Newell Rubbermaid

  www.newellrubbermaid.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated August 18, 2014
Updated August 18, 2014
288 Reviews

3.3
288 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
130 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Great work/life balance and perks like Employee Store & gym on site (in 18 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 18 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 19 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Love it here.

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    People, degrees of freedom and the proximity to the Perimeter. This place is really a good place to work.

    Cons

    Unstable with so much change that is very drastic and always making employees feel uneasy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop changing so much.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 14, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoy working at NWL. We are excited about the focus on our people and how we'll shape our culture in the years to come!

  2. 2 people found this helpful  

    the newell rubbermaid experience

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    there are none for this company

    Cons

    extreme heat lots of drama and little pay

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Looks Good From Outside- But Watch Your Back

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance and Accounting  in  Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Finance and Accounting in Saint Louis, MO

    Pros

    Offices in my location were semi-clean for a factor production facility

    Cons

    Very manipulative and contrived work environment and fake people in Admin/Finance/Reporting who stab each other in the back every chance they get. After 3 weeks there I asked my manager what the pay was for my position after my 90 day period was up (so I could begin planning on a move to that area). She got so irrate about it she went to HR. I got pulled into HR the next day and was told "its none of your business what the actual payrate for the position is unless and well after 90 days we decided to actually hire you on. Until then, don't worry about it."

    This 90 day period was in the Accounting department with no benefits and making 10.00 an hour.

    That was what Rubbermaid was good at doing, hiring temps for 90 day periods and burning through them because they were too cheap, pathetic and stupid to do anything else.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop being fake, manipulative and deceitful with employees, seniors, managers and yourselves. Your not better than everyone else and everyone has known this for a long time.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 28, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'll be sure to share this feedback with our engagement team.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Great place to work, but...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for gaining experience with multiple products

    Cons

    The structure is primarily 2 silos - development and delivery - and metrics sometimes are misaligned.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Ensure metrics do not conflict at the top level.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 22, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Yearly to Bi-Yearly changes take their toll.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Passionate organization (at one time) with extremely passionate and dedicated employees (at one time).

    Cons

    Frequent management shifts at division as well as corporate level keep employees in a never ending circle of change for the sake of change. In 10 years there we had 3 different presidents 3 different boards 4 to 5 different group presidents and 5 different divisional presidents. Each one wanted to make their imprint on the organization and bring in "their" people. This rippled down through the entire organization. Non stop drive to make forecast numbers meant yearly to biyearly layoffs that came like the seasons of the year. Divisions moved in the blink of an eye because a new group President didn't want o move so he moved an entire division of 300 people to be near him. (Usually lost 90% of employees each time this happened so history and years of knowledge were thrown away without a thought.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Maybe try a longer term plan of development that focuses on retaining industry talent instead of focusing on trying something new to see if it works better.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! Change can be challenging on an organization, but we are excited about the positive results and momentum we've experienced since the Growth Game Plan was put into action ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Improvement is Imminent but...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Polk has got this company headed in the right direction. His business strategy is VERY sound. And' he's building a performance culture. You'll be challenged to deliver, but when you deliver, generally you are rewarded. Yes we are allowed to wear jeans, but laid back is hardly how I would describe it. We have fun, but we work hard.

    The other good thing about Newell right now is that because it went from kinda-cushy-it-doesn't-really-matter-if-you-deliver to we're-going-to-push-you-and-stretch-you-and-you-damn-well-better-deliver there is a fair degree of turnover. But turnover creates opportunity. And if you don't mind working hard, and you buy into the culture, this is a GREAT place to learn and advance your career.

    Cons

    I'm going to give it to you straight. When I started working here in 2010, this was a GREAT company to work for...FROM AN EMPLOYEE PERSPECTIVE. Work life balance was best in class. Leadership cared about you. Pay was okay to average, but people were happy. We left on Fridays at 1 p.m. all the time. If I recall correctly 70+% of people would recommend it to a friend.

    Today, it's still a good company to work for. However if you are looking for work life balance, I think you should look somewhere else. I've seen this company stripped down and reorganized. People work HARD. My teammates put in about 50-60 hours a week.

    The pay is competitive, but not great. I believe the corporate directive is to align pay with the median salary range at similar companies. But hey, why not sign on for a four year hitch, learn what you can and then take you new skill set to greener pastures?

    And for what it's worth that "Improvement is Imminent" post smacks of Recruiter-Posting-As-Employee...

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing, just watch those turnover metrics...

    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback! Our leadership and engagement teams are focused on building an "I want to work here" culture. We are listening to employees and welcome additional feedback ... More

  8.  

    very good company

    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager  in  Winchester, VA
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Winchester, VA

    Pros

    good beneft and balance of work and life

    Cons

    low pay because of low margin on products

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We hope you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future career opportunities.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Improvement is imminent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager  in  Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Huntersville, NC

    Pros

    I really love the laid back culture - being able to wear jeans to work everyday, and having (manager-approved) flexible work hours/work from home from time to time allows for great work life balance. Also, it is nice working for a company that has such strong and exciting brands that you see everyday while at the office, at home, out shopping, etc.

    Cons

    Challenges with career development (no clear career pathing) and making sure that top talent is being rewarded and recognized for the work that they are putting in. Morale has been low for the past 2 years with lots of corporate restructuring, however we are now seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and things seem to be getting better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk to the people with their "boots on the ground" to hear their painpoints, concerns, etc. Consider a formal work from home policy to save on office and overhead costs and keep personnel happy. Trickle bonuses down to all people who are executing - not just managers and above, but consider the "workerbees" who are getting the job done every day as well

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we'll be sure that the right teams and leadership receives it. With mid-year reviews coming up, it's a great time to discuss your ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Many opportunities for growth and gaining strong work experience.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Supply Chain
    Current Employee - Supply Chain

    Pros

    Growth potential is strong. If you are in a department in one business, you can move businesses and gain more experience and stay under the Newell Rubbermaid umbrella. The company being global, you have the ability to gain domestic and international experience in your role, or with cross functional collaboration. There are really good people working here to do better things for the company and employees.

    Cons

    There is a lot of change and there has been since I started with Newell Rubbermaid. Changes with upper management, business layout, organizational structures. The change is good and bad, it is something everyone has had to work through. But the company is stronger because of the changes that are happening now.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue the communication and the engagement of the employees. Employees want to feel they are adding value, at any level within the organization. The more Newell Rubbermaid helps with employee involvement and clear communication on the direction of the company the strong the company will be.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 16, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! The success and growth of our company wouldn't be possible without dedicated employees like you. Employee engagement is a top priority for our leaders and we look forward ... More

  11.  

    Strong company with strong brands.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Analyst  in  Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Great brands with a strong strategic plan to grow. Worklife balance is acceptable and a lot of investment in Employee Resource Groups and innovation.

    Cons

    Health benefits are not great.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue the focus on employee development. And make sure to recognize and reward those who are going above and beyond.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2014Campus Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We value our employees feedback and will be sure to utilize it to continuously improve our culture and work environment.

Worked for Newell Rubbermaid? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.