North Highland Reviews

Updated April 24, 2015
229 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (1)

    Senior consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Management cares about the employees, family matters to the company, coworkers become good friends.

    Cons

    Less travel-also a pro, lower salary (made up for by higher bonus and increased stability)

    North Highland Response

    Apr 20, 2015Global Services

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on what it’s like to work with North Highland! One of our core values is care, meaning that we respect and value the individual capabilities, contributions and ... More

  2. Helpful (3)

    Changing...not necessarily for the better

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Highland

    Pros

    Many great consultants . Clients respect the NH name. Local office leadership quality is mostly excellent

    Cons

    Recent changes to comp and releveling of existing staff have been poorly handled. Good staff are leaving due to feeling de -valued.

    New people are hired with less experience than existing staff, yet getting higher pay than those who have been loyal good performers for years.

    Having trouble delivering real solutions because of shrinking number of project execution staff, and too many new Vice Presidents being hired.

    Industry and strategy direction is poorly delivered to local teams.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the good experienced people as you add new folks, and realize you don't have to look outside to bring in management talent.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 17, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate the open dialogue that Glassdoor provides and recognize that as North Highland continues to grow, there will be challenges that need to be addressed ... More

  3. Things have changed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than 8 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    In some ways, the recent changes at North Highland have brought some positives. We have gotten better at ensuring people are living up to their level expectations --which has been a hard but necessary change. Also, for the most part, I find my colleagues to be sharp people that are enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    While we say we want to do more strategic work that assures our standing as true advisors to clients, we still get caught in a lot of staff aug work. There are Account Executives that simply don't know how to get away from selling that sort of role. Furthermore, as consultants move up to Principal and even VP, expectations of them are solidly around BD and their ability to sell... and their ability to develop others and be good managers gets overlooked. Because we don't have 360 reviews, these concerns don't get aired... but it's definitely a topic of conversation among consultants. And many know which Client Leads and Client Execs to be wary of and even stay away from.

    Advice to Management

    The change management aspect to the changes that North Highland has undergone in the past year has been lacking. Some of the people we have lost were probably folks that needed to leave... but we have also lost a number of key people that will be hard to replace. Please pay attention to this --and please ensure that Principals and VPs are qualified to be at those levels from beyond just a BD perspective.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 23, 2015Global Services

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor. Consulting is a learning profession, and we benefit and grow from continued honest dialogue. Your local market and region leadership want to hear ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. iT Tech

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - IT Tech in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - IT Tech in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Benefits are not very good

    Advice to Management

    Work hard for your staff

    North Highland Response

    Apr 23, 2015Global Services

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on what it's like to work at North Highland. We are always looking for ways to improve!

  6. Executive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Executive in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    We are still the same firm we have always been. Our culture of care for our clients, employees, and community are as strong as ever. Our new Operations Strategy group is driving big changes at our clients leading to solid execution work.

    Cons

    Change is hard even for consultants. Maybe especially for consultants. They market changed and we had to respond in order to maintain our growth and effectiveness with our clients. We now offer a wider range of services and our folks needed to align with those. Sadly, not everyone did. The silver lining for those who were with us a long time is the Employee Ownership. Many received 6 or 7 figure equity payouts.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 20, 2015Global Services

    At North Highland, we believe that open dialogue and transparency are important to helping us grow and evolve as a firm. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about North Highland!

  7. Helpful (3)

    Slow and Painful Demise

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager

    I worked at North Highland full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The people are great. At least, whatever is left of them. NH is losing its top talent drastically because of the model changes which bring unrealistic sales and performance goals making it nearly impossible to meet them.

    Cons

    Smaller offices have limited work (making it impossible to meet goals), high employee turnover, and quite a bit of leadership transition. Business development leads in smaller offices are not solid and the firm does not seem to invest or focus on this. It is sad to watch the demise of this once fantastic company. It is sad to watch the top talent slowly dissipate and transition elsewhere. This is a slowly crumbling company. Get out while you can.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on talent retention. Focus on business development in smaller offices. Implement strong metrics and if the BD leads do not meet them, take action. And when the CEO has to encourage its employees to post good reviews on Glassdoor so that they "get the ratings up," not only does that woefully skew the results for honest job seekers, but it is also just a bad sign for where the company is headed.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 21, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on North Highland. We've always prided ourselves on being transparent and honest with our people and we believe it’s a two-way thing. Open feedback from our ... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    Times are changing for the worse...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager
    Current Employee - Senior Manager

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    High quality of life - no/low travel, flexibility in work schedule, telecommute opportunities. Worked for Fortune 100 companies in challenging, strategic, advisory roles.

    Cons

    Executive team is two faced. Compensation is woefully low in new/emerging offices. The Atlanta mothership is the priority, other offices are afterthoughts. Employee morale is at an all time low.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 20, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for feedback. We appreciate the open dialogue that Glassdoor provides and recognize that as North Highland continues to grow, there will be challenges that need to be addressed. We ... More

  9. Helpful (8)

    Consulting

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I love the people here! I have never worked in such a supportive environment!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Love the company values and senior leadership!

    North Highland Response

    Apr 20, 2015Global Services

    Thanks so much for your review! We always like to hear from employees who are having a positive experience at North Highland!

  10. Helpful (2)

    Get organized....please!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Real quality people. Relaxed but professional. Region Presidents and Market Leads are excellent.

    Cons

    Human resource changes to the compensation, career paths and performance management have been poorly implemented. Instead of putting an infrastructure in place and communicating accurate information, the consultant population has heard "We're working on it" or "Trust us". Very sad to say the blind are leading the blind off a cliff. An additional sad fact is that in a city like Atlanta we only have 4 or 5 African American consultants....what is that all about? I see this as a real negative reflection on talent selection. I've been with NH for 4 years and have to say experienced consultants are fewer and fewer as they are grabbed up by other firms and industries.

    Advice to Management

    Get your infrastructure in place. Your words may have improved with Marketing but from the inside there is very little substance or leadership to give them power.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 20, 2015Global Services

    At North Highland, we take employee feedback very seriously and will make sure to share your comments with those leading these internal efforts. We appreciate you voicing your concerns and would ... More

  11. Helpful (3)

    Middle market firm

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Highland

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Work life balance, minimal bureaucracy

    Cons

    Inconsistent quality of staff, no name recognition

    Advice to Management

    Pick one path - a middle size firm can't be everything to everyone.

Work at North Highland? Share Your Experiences

North Highland

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.