Newell Rubbermaid

  www.newellrubbermaid.com
  www.newellrubbermaid.com

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated December 16, 2014
Updated December 16, 2014
316 Reviews
3.3
316 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
144 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with (in 25 reviews)

  • Great people to work with, good products with strong brand names (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • The company is flexible but with fewer people doing more the work life balance has taken its toll (in 21 reviews)

  • There's a pretty decent changeover rate in upper management - some are great, some not so great (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    One of the Best

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Organized, smartly managed, good salary, great benefits, good company

    Cons

    Favoritism with advancement opportunities where I was.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 2, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck with your current endeavors and hope you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future opportunities.

  2.  

    Great stepping stone

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Being a field rep can be a bit of a struggle since you are constantly working alone but, my manager was very involved and called me once a week to catch up, offer guidance and let me know how I was doing. About once every other month another rep would come and work with me for almost a week, which was always fun! They also had an annual sales meeting in Vegas when I worked there!

    Cons

    There were a lot of other reps who were very fake and tried to suck up to managers. I made sure to be professional .and watch what I said so none of the two-faced employees would talk behind my back.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get a better understanding of your employees and find out which ones are actually working really hard and making a difference verse the ones who are just sitting at home and pretending to work!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll consider us for future career opportunities.

  3. 2 people found this helpful  

    Good goes bad

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment; Perks, onsite cafe and gym; flexible hours, friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Too much changes in the last couple of years and still changing, benefits/pays are good for senior leaders but not so good in general. Relationship is way better than performance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take care of your good employees.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll keep us in mind for future career opportunities.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Supply Chain Management Development Program

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    The rotational program is awesome. You get 4 different positions in 2 different locations. Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with.

    Cons

    It was challenging working here through the restructuring period. Many people were shuffling within the company, and to areas outside the company.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are very proud of the Supply Chain Management Development Program and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience.We wish you all the best and hope you'll keep us ... More

  6.  

    Overall work experience and chances for moving up in the company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Union City, GA
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Union City, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    If you have the right supervisor or lead you may have a better chance of moving up in the company.

    Cons

    Salaries are not competative with similar jobs with other companies.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  7. 6 people found this helpful  

    Given plenty of opportunities to grow in my first 10 years but consultants are taking those opportunities now

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager
    Former Employee - Senior Manager

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Had 7 roles of increasing responsibility with 10 - 15 years. Lot of good people to work with in supply chain and operations. Pay was good even though they did reduce bonuses for my level by 25%.

    Cons

    Very unstable as you never know when the next change to affect you will come. Engagement is low but with constant layoffs over last few years and the company's desire to reduce bonuses and benefits to be in the 50th percentile its to be expected. Despite my years of service and leaving in good standing my exit interview was blown off. There's so much focus on driving the stock price up that folks don't have time to do the little things to make the business better. Its all about the short term.
    Not bitter at all but there are rumors of some unethical but not illegal activity going on with the execs. For the internal employees its hard to bear about as integrity is supposed to be one of our key values

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't forget the long term effects on the company. There are a good number of employees that have and will be around for the long haul so take care of them. Respect your supply chain and operation employees and stop relying on consultants.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your exit interview experience and will be sure to share the feedback with our HR teams for the future. We appreciate your hard work and tenure ... More

  8.  

    Great culture and work environment. On the upswing.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    The culture, work environment and flexibility are the companies greatest strengths. The company is becoming more design centric which is very encouraging for the technical disciplines.

    Cons

    The leadership feels removed and disconnected from the average worker and therefore makes decisions that are not always well thought through.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are focused on building an "I want to work here" culture and will be sure to share your feedback to the leadership team.

  9.  

    Great employer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - PMO
    Former Employee - PMO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good mentors, lots of learning opportunities if your motivated.

    Cons

    Takes time to get the ball rolling from head office in USA

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Can always improve on providing strategic communication.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 28, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We hope that you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future career opportunities.

  10. 5 people found this helpful  

    Diversity and Management Leadership Questionable

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Human Resources
    Former Employee - Human Resources

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Great Employee Discounts on Products
    -New and Innovative products being developed continuously
    -Average Compensation Packages

    Cons

    -Questionable leadership - who too often focused on the wrong things (i.e. office gossip, trying to appease all parties)
    -Benefits left quite a bit to be desired
    -Relationships took priority of 75% of decisions that were made
    -There was no diversity representation in leadership roles at my location. No Asian/Hispanic/African-American representation, which ultimately put pressure on me as a minority in a visible position. Quite often I was singled-out due to not being able to "assimilate" or just being different.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    -Send people to cultural diversity/sensitivity training
    -While relationships are very important in corporations, metrics should still be a priority as well.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate learning more about your experience and will be sure to share this feedback with our leadership teams.

  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    I worked as a temp for a long time and watched other temps get hired and I was let go.

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Freeport, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Freeport, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers, great employee perks.

    Cons

    Very "clicky", unprofessional supervisors who choose department "pets"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    act like managers, and judge your employees on performance and knowledge, not your personal feelings towards them.

    Doesn't Recommend

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future endeavors.

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.