Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated March 26, 2015
345 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 3 people found this helpful

    This company is not like it used to be.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Huntersville, NC

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Large company and a lot of opportunities but you have to know the right people to get promoted!

    Cons

    Before our current CEO things were great! We worked hard and played hard! Now we just work hard and no work life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take management courses because the one I have had for the past few years is horrible. It's clear the next move was manager and they pushed this person along up the ranks.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. I encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner. They can provide more insight into the Internal Candidate Experience and help provide advice on how ... More

  2. 8 people found this helpful

    Management was Clueless

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager in Oak Brook, IL

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Summer Friday's, work life balance, autonomy running your business, great place to start to learn brand management without an MBA

    Cons

    Lack of rotations on teams, very little promotions, low salary compared to other companies, constant reorg, no real understanding of what it takes to be competitive within the categories the brands are playing in

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Talk to your lower level employees more to get a better understanding of the employee engagement, VPs are typically clueless.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We always welcome employee feedback and ideas on ways to improve process, culture, etc. I encourage you to reach out to your Human Resources Business Partner to provide ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful

    Good company but lots of change. No more hiring local. All new jobs added in NC, ATL or NYC

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (more than a year)

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Millions invested into facility by parent company Newell Rubbermaid. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Only available jobs within LENOX are now in NYC, ATL or Huntersville, NC. No internship program after 2014. Difficult to get into company without knowing someone.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! In 2015, we are expecting more than 75 interns across North America as well as a variety of full-time positions within a variety of functions. We encourage you to check out ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Intern

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid

    Pros

    great experience
    got to travel
    large intern class

    Cons

    only con - recruitment happens very early in the fall

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your internship experience with NWL. We encourage you to keep in touch with your HR team member for potential full-time opportunities ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful

    Changes have made us stronger

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    There have been so many hard changes for the company throughout the past couple years, but we are finally starting to see them all pay off and the quality of work has really improved! We have so many great resources and tools now, I feel the company is really stepping it up to become a strong CPG powerhouse like it should be

    Cons

    Can be a very competitive environment

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 17, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! Glad to hear. It's a very exciting time to be a part of our company.

  7. Great stepping stone

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - ReField Sales Representative in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Being a field rep can be a bit of a struggle since you are constantly working alone but, my manager was very involved and called me once a week to catch up, offer guidance and let me know how I was doing. About once every other month another rep would come and work with me for almost a week, which was always fun! They also had an annual sales meeting in Vegas when I worked there!

    Cons

    There were a lot of other reps who were very fake and tried to suck up to managers. I made sure to be professional .and watch what I said so none of the two-faced employees would talk behind my back.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get a better understanding of your employees and find out which ones are actually working really hard and making a difference verse the ones who are just sitting at home and pretending to work!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll consider us for future career opportunities.

  8. 3 people found this helpful

    Good goes bad

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good working environment; Perks, onsite cafe and gym; flexible hours, friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Too much changes in the last couple of years and still changing, benefits/pays are good for senior leaders but not so good in general. Relationship is way better than performance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take care of your good employees.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck and hope you'll keep us in mind for future career opportunities.

  9. Supply Chain Management Development Program

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    The rotational program is awesome. You get 4 different positions in 2 different locations. Company believes in work-life balance and the people there are great to work with.

    Cons

    It was challenging working here through the restructuring period. Many people were shuffling within the company, and to areas outside the company.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Oct 1, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are very proud of the Supply Chain Management Development Program and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience.We wish you all the best and hope you'll keep us ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful

    One of the Best

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Organized, smartly managed, good salary, great benefits, good company

    Cons

    Favoritism with advancement opportunities where I was.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 2, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We wish you the best of luck with your current endeavors and hope you'll keep Newell Rubbermaid in mind for future opportunities.

  11. 1 person found this helpful

    Overall work experience and chances for moving up in the company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Union City, GA
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Union City, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    If you have the right supervisor or lead you may have a better chance of moving up in the company.

    Cons

    Salaries are not competative with similar jobs with other companies.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 18, 2014Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!

Work at Newell Rubbermaid? Share Your Experiences

Newell Rubbermaid

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.