Nutrisystem

www.nutrisystem.com

Nutrisystem Reviews

Updated January 20, 2015
Updated January 20, 2015
61 Reviews
2.7
61 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dawn M. Zier
25 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Worked as a Contractor in their Business Dept not the Call Center (in 5 reviews)

  • Good Pay, Good Co- Workers, Good PTO, Good Benefits (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Lack of respect for call center employees (in 6 reviews)

  • The company has been re-structured 2-3 times in the last 2 years and not even upper management was safe (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    OK.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Former Call Center Employee
    Current Employee - Former Call Center Employee

    I have been working at Nutrisystem

    Pros

    Fast paced and busy call center. When it's busy its great. Great product. You are really helping people.

    Cons

    Could have more growth.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Review attendance policy. More Internal career opportunities.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 21, 2015Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the suggestions. Our Paid Time Off policy is created to cover both Vacation & Sick days. We review our policies on a regular basis to make sure they are ... More

  2.  

    Ok

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nutrisystem

    Pros

    Ok place to work. I was there less than a year and saw a lot of turnover.

    Cons

    High turnover rates. Poor management

    Nutrisystem Response

    Dec 30, 2014HR Director

    Thanks for your feedback. Nutrisystem's continuous improvement has been shown both in our employee engagement results as well as year-over-year turnover. 3/4 of staff indicate that their manager ... More

  3.  

    Terribly frustrating and stressful!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem part-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company has an excellent product and great people work there. My co-workers were awesome!

    Cons

    Management tends to utilize a negative strategy to deal with employees. For example, there is an attendance policy that does not allow employees to utilize sick days when they are sick. In fact there are no sick days. Many employees are forced to either use their PTO "Paid Time Off" or to come to work sick. Management makes no exceptions in these cases and employees are often penalized for calling out of work. The ability to advance within the company is minimal. Only certain hand-picked people are allowed to be promoted, while others who have been at the company for years, and are extremely qualified are not being promoted.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management needs to understand that when you are good to your people they will be good to you. Try a more positive approach to dealing with employees. Give them a more positive and fair work environment and a more flexible time-off policy, which will help them to have a more enjoyable experience at your company.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 12, 2015Senior Recruiter

    We are appreciative of your feedback and suggestions. Our Paid Time Off policy is created to cover both Vacation & Sick days. We review our policies on a regular basis to make sure they are ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Horrible

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Call Center in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Call Center in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Meet some nice people. There are a small handful of caring individuals working there who have high integrity. Some of the supervisors honestly care about their people.

    Cons

    Subpar training, blatant gossiping, disrespectful supervisors, High turnover, call center employes make up stories to sell the product to people who cannot afford it. Jealously rules the place as far as sales go, others in stiff competition to sell prepackaged non-food, laden with chemicals. It was like being in hell. A high compensation rate cannot make up for the stressful, spy like environment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Training should be more hands on with computers that actually work. Spend more time training the supervisors about respect, common courtesy and basic manners. Most of the call center employees are there because they cannot find jobs elsewhere, some have degrees and are high functioning and put up with being treated poorly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  6.  

    Total Disrespect for Employees' Intelligence

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Weight Loss Counselor in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    the work environment is clean, there are several social occasions throughout the year such as employee appreciation BBQ and Holiday party.

    Cons

    nepotism:

    people are groomed by management for promotions. when positions in management open up, they already know who they're going to hire even though they encourage any employee to apply. there was once a position for team lead open and they held interviews. They offered the position to the person they had been grooming but that person did want the shift that was offered and declined the position. Instead of hiring another qualified applicant, management decided to not fill the position at all and instead break up the responsibilities of the position and give them to the people who had applied without giving them a raise or promotion.

    increased responsibility:

    During my time with the company, the weight loss counselors responsibilities increased to cover several responsibilities of all the other departments.

