They do not have any loyalty towards their employees, everyone seems expendable.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

     

    Mediocre

    Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

    ProsGood Salary and Bonus and occasional stock grants

    ConsFrequent Layoffs, Company has thin product pipeline of its own and tries to grow with Acquisition of venture companies, many of which fail at hefty costs. Leadership is quite entrenched and is difficult to break in.

    Advice to Senior ManagementDevelop your own R&D and try to hire good engineers from good engineering schools and not IVY league MBA schools.

    No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • No Opinion of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Great company with a great mission.

    Anonymous (Former Employee)

    ProsBenefits, employee friendly, decent pay.

    ConsCan be very political. Uses a lot of contractors versus investing in building employee base and loyalty.

    Advice to Senior ManagementListen to your employees they have great ideas.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Comp & Benefits
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Engineering Manager

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsGreat mission. Strong relations. Great company.

    ConsNeed more opportunity to share manufacturing visions.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
    • Culture & Values
           
    • Work/Life Balance
           
    • Senior Management
           
    • Career Opportunities
           
    • Approves of CEO

    1 person found this helpful  

    Be patient and open-minded, and you'll gain a lot from the experience

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    Pros-Flexible work schedule (just make sure you communicate and depends on supervisor)
    -Feel like I'm part of the team
    -Get to attend meetings and have resources to learn more about company
    -Friendly people -- everyone is willing to help answer questions

    Cons-Everything seems overwhelming at first (be a quick learner and you'll be ok)

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes | No
    Flag Review
    Medtronic Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review May 15, 2014 EditDelete
    We appreciate your feedback, both constructive and positive so thank you for taking the time to share your experience
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for Medtronic? Contribute to the Community!

Medtronic Videos

Loading...

Medtronic – Why Work for Us?

Medtronic is the world’s largest medical technology company, offering an unprecedented breadth and depth of innovative therapies to fulfill our Mission of alleviating pain, restoring health, and extending life. Last… Full Overview

Provided by employer [?]

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at Medtronic reviews and ratings — including employee satisfaction and approval rating for Medtronic CEO Omar S. Ishrak. All 711 reviews posted anonymously by Medtronic employees.