Newell Rubbermaid

www.newellrubbermaid.com

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated January 29, 2015
Updated January 29, 2015
323 Reviews
3.4
323 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
146 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 21 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good Learning Opportunity

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    The company provides a great opportunity to gain global experience with a strong portfolio of brands. The corporate facility is nice with cafeteria, fitness center, and company store.

    Cons

    Newell Rubbermaid has undertaken numerous cost cutting initiatives to eliminate layers within the organization. While this has helped profitability, it has reduced the promotional opportunities for the staff.

  2.  

    Above average

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    In my current role and group, I'm fortunate enough to have incredible flexibility with my work schedule. I'm able to work offsite a lot, which is very convenient. As long as my work is not suffering, my manager will allow it. My work environment overall is laid back, yet still demanding. Overall I work with a good group of people.

    Cons

    In my function, it appears to be more difficult to obtain a promotion. So, that can be a little discouraging. Also, there are limited career opportunities in my current field. However, there are other opportunities available that I'm qualified for and can explore.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to focus on improving the company culture.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  3.  

    Great People

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Good work environment, flexible hours and good pay.

    Cons

    Lots of travel and constant strategic changes

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    General Overview

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    The Oakville office has great work/life balance and locally, team is very close and supports one another.

    Cons

    Currently there are resource constraints.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 20, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  6.  

    Writing segment in Downers Grove, IL. Good place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance Support in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Employee - Finance Support in Downers Grove, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Company has direction and a plan. Operates with a nice margin and management knows what they are doing. Good work life balance. Gereat working staff.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for employee growth and advancement due to smaller size of division at this location.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 9, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  7. 6 people found this helpful  

    Good brands, bad senior leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great brands get you through poor leadership decisions. Good people - although the good ones are leaving at an alarming rate...

    Cons

    Leadership only knows Retail and ignores all other channels. Reduction in workforce results in an overworked sales team that spends their time defending market share rather than pursuing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop wasting money on Bain. Focus on keeping good employees before they leave. Stop hiring from Unilever. Development needs a complete overhaul.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 6, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We will share your feedback with our leadership team and welcome ideas for process improvement. Feel free to send additional feedback to employee.engagement@newellco.com.

  8.  

    Hard to Swallow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Manager

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The bonus structure was amazing
    Appreciates diverse cultures and backgrounds.

    Cons

    The benefit plan was not competitive with other large corporations, neither was the leave of absence provisions.
    Very efficiency driven, if this is not something that you are ok with, you will not like it.
    Under previous management, the corporate office was filled with people under 40 mostly post-college females. Not much advancement if you came into the organization and were an over 40 male.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    There was definitely an us vs. them mentality when it came to salaried and hourly workers. the benefits and leave provisions were less than desirable.

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  9.  

    Associate Manager, PR & Consumer Engagement

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    There is mutual trust and respect between employees and management

    Cons

    There are a number of mandatory, cumbersome processes that limit the company's ability to be nimble

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 6, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Analyst
    Current Employee - Business Analyst

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as a contractor (less than a year)

    Pros

    Management really gets involved with their team. You're also able to work in a team setting or independently with ease. No micromanaging.

    Cons

    Wish I could get hired in sooner

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. Be sure to reach out to the Talent Acquisition team and let them know of your interest. As new positions become available they can keep you in mind.

  11.  

    na

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    people are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    very large organization with many layers of process

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    na

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.