Newell Rubbermaid

www.newellrubbermaid.com

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated February 23, 2015
Updated February 23, 2015
336 Reviews
3.4
336 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
149 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 21 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Buyer, sales assistant, export manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Buyer in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Buyer in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Positive personality, good communication skills, harmonious relations with co-worker, attentive working attitude, fast pass, problem-solving, strong determination

    Cons

    Concentrate on work too much to ignore people sometimes, trust people too much

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We hope you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future career opportunities.

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    Above average

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    In my current role and group, I'm fortunate enough to have incredible flexibility with my work schedule. I'm able to work offsite a lot, which is very convenient. As long as my work is not suffering, my manager will allow it. My work environment overall is laid back, yet still demanding. Overall I work with a good group of people.

    Cons

    In my function, it appears to be more difficult to obtain a promotion. So, that can be a little discouraging. Also, there are limited career opportunities in my current field. However, there are other opportunities available that I'm qualified for and can explore.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to focus on improving the company culture.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 3, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  3.  

    Double

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Newell is positioned to grow globally

    Cons

    Our growth is surpassing capacity

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue the game plan

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Learning Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    This company has enabled me to grow from a college graduate to a true professional in my field. They've provided all the help, support, mentoring, and training needed to complete my day to day tasks, long term projects, and professional goals. There have been many changes recently which has put many of these positives on hold, but I have hope things will slow down, realign, and the focus will be brought back to the employees and not so much the profits.

    Cons

    As I mentioned above, many things have changed recently. This has caused a lot of turmoil and drop in morale(depending on your physical location). These changes have left many people insecure about their future with the company and has forced them to leave for a seemingly more secure job. It has also caused unbalanced workloads for those of us that have stayed, and the new global teams that are forming have to find a way to better balance this. Its a work in progress. Also benefits (pay, health insurance cost, and 401k matching) are very poor compared to other companies in the area.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The major personnel changes appear to be over, but the shock waves and fear are still rippling through the company. Finding a way to bring the security we knew 3 years ago back into the work environment would be something worth striving for.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 5, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and will share with our leadership teams.

  6.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Miami, FL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, learning, career advancement

    Cons

    The company in a restructuring process

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  7.  

    Started Well

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Service in High Point, NC
    Current Employee - Customer Service in High Point, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Good overall work environment. Free stuff!

    Cons

    Attendance Policies and bad weather policies.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    When confirmed emergencies arise have flexibility beyond general policies.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Solid profits but a lot of internal bureaucracy and politics

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company is quite diversified so profits are generally stable; flexible schedule and good pay

    Cons

    Little communication between segments; company has a hard time committing to new projects

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  9.  

    Big Brands, Good People, Poor Managers

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits and great employees/colleagues

    Cons

    Sales team is a complete "boys" club who spend more time worried about the type of car they drive and free trips rather than the tasks at hand or mentoring. Poor example of how to get ahead. As long as you are aligned with them and do their work, they will throw you a bone. Many unethical practices are swept under the rug (especially on the RCP side). These folks are the same people who manipulate in order to make themselves look good, leaving those who work night and day on projects in the dark or at their mercy for success. Too much backstabbing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't let bad managers and VP's succeed! You are surrounded by many talented and ethical employees, pull back the curtain and watch carefully! They care and they are dedicated! Otherwise, you will always be counterproductive!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 19, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner to share and discuss challenging situations and/or frustrations.

  10.  

    Exasperating

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shelbyville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shelbyville, TN

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are good for the area. I work with hard working group of people who Wil help when help is needed.

    Cons

    Upper management does nothing to raise moral, it is seriously seriously low. The working in the environment summertime is just miserable I don't know if I can take another summer there.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get to know your people and who they are and what they can do and what they know. A wise man once told me sometimes you have to pull your people along instead of push them. And ask your long time employees what they think and seriously take into consideration what they say and do not tweak their ideas and make them your own.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  11.  

    Newell Rubbermaid

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    Dynamic and had a lot of good people. Interesting product lines.

    Cons

    Numerous changes in leadership direction even when things were going well.
    Large company politics where advancement may or may not be based on qualifications and track record.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep a good eye on talent and experience and create an environment where the right people can foster innovation and development.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 17, 2015Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.