Metagenics Reviews

Updated February 12, 2015
29 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.5
29 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Mary Chowning & Paul Konney
1 Rating

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Wonderful work environment, industry-leading quality control and manufacturing practices, employee friendly management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Metagenics is a wonderful place to work. Both the Gig Harbor and Aliso Viejo locations are first class. Management at both campuses is open and friendly. All levels of the organization are committed to positive, logical change. Leadership has addressed many of the concerns of the employees through periodic surveys, town hall meetings and department outings. Employees are encouraged to honestly share their thoughts on the direction of the company and the response from management is open and honest. The manufacturing and quality control/assurance practices are industry leading. Meta constantly monitors materials through the entire production cycle to ensure they are making a safe, effective product every time. I've been working here for three years and have not had a negative interaction in that time.

    Cons

    A few years ago Metagenics had turn over at the top of the organization and an ownership change. Naturally, not everybody was pleased with these changes. Some have not agreed with the changes that the new management implemented and take to the internet to bash a company that IMO makes strides to improve everyday. Metagenics is committed to anyone who shows up to work everyday read to make a difference and put in the effort to succeed. Any organization this size is going to have a it's short comings. But I can honestly say that Meta strives to create a fun, nurturing work environment for those who wish to partake.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work. Do not let the opinion of a vocal minority detract you from your goals.

  2. Warehouse Supervisor

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Metagenics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Steady work, steady pay check that is it.

    Cons

    This company only thinks about the upper management, and the company does not care about the employees. There it no incentive, no bonus, very little raise if at all. I would work for another company not Metagenics.

    Advice to Management

    There is know advancement with Metagenics.

  3. Working at Metagenics

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Metagenics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Company has lots of nice people but not in Human Resources.

    Cons

    The worst Company I have ever worked.

    Advice to Management

    I think you already terminated everyone I had issues with.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. I agree most of these reviews must be false. No one I know feels this way about this company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time (more than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunches occasionally at corporate office.

    Cons

    Now owned by Amway - Poor leadership, no appreciation for employees or recognizing talent. No advancement potential as management continues to bring in outsiders without any industry experience. Have had product contaminated with deadly drug, lead and allergens. Misleading label claims on powdered products. Recalls not handled properly IMO and new products are not innovative. Management doesn't follow healthy lifestyle and it is obvious and embarrassing when they are in front of customers.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within and learn about our customers. They are not the same as when you were in the consumer goods market business. At least pretend to eat healthy when you take our customers out for meals and don't give tobacco and alcohol as rewards. This, I would think is simply common sense when working in the healthcare industry.

    Metagenics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Community

    We welcome you to discuss your concerns with us and are deeply puzzled by the views you express. Metagenics values the highest quality in our products and strives to treat all employees with ... More

  6. Biggest mistake of my career - don't believe the false reviews

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Metagenics

    Pros

    Beautiful location, (some) real good people, great product

    Cons

    Upper management is corrupt (countless law suits) Disagree or have a differing opinion (though they "say" their doors are open), you'll eventually be terminated. The CEO brought many of his under qualified yet close buddies from a previous company and is allowing them to run the Metagenics straight into a dark hole. Great product but a lack of leadership to pull it through. NA sales consistently under goal, HR is inexperienced, unapproachable and will not advocate for you. It's all about who you know and how much of your integrity you're willing to give up to be successful. DO NOT belive the previous reviews. No company is perfect, but Metagenics under the current leadership tops the list as one of the worst companies to work for in the OC by many of its current and previous employees, hands down. Made the mistake of not considering the reviews with much regret. If you must accept their offer please do so with the intent to continue to pursue other opportunities. Unless you are in the right department under good leadership (marketing-creative services, event planning or customer service) you will be miserable and overworked. Sales should be avoided if at all possible. Best of luck!!

    Advice to Management

    Wake Up!! Change in leadelrship is vital to the success of this once thriving organization. A few lunches or an outing here and there does not compensate for the low morale by those being trampled on by upper management.

    Metagenics Response

    Dec 3, 2014Community

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We are always receptive to ways we can improve upon our sales force effectiveness.

    In the last year, we have rolled-out
    ... More

  7. Helpful (4)

    Noteworthy company overshadowed by misguided leadership.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Senior Systems Engineer in Gig Harbor, WA
    Former Contractor - Senior Systems Engineer in Gig Harbor, WA

    I worked at Metagenics as a contractor (less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The company headquarters is located in Aliso Viejo, Ca. The WA campus is in a gorgeous setting just outside downtown Gig Harbor and easy to locate.