    Counselors are expected to handle overflow from sales, retention, customer service, and Nutrition and Dietary. There is no department that handles overflow from counseling. I suppose management might say that is because weight loss counselor is a position that requires a degree while most other departments do not. However, a rep in sales or retention that is good at their job can easily earn more money than the degree carrying counselors and customer service reps only starts $1 less an hour than counselors.

    reduced benefits/compensations:

    Since starting with the company I have seen a reduction in benefits and compensation. The have removed the on site gym to save money on insurance and they have reduced the commission earned by counselors.

    While continuing counselors (a position that is supposed to be about personal service) to sell more and more, commissions have been reduced. For each program sale, a counselor used to get $10 and for ala carte orders, 3% (both numbers considerably less than what a sale rep would earn for similar sales) . Not long after starting there, they changed it to 3% across the board which means a counselor could only make $6-$9 per program sale (depending on the program) as opposed to $10. and more recently, commission has been reduced to 2% across the board.

    Also, on several occasions, we would all receive emails that said we were to cover retention and try to prevent people from canceling their program. A retention rep would make commission on saving customers but a counselor does not.

    All in all, the company definitely feels like it is trying to act like a bigger company than it actually is.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Treat your employees better. Initial benefits seems appealing but stop tripping them away.Hire more employees, fill that half empty call center to relive pressure on employees.

    Add another call center for the west coast instead of one call center on the east coast for the whole country which leads to long hours for employees without any lulls in phone activity. If the company wants to continue to perform well across the entire country than it needs to expand physically.

    If you want employees to sell more, offer more commission not less.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 7, 2015HR Director

    Thank you for your note. I am sorry that your experience with us was not more positive. Your experience does not reflect the majority of our staff in our Contact Center. We recently ended our ... More

  7.  

    Great Pay, Poor management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Fort Washington, PA
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Fort Washington, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    great pay, pto, free coffee, meeting other call center reps.

    Cons

    events for sickness,and lateness
    aux times
    team leaders and supervisors never help
    high turn over

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    train team leads and supervisors
    stand up for reps when the client is wrong
    tell supervisors and leads to stop passing the buck take calls instead of sending to voicemails makes clients more irrate
    actually understand your employees we are people with families too

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Jan 7, 2015HR Director

    Thanks for your note. Nutrisystem’s Contact Center employees are provided ample support once they complete their training. These include not only our supervisory team, but also lead staff and call ... More

  8.  

    Nutrisystem really tried my skill level and made it better.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Inventory Control Coordinator in Horsham, PA
    Former Employee - Inventory Control Coordinator in Horsham, PA

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Long hours, and the travel time is crazy, always on the go!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    none

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Dec 5, 2014HR Director

    Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your positive experience at Nutrisystem!

  9.  

    Interesting

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Retention Representative
    Former Employee - Retention Representative

    I worked at Nutrisystem (less than a year)

    Pros

    Notice the positive reviews are from higher ups or white collar temps. The bad reviews seem to get buried by good ones. The cut our yearly promised commission

    Cons

    The toxic and culturally biased environment

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop inflating stats and online reviews.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10. 4 people found this helpful  

    was there for 10 months in sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative

    I worked at Nutrisystem full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    The people not in management. Nice people until they get into management. Had a recent person promoted to management. She is fake as a 3 dollar bill. The folks that work for her can not stand her

    Cons

    Hours worked late hours, flexibility is not there. Management needs to be looked at closely. sales reps are NOT happy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Sales management rule with an iron fist. I was added to a special line where we were not making any money. I was told we would get a gift card when the project was over. I asked in a meeting if the sales manager was going to be there. I was canned within days they don't want you to think for yourself

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Dec 5, 2014HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. This experience does not reflect the majority of our staff in our Contact Center. We recently ended our annual employee engagement survey, completed by 94% of staff ... More

  11.  

    Good Pay, Poor Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nutrisystem full-time

    Pros

    Great Commision Opportunities , High Bonus

    Cons

    Boring , Redundent Job, Poor Management at Senior Level

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Nutrisystem Response

    Aug 4, 2014Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your valued feedback. While a strong commission structure is important to us, we also want employees to be challenged in their day to day tasks. Certain departments offer Action Teams ... More

Work at Nutrisystem? Share Your Experiences

Nutrisystem

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.