New World Systems Reviews

Updated June 24, 2015
72 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
New World Systems Founder, President & CEO Larry D. Leinweber
Larry D. Leinweber
47 Ratings

Pros
  • Company provided free fruit and yogurt every Friday morning (in 6 reviews)

  • A lot of great people work here (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • No availability to work from home, better not be late on a 2 foot snow day either(Yes, this is a software company) (in 4 reviews)

  • Employees are overworked and forced to work long hours (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

72 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    Great People, Interesting Work, Improving Culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly, intelligent and passionate colleagues. Solid leadership team in place to continue the company's growth and expansion. Management recently changed several policies which show that employees are being listened to. Lots of excitement about the upcoming move to a new office building. Fun employee activities - holiday party, Tigers games, potlucks, happy hours. Company is stable and financially sound, and offers opportunity for training and career growth.

    Cons

    The company culture has been quite conservative, like IBM in the 1970s and 80s. The environment has become much more relaxed in terms of dress code, flexibility and remote working arrangements. However, other changes need to be made, especially increased transparency and better communication between senior leadership and individual contributors.

    Advice to Management

    Value and trust your employees. Focus on creating quality software. Offer remote work, casual dress code (jeans), stock options and defined career growth opportunities to all employees.

    New World Systems Response

    May 11, 2015Manager, Corporate Recruiting

    As mentioned on numerous occasions, we have some of the best employees around. While NWS continues to be a stable, growth-oriented company, we realize that there are some things we can improve upon ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    Great place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Consultant in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Solution Consultant in Troy, MI

    I have been working at New World Systems (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    New World Systems is an exciting company to work for, and the products you will get to work on as a developer are very interesting. The people that work here are very friendly and smart which makes for a comfortable work environment. The work is challenging, yet exciting at the same time. This company has gone through a lot of changes for the better in the past few years, and it is only getting better. With the recent purchase of a new headquarters, the employees have a lot to look forward to. I would highly recommend looking into this company if you are looking for a great, reliable company to work for.

    Cons

    The building isn't the greatest and is a little tight on space. The new headquarters that was recently purchased will solve these issues.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great changes you've recently made including dress code policy, more vacation time, new work environment, etc.


  3. Application

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Specialist in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Applications Specialist in Troy, MI

    I have been working at New World Systems (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The people you work with are welcoming and will help with any question you may have

    Cons

    I dislike the fact that the company sends new hires to train customers about the software product, and the fact that internal employees call for help whom are getting paid twice as much

    Advice to Management

    When you send employees to train customers on-site, send a senior employee who knows what they're doing.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Challenging and Rewarding

    Former Employee - Applications Specialist/Trainer in Troy, MI
    Former Employee - Applications Specialist/Trainer in Troy, MI

    I worked at New World Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    New World Systems has great people to work with, all very willing to help you do your best. Their customer base is also very appreciative of a job well done.

    Cons

    At times the work load is very demanding. You'll be asked to go above and beyond on a regular basis. This isn't so much a con as it is just a reality of the amount of work that needs to be done.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out the specific strengths of employees better and assign tasks appropriately. Create an expanded Software Documentation group to take that load of off the Application Specialist/Software Trainers.

    New World Systems Response

    May 11, 2015Manager, Corporate Recruiting

    Thank you so much for your recent feedback on the many positive changes we are making here at New World. We know we ask a lot of our team members and in return are working to provide the best ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    Corporate Employee

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    1) Smaller company with large resources / Financially sound company.
    2) Employees are given the tools they need to do their job. Limited amount of "nickel and diming".
    3) Dependent upon your manager, you can have a decent life/work mix with some flex time.
    4) Company has several incentive programs to reward employees on top of their base salary.
    5) Management is beginning to understand that the culture and incentives need to be updated.
    6) Company is relocating to a new building and will be doing a custom build out to suite our specific needs.

    Cons

    1) Antiquated culture (up until recently, had a business professional (suits) dress code). Although this is starting to loosen up.
    2) Not allowed to work from home. There is a definite push for people to be in the office.
    3) Owner keeps a tight rein on Senior Management. (Although, again, there are signs that this may be changing.)
    4) Uncertainty of the future should the aging owner decide to sell/turn over the reins of the company.
    5) Career mapping not a priority.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward with the changes needed to update our culture.

    New World Systems Response

    May 11, 2015Manager, Corporate Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. It is good to see that the changes recently made are having a positive impact. While there are still challenges ahead of us we continue to work to update policy and to ... More


  7. I have had a good experience working with New World Systems

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    New World is a very stable company and an interesting industry and tells a good story. New World recognizes talent and likes to promote from within. There are a lot of good and talented people that work at New World and the management team is a good group. It is a company where you feel positive about what your work is. There are a lot of people at New World that have been there for a very long time.

    Cons

    Employees can get a bit overworked. Salary can be difficult to negotiate if you are promoted within the company.


  8. Helpful (5)

    New World Systems, a great company to work for!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Developer in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Database Developer in Troy, MI

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly environment, a chance to learn and advance in your carrier, good benefits and a fun overall work place.

    Cons

    You have to go through an IQ test to be hired (it is not that bad).

    New World Systems Response

    Apr 3, 2015Sr. Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I agree that New World is a great place to build a career and that the people here are some of the friendliest I have ever had the pleasure to ... More


  9. Good place to start a career.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good benefits, free fruit and yogurt on friday, 25 cent pop, good people. Fair time off. Management is approachable.

    Cons

    Promotions are elusive, favoritism, raises based on factors other than job performance. Training could be better and opportunities to move to move up or into better positions.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more opportunities for advancement to dedicated employees. Find the best fit for an individual's skill set.

    New World Systems Response

    Apr 14, 2015Manager, Corporate Recruiting

    Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are always looking for ways to make New World Systems a world class organization and the information employees like yourself take the ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    Fair and opportunities given to those who are dedicated and take pride in their work.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Specialist in Troy, MI
    Current Employee - Applications Specialist in Troy, MI

    I have been working at New World Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    NWS is full of dedicated employees that are very knowledgeable. If you are willing to put in the time and effort, there is room for advancement.

    Cons

    The work/life balance can be lacking at times with travel and heavy workload.

    Advice to Management

    In order to keep new development talent coming through the door and retaining good employees, NWS should keep up with the times of software companies and offer more work from home opportunities, flexible hours, and lighten the dress code for non-customer facing employees.

    New World Systems Response

    Mar 5, 2015Sr. Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Glassdoor. I agree that this is a Company built on dedicated, knowledgeable and hard-working employees. Your advice to Management is relevant ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    Leadership? None!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal in Troy, MI
    Former Employee - Internal in Troy, MI

    I worked at New World Systems

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    A J.O.B., not much that is a pro.

    Cons

    Negative culture, backstabbing, lies. Nothing is ever good enough. Turnover is high. Nothing changes. Lie to customers and act as if they owe the company. Office is dirty and old.

    Advice to Management

    Get some real management.

    New World Systems Response

    Apr 8, 2015Manager, Corporate Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. I notice that you are a former employee so you may not be aware of the many changes happening here at NWS. One of the most notable is that the Company has purchased a ... More



Showing 72 of 72 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.