P&S Transportation

  www.pstrans.com
  www.pstrans.com

P&S Transportation Reviews

Updated October 15, 2014
Updated October 15, 2014
7 Reviews
4.3
7 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Robert L. Pike, Jr. & Scott A. Smith
5 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Truck Driver
    Former Employee - Truck Driver

    I worked at P&S Transportation full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good pay, Good trucks and Good people.

    Cons

    The challenges here is you own person, you will make if that is what you want.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    No change

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Oct 14, 2014Director of HR

    Thanks for the feedback!

  2.  

    A few minor changes

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The family atmosphere in the company is wonderful. the job is complex, and mind demanding so the day moves quickly. The company is for the most part understanding of family dynamics and allows for variations in times to accomodate real life situations.

    Cons

    There is alot of good ole boy dynamics within the middle managements, not leaving opportunity for employees that are not a part of that group. There are fewer opportunities available to satellite terminal employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Human resources should anomously speak to each employee with the full protection of not being singled if there is an issue. There is alot of favortism and overlooked activity among some employees.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Oct 20, 2014Director of HR

    We really do appreciate your feedback and are concerned about the "Cons" as you state them above. HR is always available and privacy and anonymity are a given if there are issues you would like to ... More

  3.  

    Growing Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Company is growing at such a fast rate that your job never gets boring. Employees are able to learn with the company and still contribute to its legacy.

    Cons

    Since the company is always changing and has not had many years of experience, there are still some policies that could be worked on. The PTO is very limited which doesn't encourage spending time with family outside of work and benefits could be better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Offering continued training to employees may make them feel more invested in the company and better benefits could give great employees with families a reason to stay.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Oct 20, 2014Director of HR

    We appreciate your feedback. We are always looking to improve what we offer to ensure we are the best fit for all our employees!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Growing Flatbed Company with Tons of Potential for it's Employees

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The best thing about working at P&S is all the other people who work at P&S! From the top management to the driver's themselves there is a sense of community and of everyone pushing in the same direction that you don't often get with companies this size. And speaking of size... P&S is growing so fast that there is never an absence of things to do! I'm never bored and I know that as long as I'm a good employee, they will have work for me - and growth. There always seems to be opportunity for advancement and learning everything I can about the industry.

    Cons

    With the amount of growth and the fast pace of the industry, there are times that it all feels overwhelming. But the senior managers are great in that they too are torn in multiple directions. This does give a certain amount of a feeling of shared responsibility... but I must say, some weeks I go home physically exhausted and all I did was sit at a desk!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you are doing! Your open door policy and shared responsibility is working. Great job and great company!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Aug 25, 2014Director of HR

    Thank you for the great feedback! We'll keep our doors open and our noses to the grindstone!

  6.  

    They didn't LIE. Good company to work with.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at P&S Transportation

    Pros

    New trucks that are very well maintained.pre pass and ezpass.steady freight. They allow $200 per week advance (if you need that much). Dispatch gets you home weekends.the people here are just some of the best people in the business PERIOD. Make good money with good benefits. What else do you want?

    Cons

    Wait times at some steel factory pick-up and drops. Can't fuel twice in one day.detention pay isn't very clear.but great for the most part

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pre planning and detention time pay would help a little.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Aug 25, 2014Director of HR

    Good advice. We are working on clarifying detention time rules and getting better all the time at pre-planning. Thanks for the feedback.

  7.  

    Great company but gets worse as they expand

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Flatbed Driver in Norfolk, VA
    Former Employee - Flatbed Driver in Norfolk, VA

    I worked at P&S Transportation full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Loved working for this company. They were fair and they didn't force dispatch you and you ran where you wanted to run as long as you were willing to run. I was home every weekend for the most part and whenever I needed a day off my accommodations were always met. Whenever something went wrong with the truck it was fixed immediately.

    Cons

    The insurance is horrible and don't get 1 of those internationals they a piece of crap.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Don't expand too much too fast.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    P&S Transportation Response

    Aug 25, 2014Director of HR

    Thank you for the feedback. We are working hard to maintain what is great about our culture as we expand. We will keep working on making this a great place for everyone to work.

  8.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Company Driver in Ensley, AL
    Current Employee - Company Driver in Ensley, AL

    I have been working at P&S Transportation full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Driver friendly with opportunities to earn a great pay. They do what they can to make the job help provide you and your family with a good income .

    Cons

    Just as any other otr away from home and some areas of running lanes that doesn't always be in a good area for freight to get you back home every weekend

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay increase and check out the driver for information on making the company better

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    P&S Transportation Response

    Aug 25, 2014Director of HR

    Great advice on checking with drivers on how to make us even better! Thanks!

P&S Transportation Photos

Work at P&S Transportation? Share Your Experiences

P&S Transportation

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.