PEAK6 Investments Reviews

Updated April 20, 2015
74 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.6
74 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Matthew Hulsizer
48 Ratings

Pros
  • There are plenty of smart people and not too many jerks (in 12 reviews)

  • Good benefits, decently easy to take time off (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • discretionary bonus) to their extreme benefit (in 3 reviews)

  • Career progression opportunities for middle management are limited (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Director

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Most every person at P6 is highly intelligent and the best at what they do. I learned something new on a daily basis working along side my coworkers. It was a difficult decision for me to leave P6 for a new opportunity.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a place to coast along with little to no effort, this is not the place for you. Expect a high stress level at times and even higher expectations. I

    Advice to Management

    I have nothing but respect and appreciation for management.

  2. Unique firm with a variety of opportunities for career growth

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    PEAK6 is always looking to invest is new opportunities across a wide array of industries. With those investments brought the chance to grow my professional skill set and work in areas that I wouldn't have had exposure to at other investments firms. The company invests in employees that deliver, adapt quickly and show strong work ethic.

    Cons

    Overall, I really appreciated that the company can quickly pivot to the changing environment but sometimes the changes seems more reactive to a small blips vs. industry changes.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I feel the company is on a positive direction. The changes with the leadership style and introduction of more transparency has allowed the overall company feel more connected. I would recommend to continue that trend

  3. Needs Focus

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Cool office space with decent people

    Cons

    comp is decent but low compared to other prop trading shops in Chicago

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Good balance between small and huge. Financial culture without the edge

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Technology in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Technology in Chicago, IL

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time (More than 3 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working in a few different areas/roles, there were plenty of opportunities to find something you liked. It's ok to stumble a little.. the organization helps find a role that fits you and them if you have potential. Sometimes the culture and rumors make it sound like that's not the case.

    It's a no non-sense and fact oriented culture, which for me was a plus. Don't expect to BS your way to success. Less cutthroat than typical financial/trading stereotypes, however. It's no startup, but you can have an impact.

    Cons

    There's a feeling that it's constantly in transition. They want to keep everyone adapting and changing.. sometimes that doesn't land for most. It's probably the root of most of the reviews here mentioning lack of focus.

    Advice to Management

    Things are trending positive. Keep making those changes and opportunities for top performers.

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 17, 2015President

    Thanks for your feedback. We're glad that you were able to take advantage of the diverse range of opportunities at the company and you felt supported to find the right opportunity. We are always ... More

  6. Helpful (1)

    Do NOT care about their employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good technology, a few great people, beautiful office and a fully-stocked kitchen.

    Cons

    Upper management who are clueless and do not care about their employees. The office politics were absolutely ridiculous and there was some kind of restructuring every single year.

    Advice to Management

    Care about the people who make the money and don't be so greedy.

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 17, 2015President

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to create a great environment for employees and I am sorry you did not have an overall better experience with PEAK6. If there is anything additional ... More

  7. Lots of room to learn and grow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Nice perks, smart people, amazing office

    Cons

    Some things coming from the top aren't planned or thought out very well

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 17, 2015President

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you felt things weren't thought out well. We need to do a better job of sharing the reasons for our decisions and communicating more transparently, so it's ... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    Overall awful place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time (More than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Decent benefits package including 401K matching (discretionary), health care, life insurance, etc.

    Cons

    1. Compensation is far below standards in prop trading. It is also very opaque so it is very difficult to know exactly all of the variables that affect your compensation.
    2. Enormous paradox in how they operate. They claim to be constantly evolving and looking to develop new strategies/ideas but in reality, this couldn't be further from the truth. They have been doing the same strategy for 20 years and any idea that radically strays away from that is shut down.
    3. They treat employees like garbage. People are often fired without warning and there is no severance package to soften the blow. They take you into a room for a meeting and you are not allowed to go back to the desk afterwards, not even to grab your things. You are led outside while someone from HR collects your belongings and brings it out to you.
    4. Nonexistent career opportunities. No transparent path for going up the ranks. Senior management is essentially a group of friends that knew each other from college or previous firms.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain some kind of focus and treat your employees better.

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 17, 2015President

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to create a great environment for employees and I am sorry you did not have an overall better experience with PEAK6. If there is anything additional ... More

  9. Helpful (4)

    It's just a pay check.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    If you are a trader and If you want to be well-versed in options trading, then this is the place for you. Peak6 is a very disciplined options trading firm. There are a few very smart technology people that you could learn from. They have bags tournaments, playground builds, and poker nights, all of which are cool company perks. They give you candy, chips and soda too if you get excited about that kind of thing.

    Cons

    There is a lack of growth for employees. No upward mobility. There is a conflict between the old trading firm culture and the new corporate culture that PEAK6 is trying to embrace. The old culture is hard to break. If you are not a trader, then this is not the place for you unless you plan on being there for a good amount of time.

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 3, 2015President

    Thanks for your feedback. We do want PEAK6 to be a great place for people to build and grow their careers. We're thinking a lot about career paths, including how structured, or adhoc, they should ... More

  10. Helpful (2)

    Great culture and people

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    Good benefits, compensated well, great corporate culture, fun parties, lots of opportunities to get involved in the community or with other business divisions

    Cons

    strict hierarchy, productivity sometimes seemed less important than face time in the office or accessibility after hours, executives were inaccessible

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more transparent and accessible to your employees

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 3, 2015President

    Thanks for your feedback. I completely agree with your advice on being transparent and accessible. We do hold regular all-hands to share goals, challenges, and updates on business performance and ... More

  11. Helpful (2)

    Terrible place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Management takes an interest in helping you excel

    Cons

    You're paid a discretionary bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you're doing

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    Feb 3, 2015President

    Thanks for your feedback. We're disappointed that you're no longer with the firm and wish you well. We appreciate you taking the time to provide the positive feedback.

Work at PEAK6 Investments? Share Your Experiences

PEAK6 Investments

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.