North Highland Reviews

Updated June 19, 2015
237 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset

237 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Helpful (8)

    Marketing Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people who work at North Highland truly treat one another with the utmost respect - whether it's understanding of work/life balance to genuinely supporting one another on team projects. I've worked at Big Fours and in industry, and this has been by far the most authentic and caring culture. Not to mention, the compensation and ESOP benefits have been very impressive.

    Cons

    There are few drawbacks at this organization that are not inherent to all companies of this size.

    Advice to Management

    None other than I have been impressed with how visible they are to the full organization on a regular basis, so to keep that it up. We notice and appreciate it!

    North Highland Response

    Apr 17, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on North Highland. Our people are and will always be our most important asset and we are happy to know you are enjoying working at North Highland. We appreciate ... More


  2. Helpful (16)

    Downhill Slide

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Orlando, FL
    Former Employee - Manager in Orlando, FL

    I worked at North Highland full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    There are small pockets of great people and great leaders - unfortunately they are now the exception and not the rule.

    Cons

    Change is inevitable. Change is not however an excuse for poor management, shady behavior, below market compensation and complete disregard for the values you were founded on. Leaders who lived the founding values have been systematically removed or have seen themselves out. There are few leaders left that I would want emulate and learn from. If you are considering joining this firm do your homework and understand what you are getting into. Promotions are slow, compensation is below market (and far below industry) and promises never seem to come to fruition. Working WITH our clients to provide value has given way to what can we SELL our client next.

    Advice to Management

    If you have no intention of honoring the values you give lip service to - change them.


  3. Helpful (9)

    Principal

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at North Highland

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits, Company Ownership, training, perks.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, horrible work acumen.

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees and work to build their skill sets.

    North Highland Response

    Jun 2, 2015Global Services

    We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience while at North Highland. Open feedback from both current and former employees is of paramount importance to us. We will use your ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    As owners, you receive as much as you give both professionally and culturally.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Facilities Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Global Facilities Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    An an ESOP, we take ownership of our professional careers thus reaping the benefits we collectively produce. Management trusts everyone will do what is best for our Firm. Successively, all professionals, from consultants to Global Services, make North Highland a Great Place to Work.

    Cons

    Continue to improve internal programs and processes.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to set high expectation for our future while never forgetting who we are and where we came from.

    North Highland Response

    May 5, 2015Global Services

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience on Glassdoor! We agree that our ownership culture makes us a unique place to work in the consulting field. If you have suggestions for what we can do ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    Exceptional leadership!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN

    I worked at North Highland full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Mid-sized consulting firm with top tier clients

    Cons

    Limited opportunity to travel weekly

    North Highland Response

    May 21, 2015Global Services

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your time at North Highland! We hope to see you again soon! And don't forget to join our official Alumni Group on LinkedIn to keep up with firm news, happenings ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    Consulting firm that leverages prior big 4 consulting experience

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at North Highland full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    North Highland is a consulting firm that leverages your prior big for consulting firm experience. It's small so you will have greater impact.

    Cons

    North Highland is a lesser known consulting firm. If you come from a large consulting firm you will need to be prepared to really sell their services.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to invest in talent development and simplify the payment structure. Increase base pay and reduce other levers.

    North Highland Response

    May 5, 2015Global Services

    Thanks for posting your review on Glassdoor. At North Highland, transparency is important to us and we consistently review our feedback to see what's working and areas for improvement. We appreciate ... More


  8. Helpful (7)

    Vision for the future

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    There has been a lot of great work done to position North Highland for even more growth into the future. I am particularly excited by the Vision - Unleashing Potential Together - and what this means for our client, our fellow co-owners, and how we can make an impact in our local community.
    We have very clear direction on the path ahead, where we are going, and how we will get there
    As a relative new North Highlander, I have been impressed by the fact that status quo is not good enough - our folks are driven for more and aren't afraid to tackle hard issues to do what is right for us as owners
    There are no sacred cows
    Strong leadership
    Ability to move more quickly than large consulting firms
    Great talent here

    Cons

    As with any change, there seemed to be a small number of folks holding to the past and concerned about their role in the future - some of that resulting in some noise from a vocal minority at times

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and keep making choices that push us forward.
    Maintain the bias toward speed and agility

    North Highland Response

    Apr 17, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for telling us about your experiences at North Highland! As we continue to grow and evolve as a firm, we value feedback from our employees on what’s working and what we can do better.


  9. Helpful (9)

    Things have changed

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland full-time (More than 8 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    In some ways, the recent changes at North Highland have brought some positives. We have gotten better at ensuring people are living up to their level expectations --which has been a hard but necessary change. Also, for the most part, I find my colleagues to be sharp people that are enjoyable to work with.

    Cons

    While we say we want to do more strategic work that assures our standing as true advisors to clients, we still get caught in a lot of staff aug work. There are Account Executives that simply don't know how to get away from selling that sort of role. Furthermore, as consultants move up to Principal and even VP, expectations of them are solidly around BD and their ability to sell... and their ability to develop others and be good managers gets overlooked. Because we don't have 360 reviews, these concerns don't get aired... but it's definitely a topic of conversation among consultants. And many know which Client Leads and Client Execs to be wary of and even stay away from.

    Advice to Management

    The change management aspect to the changes that North Highland has undergone in the past year has been lacking. Some of the people we have lost were probably folks that needed to leave... but we have also lost a number of key people that will be hard to replace. Please pay attention to this --and please ensure that Principals and VPs are qualified to be at those levels from beyond just a BD perspective.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 23, 2015Global Services

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor. Consulting is a learning profession, and we benefit and grow from continued honest dialogue. Your local market and region leadership want to hear ... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    Director

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at North Highland

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial; Great people; Grounded in values; Ego-free; Flexible; Smart people getting things done without the hurdle of bureaucracy!

    Cons

    Resources are limited compared to larger consulting firms; Time of growth equals a lot of change, which truly is not a 'con'.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on why North Highland was founded and the people!

    North Highland Response

    Apr 17, 2015Global Services

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your experience at North Highland. Thanks for the great feedback!


  11. Helpful (15)

    Slow and Painful Demise

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager

    I worked at North Highland full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The people are great. At least, whatever is left of them. NH is losing its top talent drastically because of the model changes which bring unrealistic sales and performance goals making it nearly impossible to meet them.

    Cons

    Smaller offices have limited work (making it impossible to meet goals), high employee turnover, and quite a bit of leadership transition. Business development leads in smaller offices are not solid and the firm does not seem to invest or focus on this. It is sad to watch the demise of this once fantastic company. It is sad to watch the top talent slowly dissipate and transition elsewhere. This is a slowly crumbling company. Get out while you can.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on talent retention. Focus on business development in smaller offices. Implement strong metrics and if the BD leads do not meet them, take action. And when the CEO has to encourage its employees to post good reviews on Glassdoor so that they "get the ratings up," not only does that woefully skew the results for honest job seekers, but it is also just a bad sign for where the company is headed.

    North Highland Response

    Apr 21, 2015Global Services

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on North Highland. We've always prided ourselves on being transparent and honest with our people and we believe it’s a two-way thing. Open feedback from our ... More



Showing 237 of 246 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.