Merkle Reviews

Updated July 23, 2015
241 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.1
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Merkle Chairman and CEO David Williams
David Williams
162 Ratings

Pros
  • Worked with some very smart people who really care about doing a great job (in 34 reviews)

  • Work/life balance: Availability to work from home occasionally really helps with work/life balance (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • poor work life balance leadership are fine (in 17 reviews)

  • Senior management is constantly changing policies, and never really setting clear expectations or boundaries, instead it is left open to interpretation (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

241 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Lots of opportunity grow. Upper management is very approachable and helpful.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Charlottesville, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Charlottesville, VA

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great management, snack closet, fun team building events off and on site, catered meals occasionally

    Cons

    Sometimes work load can really build up, but you have all the tools to get it done.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We appreciate your thoughts and comments. Thanks for sharing!


  2. Good people for digital strategy & optimization

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Merkle full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    More than 25% of the workforce works remotely, fast paced, good (not great) support from offshore teams

    Cons

    Most groups you work in feel like cliques and you need to get into the right groups to get visibility, everyone is Director, Sr. Director or VP...so you are constantly left playing to their demands

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customer needs and create unique value proposition for them, make sure your strategists are paying attention to what is going on and ensure you deliver data driven insights and actionable recommendations...

    Merkle Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for recognizing our strengths and providing insight into some weaknesses. We're so happy that overall you enjoy working at Merkle!


  3. Operations Analyst

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Little Rock, AR

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Regular salary increases if you perform, plenty of very smart coworkers, flexible hours, great culture for the most part

    Cons

    Expect to work a lot, recognition can be hard to come by depending on the assignment, corporate initiatives change regularly as management changes

    Merkle Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We are happy to hear you're feeling appreciated and are, for the most part, enjoying your time at Merkle. Thank you also for your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Senior Database Developer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlborough, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlborough, MA

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming work culture and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Compensation and work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Plan better before hand to avoid last minute rushes into Development/ testing/ Delivery.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We work hard to build a team and environment that our employees will enjoy. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and sharing your feedback.


  6. Growing Company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Merkle full-time

    Pros

    Merkle provides the employees with lots of training and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Because it is such a large company now with new acquisitions, it's difficult to fully understand all of the company's offerings.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to educate and keep the employees up to date with all the company offerings.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    This is great to hear! We're so glad you're getting value from the training and professional development opportunities provided at Merkle. We'll do our absolute best to continue to keep our employees ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    Growing pains but Growing none the less

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Little Rock, AR
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Little Rock, AR

    I have been working at Merkle (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Progressive culture that promotes work life balance. Sometimes you have to be assertive about work life balance.

    Cons

    Salaries are low and not very transparent or structured within the company as a whole. For world class talent that Merkle supposedly boasts, salaries do not seem competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Growing is good but focus some of the profit reinvestment in the employees instead of just acquisitions.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We think your title sums it up! We are dedicated to growing our business and providing more opportunities to our employees. Thanks for hanging in there with us as we evolve and continue to improve ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    Empty Promises and Flat-Out Lies

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Work with good people. Experience and clients are good resume builders. Time off policy, if you have a good manager.

    Cons

    My company was acquired by Merkle a little over a year ago. Early on there was a lot of big talk about career opportunities and salary adjustments- two issues that were already sore spots prior to being acquired. A year in we have fewer opportunities to advance and there have been no salary increases. In fact, I'm on track to make less this year than last since we no longer have bonuses and benefits are more expensive. What has increased are stress, workloads and the number of pointless meetings and trainings. Prior to being acquired we suffered from some pretty typical young/start-up company problems, e.g. low pay, little opportunity, lack of experienced leadership, little structure or organization and ever changing direction. Many of us hoped that Merkle would help in those areas, but instead we have kept all of our old problems and added the red tape, bureaucracy and cold calculus of a big, bottom-line driven company.

    Advice to Management

    You are only as good as your word, which is pretty bad so far. Scrap the culture book, it's something between aspirational and propaganda, but it's not reality and just highlights how far short Merkle falls of being the company it markets itself as.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We appreciate your honest feedback of your experience with us. There are things we could do better and we hope you'll see our efforts and witness improvements.


  9. Helpful (4)

    Hopeless leadership, don't fall for their BS

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Merkle

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Pay is ok and some people have good skills. The company feels quite horizontal.

    Cons

    Almost everything. Merkle is good at projecting an image of itself that simply isn't true. Do not go work for this company, you will regret it. Top management is approachable but mostly clueless. The company rewards loyalty over initiative and skills and to make things worse there is no clear strategy, positioning, leadership. Nobody seems to know what's going on and it always ends up in an endless loop of finger pointing. Don't expect any transparency. The only metric that matters is utilization (meaning how many hours you are billing the client) and it's ultimately a big sweatshop with no rewarding work to be done.

    Advice to Management

    You can't grow via acquisitions forever. The road ahead is dangerous for this firm.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 27, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. We understand that we ask for patience and flexibility from our employees as we expand but ultimately we hope you reap some personal and professional benefits from being ... More


  10. Topsy-Turvey

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Manager in Columbia, MD

    I worked at Merkle

    Pros

    Great Breadth of Experience, Lots of Projects Going on. Opportunities to work on multiple accounts.

    Cons

    Very fast shifts. Management will not push back on the bad behavior on the part of clients.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 16, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    We hope you were able to take away some great experiences and skills from your time at Merkle!


  11. Helpful (6)

    Good Company with some bad execs and dismal managers

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Merkle full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    They at least put a fair amount of resources and lip service to making Merkle one of the Greatest Places to Work. Friends of mine who worked with good managers have done really quite well and enjoy their job.

    Cons

    There were lots of promises of additional training, but the department was so horribly understaffed that nobody had the time. I was stuck with weak, ineffectual managers who were overworked because they had to do a lot of nitty-gritty work bdue to a hiring freeze and a lot of empty seats. Management style consists of rattling off a lot of catch phrases and sports mottoes but precious little in the way of actionable advice. For a company that specializes in understanding people and crafting messaging to those people, the daily email blasts are incomprehensible. They are overwrought and so poorly written. Overall internal communications consist of an alphabet soup of acronyms that are drained of all meaning in their overuse. Their effort to become a Greatest Place to Work is being managed the same way they manage everything else: by spreadsheet. That may well be the root of the problem.

    Advice to Management

    Put aside the GPW survey and actually look at the problem at street-level. Maybe then you'll be able to figure out how to make Merkle a great place to work. Invest in staffing. Invest in management training. Stop acquiring and start building.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Corporate Recruiter

    The Great Places to Work survey is a tool we use to help us investigate things from the most important point of view -- yours -- and we are actively in the process of examining these points you bring ... More



Showing 241 of 243 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.