North Shore LIJ Health System Reviews

Updated July 3, 2015
268 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.6
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
North Shore LIJ Health System President, CEO, and Director Michael J. Dowling
Michael J. Dowling
125 Ratings

Pros
  • good benefits and health insurance (in 16 reviews)

  • Great work life balance as far as days off go (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • They talk about work-life balance but aren't really committed to it (in 7 reviews)

  • Unless you're a health professional (MD,RN, MPH, etc), there's no room for growth (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

268 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Great workplace!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System

    Pros

    The working atmosphere is perfect and a great place to learn and get hands on training. I definitely recommend this place

    Cons

    There aren't any cons other than work hours I suppose but even then, you wouldn't mind because it doesnt seem like a bore

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up that is all. They know what they are doing here so I don't have much to say. I know there won't be any problems.

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    Thank you for this feedback! We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that commitment.


  2. Patient Care Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rosedale, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rosedale, NY

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They are a people friendly work place. They work with your scheldule and is highly recommended facility. When you work there you are like family.

    Cons

    They are short short staff and the work load can sometimes be overwhelming. Some workers are required to clock out and others are not.

    Advice to Management

    Please provide more staff members.

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    We agree that adding more team members should be a priority. We’re currently, and aggressively, rolling out new initiatives to find talent with the same great skill levels. Meanwhile, work/life ... More


  3. nslij

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System

    Pros

    nice work environment with coworkers

    Cons

    long vesting period for retirement benefits, spouse must pay an extra sum for joining healthcare plan

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    Thank you for this feedback! We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that commitment.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great company to work for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company to work for ,the employees make a difference. There are great employment perk such as 401b plan,credit union and insurance.

    Cons

    Can be disorganized depending what department you work for.

    Advice to Management

    Opportunities for employees to climb the career ladder.

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    Thank you for this feedback! We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that commitment.


  6. Admin

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Manhasset, NY
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Manhasset, NY

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    benefits, great staff, great management system, team work, innovation and dedication

    Cons

    close minded
    No room for growth
    No teamwork
    Stressful environment
    Posting old positions takes forever

    Advice to Management

    Na

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    Thank you for your feedback. We continue to improve, evolve and grow every day. The availability of our career development opportunities are consistently ranked above national benchmarks by our ... More


  7. practice office supervisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefits, supportive management, tuition reimbursement. They have a lot of employee enrichment programs and a lot of opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    A lot of their required training programs are only offered on Long Island, which is a bit of a hassle of you're a Manhattan employee. Not very clear or upfront about how their raises and compensation programs work.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and clear with new employees, have more HR type info available on the employee intranet.


  8. my last job there

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at North Shore LIJ Health System

    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    the pple you work with become your extended family, benefits are great, vacation time is great

    Cons

    work very hard, made to feel guilty when you take time off (vac or sick), management does not recognize hard workers, no promotions, if you have a complaint you are seen as not a team member, always get the sense that management feels everyone is replaceable

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    Thank you for this feedback! We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that commitment.


  9. Administrative Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Large enough to move around and experience different departments.
    Continuing Education through CLI and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Compensation is not reflective of current Manhattan market.
    Leadership lacks cohesive message. Often times, mid level leadership loses focus on the overall goals and focuses primarily on pleasing physicians, not patients.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the size of the organization. Large companies often lack appropriate communication.


  10. Great Health System to work for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Shore LIJ Health System full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Extensive services across different specialties

    Cons

    Fragmented systems due to rapid acquisition

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in Research

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and take these kinds of comments seriously. We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    They care more about image

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at North Shore LIJ Health System full-time (More than 10 years)

    Disapproves of CEO
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    My job was stimulating and challenging. I really enjoyed working with most of my co-workers and the salary was decent.

    Cons

    The "top people" were more concerned about image and obtaining more opportunities to make money than they were about genuinely helping the patients. They did not value allot of their employees.....ultimately I felt completely disposable. I was a witness to heartbreaking treatment of many valuable co-workers. Their main interest = MONEY over everything else.

    Advice to Management

    Realize that you will ultimately function more efficiently if you treat your employees well. Don't keep them in the dark about everything. Value them as members of a team and not just disposable cogs.

    North Shore LIJ Health System Response

    Jul 4, 2015Candidate Engagement

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and take these kinds of comments seriously. We’re committed to being the best employer in the New York Metro area, and your feedback helps us reach that ... More



Showing 268 of 280 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.