Mindshare Reviews

Updated April 1, 2015
211 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.8
211 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mindshare CEO Nick Emery
Nick Emery
53 Ratings

Pros
  • Very good work environment between employees (in 13 reviews)

  • Great company, great people, interesting clients and enthusiastic young people (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • Below market pay, long hours, lack of career progression (in 9 reviews)

  • Low salary, long hours, poor work life balance, under appreciated by superiors, over worked and over scoped across multiple areas (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Progressive, leading media agency.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Digital Media Planner in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Digital Media Planner in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Mindshare full-time (more than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Wonderful place to start early on in your career, or straight out of school. Clear career progression. Easy to move up ladder quickly if you do well. Great opportunities for working abroad as well.

    Cons

    May be a challenge for more mature or older persons, due to the youth culture dominating the agency. Introverts may also have a hard time. It's a place where the bold and extroverted have a leg up.

    Advice to Management

    Not too much to improve. Curb the cliques and favoritism. Lota of cery young people becoming managers who've never managed before. Management training is essential.

    Mindshare Response

    Apr 7, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. Agree that we are a company where we want people with an opinion and people that fit to our culture of teamwork, speed and provocation. Also agree with your ... More

  2. Great people and environment, bad work life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Mindshare full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people are great. Everyone is close, friendly, and there's a spirit of togetherness, even if bonding over a not so great client experience.

    Cons

    Standard hours are 9-6 but you end up working more hours than that most of the time and no one ever takes a lunch break. Clients are number one priority, the people come second.

    Advice to Management

    Put more value on making your employees happy and balanced, otherwise they are going to burn it like so many others before them.

    Mindshare Response

    Apr 7, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for the review and tips to the management. Always challenging to find the balance between servicing client needs and workforce planning. We are taking all steps to become better at this as we ... More

  3. Very informative and opened a lot of doors and contacts.

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mindshare

    Pros

    Love how intimate the staff was, and that really translated over to the work life balance.

    Cons

    Really small in the whole grand scheme of things

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 19, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for your feedback. Appreciated and we will continue to do our best to make Mindshare a great place to work.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    Remarkable Idiots

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mindshare

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The majority of the staff are young, attractive, and fun to hang out with. You also get a healthy amount of vacation time, however because teams are always understaffed, you'll be hard-pressed to find a boss that will actually allow you to take your vacation time.

    Cons

    I titled my review as "remarkable idiots" because it is truly remarkable how a group of poorly educated, inarticulate, unrefined employees can get so many big-named clients. Come to think of it, almost all of the teams were under review in 2014 as clients were trying to break-contract... Beware of the NYC office. It is the mecca of arrogant idiots. No one should have a boss who needs you to check their grammar. This office produces work with ZERO substance.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to school -- your 2 year education at community college did not equip you to produce work at the level that your clientele needs. Hence why all of your clients are dissatisfied. Encourage your employees to think instead of forcing them to work long-hours on auto-pilot.

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    I am sorry to learn that you have for whatever reason a bad experience at Mindshare. I am open to hear more from you, but with some doubts. The company you are describing seems to be not the one most ... More

  6. Helpful (1)

    Great place - love coming to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Mindshare full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Mindshare is great. There is definitely a buzz when you walk through the lobby - collaboration, learning, creating. Good vibes.

    Ample vacation time. Good work/life balance. You will work hard here though, especially in digital.

    Cons

    Special departments tend to not play nice. Lack of knowledge and training can weaken the overall product.

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved before problems happen. We have ideas to improve the functions - let us help make Mindshare a power house!

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for this review. Really inspiring. Yes, let's make Mindshare the best place to work. Open for all suggestions.

  7. Helpful (1)

    Better of the agencies I worked at

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Media Supervisor in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Media Supervisor in New York, NY

    I have been working at Mindshare full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Expect the typical perks you see in agencies. Well structured company with a lot of resources available to you. For example each team had an admin assigned who helped with various administrative tasks such as travel arrangements and etc.

    Cons

    The company is so big that it's hard to get a sense of culture. It's hard to move things along because there are so many layers of management that needs to approve things.

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for your response. The culture at Mindshare comes from within so hope you experience this in the next. Speed, teamwork and provocation in the spirit of original thinking comes close to the ... More

  8. Fun, young culture with little work-life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mindshare full-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great accounts; great people; opportunity to move teams and be promoted off-cycle (unlike at other agencies); company is pushing for innovations that meet client needs

    Cons

    Little work-life balance; although innovation is a focus, it is clear that it is not at the agency's core

    Mindshare Response

    Feb 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for sharing this feedback with us. We are happy with your pros and challenging comments. We do understand and want Mindshare to be a great place to work and leave enough time for your other ... More

  9. Middle-of-the-road for a Large Media Agency

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mindshare full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    As with many large media agencies - it's who you work with, and the clients that you work for that matter.

    My co-worker experience at Mindshare was almost entirely positive. Clients are a mixed bag, but they are the same anywhere.

    My peers in leadership were generally dedicated to their teams, to their clients' satisfaction, and to doing good work.

    There is not much organizational culture, by culture team-by-team is often strong.

    Cons

    Mindshare, and all of GroupM, are notorious for being difficult on compensation. Expect to be disappointed with reviews - maybe not with your initial offer. Don't take it personally, it's not your boss, it's someone from finance you've never met making that decision.

    It's a very bottom-heavy industry, and Mindshare is no exception. I did not see room for growth for myself, so I left.

    There are so many ways to improve process, it's staggering that it's not done. But that's par for the industry.

    Work/life balance is not prioritized by the organization. Yes, by individual teams when it's easy, but when there's a tough client it goes completely out the window and there is relatively little the company is willing to do to address it.

    There is not much organizational culture, by culture team-by-team is often strong.

    Advice to Management

    Innovating for your clients is great, and will keep you successful in new biz.

    Innovating for your employees is overlooked, and could have business returns as well. Retention, efficiency, job satisfaction.

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for your time to write the review. Although you are not with us any more, we value this and working hard on cracking some of the nuts you mentioned. The culture can change only over time, but ... More

  10. Helpful (1)

    director

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Mindshare

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    great environment, strong group of employees

    Cons

    hit a ceiling in terms of growth once you reach the mid-upper level management

    Mindshare Response

    Jan 7, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for the review. Appreciated. On your "cons" - we are now more focused on creating more opportunities for our high performers with potential by looking at our wider network. Mobility is now key ... More

  11. Large agency leverage with mid-sized company vibe

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Mindshare full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Office culture is very laid back and welcoming; People know how to work hard, but they also enjoy playing together; There are many internal training opportunities, and the agency offers a variety of external networking opportunities too

    Cons

    Team dynamic is not always aligned--planning teams working alongside investment teams and vice versa; Increased compensation does not come on an annual basis

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide steady increases based on performance to ensure a happy work environment and stronger relationship with your employees

    Mindshare Response

    Mar 16, 2015Global Talent Leader

    Thanks for taking the time to write this helpful review. We are planning to make Mindshare an even better place to work and your comments are valuable for us.

Work at Mindshare? Share Your Experiences

Mindshare

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.