Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated May 17, 2015
25 reviews filtered by
  • Huntersville, NC
  • Any Job Title
  • Any Status
Employment Status

Reset
2.8
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
8 Ratings

Pros
  • The hours are good for work / life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with across different departments (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance was best in class (in 21 reviews)

  • Not many to report other then upper management listen to employees ideas a little more (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

25 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (2)

    Supply chain

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Use to be leader in NPD

    Cons

    Now leader is how to improve bottom line with zero ideas on top line

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 20, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. Helpful (2)

    Associate Engineer

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Responsibility for projects, Lot's of team building activities

    Cons

    Slow to bring products to market, lack of transparency, marketing rules all

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 12, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  3. Helpful (9)

    Horrible leadership - corrupt and unhealthy work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Manager in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Decent salary and many brand to relate with

    Cons

    - lack of leadership
    - zero employee engagement culture
    - no consideration for any employees
    - never would recommend anyone to work here

    Advice to Management

    Shop playing the game and step down, how dare you give yourself a millions of dollar salary when you don't even lead!!! Hope analysts at Wall Street read this and know that all that CEO show and number at all a lie. Show some honesty! I guess thats not a word in you vocabulary....

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Apr 8, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great People, Great Intern Projects/Development

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - R&D Intern in Huntersville, NC
    Former Intern - R&D Intern in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people are very friendly. I was surprised at how friendly, as I was coming from some other hardcore engineering companies.

    Work every intern did was meaningful. Some actually had an impact on the company and product development moving forward. Some interns weren't as successful with theirs, but they made some cool projects nonetheless.

    Freedom of creativity in your designs; no micromanagement. Could always ask for help, but they really let you do you, which is really great.

    Work-life balance was encouraged, especially with "summer hours" (you could leave early on Friday if you worked a bit extra each day of the week).

    Lots of fun, planned activities for interns (baseball game, white water rafting, bowling, etc...)

    Pair you with a mentor so you can get acclimated with a friendly employee that isn't your boss.

    Free coffee (Starbucks), free soda, free popcorn. Often times free lunch if there was leftovers after a meeting/you were in a meeting at lunchtime.

    Great intern class (very social, met a lot of great people).

    Cons

    Had my own project/budget/timeline, so I didn't get to see much of what daily work was like for engineers there.

    No overtime pay for interns. (I worked quite a bit of overtime, because I was driven to complete my project, and complete it well, within my 3 months. It is definitely NOT required, and, most importantly, NOT encouraged.)

    Because work life balance (as in, leaving exactly at 5pm) is so common, I think some projects took a little longer than they needed to.

    Housing stipend was a bit low for such short-term, furnished leases.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting interns/employees from outside of the area. This forces them to hang out together/become friends!

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our interns and am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We hope you'll consider us for full-time opportunities next year.


  6. Helpful (2)

    Stop Hiring Temps and create full time positions!!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    -Not a lot to say here...

    Cons

    -Newell is constantly hiring temps and then letting them go. It really is pointless when they can just create a full time position for these people instead. It makes really makes me question what the hell HR is thinking at this place. NO stability here at all, and constant turnover which is unhealthy...

    Advice to Management

    Try retaining people, there is a high turnover for a reason...compensation is way below par.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll consider Newell Rubbermaid for future career opportunities.


  7. Helpful (4)

    This company is not like it used to be.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Large company and a lot of opportunities but you have to know the right people to get promoted!

    Cons

    Before our current CEO things were great! We worked hard and played hard! Now we just work hard and no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Take management courses because the one I have had for the past few years is horrible. It's clear the next move was manager and they pushed this person along up the ranks.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. I encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner. They can provide more insight into the Internal Candidate Experience and help provide advice on how ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    Improvement is imminent

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I really love the laid back culture - being able to wear jeans to work everyday, and having (manager-approved) flexible work hours/work from home from time to time allows for great work life balance. Also, it is nice working for a company that has such strong and exciting brands that you see everyday while at the office, at home, out shopping, etc.

    Cons

    Challenges with career development (no clear career pathing) and making sure that top talent is being rewarded and recognized for the work that they are putting in. Morale has been low for the past 2 years with lots of corporate restructuring, however we are now seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and things seem to be getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the people with their "boots on the ground" to hear their painpoints, concerns, etc. Consider a formal work from home policy to save on office and overhead costs and keep personnel happy. Trickle bonuses down to all people who are executing - not just managers and above, but consider the "workerbees" who are getting the job done every day as well

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we'll be sure that the right teams and leadership receives it. With mid-year reviews coming up, it's a great time to discuss your ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    Great Growing Experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Sourcing Intern in Huntersville, NC
    Current Intern - Sourcing Intern in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of professional and skill training opportunities.
    A very team oriented work environment.
    Autonomy was encouraged and in brainstorming and VA/VE events there was truly an atmosphere of no bad ideas.

    Cons

    A lot corporate reorganization and upheaval.
    Had issues with finding the right people to contact at various plants.

    Advice to Management

    Make the current reorg changes concrete and let the system grow from there. It's hard to be 100% productive when there's constant moving and everything seems to be in flux.


  10. Good growth experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great co-workers, exposure to different brands

    Cons

    Constant shifting of job responsibilities and major layoffs have morale low and people looking over their shoulder all the time

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and more across-the-board policies that all managers follow.


  11. Helpful (1)

    Face paced and rewarding but difficult on your personal life

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Huntersville, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great training, strong brands, excellent people

    Cons

    Hard work/life balance - long hours, demanding travel schedule, constantly shifting strategy

    Advice to Management

    Pick a strategy and stick with it for more than a quarter!



Showing 25 of 394 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.