    Department teams and projects were productive and enjoyable. There's a handsome level of politics and lack of formal project management, but that's not unusual for companies of similar size and growth.

    I particularly liked their MetaThanks program allowing peers to nominate a person that supports the company values and culture. This is a rarity for IT and I enjoyed learning specifics on the value of contributions.

    Cons

    Sadly, the positive experience with other department was overshadowed by horrible experience with my own team. Iinitial challenges were based on getting permissions to do anything. A probationary period was understandable, but given the pay rate and contract-to-hire position, I hoped that I would be able to immediately contribute.

    I was assigned a single project to migrate several SharePoint sites into a single site. Every request for permissions outside of that project was met with "you're only a contractor and if you can't do what I'm asking, this isn't going to work out". Threats of losing my job continued almost weekly until I told leadership I would promptly request to be placed elsewhere. It became very clear that this was not a career position, but rather a highly discounted SharePoint Consulting position that would end with this project. Discounted because my SharePoint rate is over double the offered rate and this position was clearly being sold under another job title.

    There are close personal relationships between leadership and some team members which interferes with sound decisions and morale. Communication skills are similar to ranking military officials barking orders and expecting results with no discussion. Inappropriate communication and treatment is tolerated out of fear of losing what they call "trustworthy" team members.

    Department leadership has virtually no management experience. It's puzzling how the company can be so naive to appoint a person with such lack of ethics, experience and judgement. Allowing a single person to make and change policy at will, hire and fire outside the scope of HR and even step on C-level roles with their own ad-hoc policies. The dishonesty, misdirection and personal agenda of leadership is a serious problem.

    The statement "enough talking, just do as I say" seems to be leaderships' approach to team building, morale boosting and career development. Team members often hold their comments and limit contributions for fear of reprisal.

    Advice to Management

    Replace leadership in IT immediately. The liability of their communication, actions and treatment is going to cost the company in time. Since my exit, I've been thanked for speaking out as others couldn't. Ask the people that work in IT...assure them that reprisal is not tolerated and their feedback is valuable. Question all decisions made with technology and demand business justification. These things alone will show leadership is not qualified for the role.

    Metagenics Response

    Oct 22, 2014Community

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know you liked our MetaThanks program - we have been getting a lot of positive comments from our employees about this recognition program!

    We
    ... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    Great Company! Passionate about the industry while caring about employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Managers encourage career growth and support their employees in their endeavors. The company has many fun programs for employees to participate in throughout the year which makes it a fun place to work. This includes everything from food on 2 Fridays a month to more formal holiday events. Also, the company allows us to participate in the planning of employee events if you join team thrive. A growing company always has pros and cons. Change can be difficult but Metagenics does it's best to take care of employees.

    Cons

    Change and growth can be difficult. This is common in other growing companies as well and I expect that change in general will slow down.

    Metagenics Response

    Oct 2, 2014Community

    Thank you for your review! As we build our culture, we are creating opportunities for development and recognition - you can see it in our MetaLearning courses and MetaThanks employee rewards ... More

  9. Helpful (1)

    Never a dull day!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    What a fun place to work at, but it's not everyone's cup of tea. Since day 1, you start off on a busy note. This company is growing and the amount of work put in to develop amazing product and the people around to support it, is incredible. It's a well oiled machine here. I work with very intelligent people who are really great people in general. Coworkers are passionate, more perks I have ever enjoyed at a company, and it feels great to know that we are doing something to help people.

    Cons

    Challenges are that we are very busy, so if someone cant keep up the pace, it may be an issue.

    Metagenics Response

    Oct 2, 2014Community

    Thank you for a realistic glimpse into your day. We are pleased you acknowledge the purpose and the passion from our workforce - we're focused on providing a great employee experience.

  10. Helpful (2)

    Best company I've ever worked for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The employees, the culture, the work environment is quite positive. There are lunches provided, employee interaction is great. Everyone is super friendly and they care about each other!

    Cons

    Typical 8-5 job, if you consider that a con otherwise there's nothing bad about this company in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunity for employees to grow in the company. A lot of lower level employees have the ability to be high ranking. Listen to feedback.

    Metagenics Response

    Oct 2, 2014Community

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to see you find we are providing our employees with a Happy, Healthy Environment - it's one of our Core Values. We are listening, and welcome you to ... More

  11. Great people!

    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Metagenics full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    People are great and they care greatly about their roles in the company

    Cons

    Management is disconnected and doesn't trust or empower employees.

    Metagenics Response

    Oct 2, 2014Community

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feelings on the company. We are listening and hope you will come to talk to us about what you are experiencing. Our doors are always open.

Work at Metagenics? Share Your Experiences

Metagenics

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.