Nestlé Purina PetCare

  www.nestlepurinacareers.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Nestlé Purina PetCare Reviews

Updated August 26, 2014
Updated August 26, 2014
253 Reviews

4.4
253 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina PetCare President and CEO Pat McGinnis
Pat McGinnis
211 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Everyone is very friendly and a healthy work-life balance is encouraged (in 67 reviews)

  • Everyone loves to bring their pets to work, but the company is also focused on its associates (in 23 reviews)


Cons
  • Projects sometimes demands long hours, so employee needs to be protective of work-life balance during these times (in 13 reviews)

  • I work long hours and work every other weekend at least (in 8 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to start your career!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst
    Current Employee - Analyst

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was fresh out of college when I was hired 4 years ago, and my Manager told me, "the sky is the limit" for you - and I could not agree more. I think that Nestlé Purina is an outstanding company to work for, and they truely want you to succeed. Everyone around me has been here for 10, 20, even 30+ years and it feels like a family. I highly recommend applying for a career here if you are considering it.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative feelings about this company. For someone coming in, the only con would be that there are minimal openings since employees spend their entire careers here and the turnover rate is low.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    May 5, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    We’re thrilled to hear your experience with Purina is such a positive one. We strive to offer every associate the opportunity to advance their career whether that’s within their respective department ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    I love working here!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare as a contractor for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that actually cares about its people. Good work is noticed and applauded by management. The entire culture here is one of positivity, encouragement and team orientation. And I love it that people bring dogs to work. How could that possibly be a negative?

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep valuing your people and supporting such a wonderful work culture!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Passion for both Pets and People!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources
    Current Employee - Human Resources

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked in more than one operating company with Nestle, and all of my experiences have been positive (great people, pay, benefits, and interesting work). However, there is something special about the culture at Nestle Purina Pet Care. Their passion for both pets and people is evident, and leadership ensures that it is a workplace filled with strategy, creativity, top-notch talent, professional growth, and a focus on our core consumers.

    Cons

    Many of our locations are in "small town America" (except the headquarters, which is in St. Louis). While the geographics can be a deterrent for some people, I find our locations to be refreshing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep focusing on the awesome culture that is NPPC- it's very noticeable and appreciated- even by those of us that have been with Nestle for years.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Jun 10, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your perspective on our culture. It’s truly unique and something special. Our passion for pets and our people starts at the top with our dedicated leadership team … from there ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Fun, secure place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Engineer  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can move up quickly if you are willing to relocate. Pets are allowed at work in most roles, and there is a fair amount of flexibility in your work schedule. Diversity is heavily promoted and used as a factor in selecting candidates to interview. Vacation, health care and other benefits are above average.

    Cons

    If you are not mobile, advancement can be slow. Since the parent company is Swiss, the company is becoming more process-oriented and bureaucratic, which is making us less competitive in the marketplace.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Resist the bureaucratic tendencies of Nestle as long as possible. It is making us less competitive versus our competition.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    The people are what really makes Purina so special

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having the luxury of enjoying the time you spend at your job isn't a benefit everyone is able to receive. But at Purina, it seems to be a common theme no matter your functional area or location. The work is challenging and exciting and the people make it a fun place to be. Sometimes, the work is even fun. Pet's in the work place helps make the work place more relaxed and enjoyable environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of communication between management and associates about upcoming changes in the team's structure. Also, parking is an issues at headquarters. Please build a parking garage!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Jun 10, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    We are so glad that you are able to enjoy the time you spend at work, which is definitely a rare benefit. Communication is key to a positive work environment, and we recognize that there is always ... More

  7.  

    Great company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are smart, considerate, team-oriented. There is opportunity for movement within the company, and management genuinely cares about your career goals and aspirations.

    Cons

    Being a big company, it is slow to move. Progress often takes longer because of multiple stakeholders.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Excellent Company!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nestle Purina truly cares about its employees! Upper management definitely values each employee's contribution and recognizes that its people are an integral part of the company.

    Coming from a company where there was absolutely no work-life balance, Purina has been absolutely wonderful.

    Cons

    None :) I absolutely love Nestle Purina!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please keep sharing your years of knowledge and experience, so that the company never loses its foundation (the 5 talks) :)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9.  

    Incredible Learning Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Intern Engineer  in  Flagstaff, AZ
    Former Employee - Intern Engineer in Flagstaff, AZ

    I worked at Nestlé Purina PetCare as an intern for more than a year

    Pros

    You are given a lot of freedoms to learn and grow as an engineer here. You are given your own projects to manage, so you get excellent experience.

    Cons

    Not true for all internships, but I worked during the school year which I found to be very stressful.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    Apr 23, 2014Talent Sourcing

    We're so glad to hear you are gaining a lot of great experience from your Internship! We hope you consider us for a full-time role after graduation. You should visit our website at ... More

  10.  

    New hire experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, new hire training and orientation is world class, products that I really connect and believe in

    Cons

    So far the only issue is space with limited parking (what can you expect downtown)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Great company in theory, but they do not believe in work/life balance at all.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Crete, NE
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crete, NE

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina PetCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with lots of advancement opportunity if you are willing to relocate.
    Benefits are well balanced between cost and quality.
    Everyone genuinely loves pets and wants to do what's best for them.
    The quality cannot be beat. I will never feed my pets anything again.

    Cons

    I work long hours and work every other weekend at least. I am not allotted compensation time.
    Projects that are given to me are unrealistic to complete in the desired timeframe.
    Management is held to a completely different set of rules than anyone else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Care about your people a lot more. Promote people that are actually liked and personable instead of the most disliked person in the office.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nestlé Purina PetCare Response

    May 5, 2014Employment Branding Specialist

    We really appreciate the feedback – thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. In particular, we take your comments regarding the current work/life balance and management concerns very ... More

Worked for Nestlé Purina PetCare? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.