PUMA

  about.puma.com/en/careers
  about.puma.com/en/careers

PUMA Reviews

Updated November 11, 2014
Updated November 11, 2014
124 Reviews
3.6
124 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
PUMA CEO Björn Gulden
Björn Gulden
18 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • There were lots of free clothes, there was an 80% discount otherwise, there was a large product selection (in 9 reviews)

  • Flexible Schedule, Relaxed Working Atmosphere, Cool People, Best Retail Discount, Free Clothing Every Qtr (in 7 reviews)


Cons
  • There has been much turn over within the company involving upper management (in 9 reviews)

  • Limited opportunity for advancement (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Brand, Great People, Great Potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA

    I have been working at PUMA full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Brand, people, potential. Fantastic category for sport and fashion enthusiasts.

    Cons

    Lacking some self-control, discipline and clear top-down strategy

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    short term pain is worth the long-term gain. Make daring decisions and let's remove/replace some of the complacent folks in management. Let's rebuild this great brand.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    PUMA Response

    Nov 14, 2014Human Resources

    Thanks a lot for your positive feedback. We are aware that ongoing changes in the past have been difficult for employees worldwide. We are positive though that with our new orientation and ideas from ... More

  2.  

    A fun work environment!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Full Time Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Full Time Supervisor in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at PUMA full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Store discount, clothing allotments, and medical/dental package for full time associates are quite nice. Nice atmosphere and working relationship with fellow employees and management (bad eggs are quickly weeded out). Work put in is noticed and appreciated.

    Cons

    Sales associates expected to work at a level similar to commissioned associates at other chains, except without the commission as motivation. Unrealistic sales goals during the recession. These can mostly be attributed to Puma NA rather than the store itself.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Commission! There is no better way to ensure sales associates will attempt to sell as much to each customer as they absolutely can.

    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    PUMA Response

    Nov 14, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your positive feedback and your advice! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time at PUMA. We wish you all the best for your further career!

  3.  

    marketing intern

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at PUMA as an intern

    Pros

    good culture and love the work

    Cons

    Management is a bit lousy in terms of helping you grow

    PUMA Response

    Nov 14, 2014Human Resources

    Many thanks for your feedback. We wish you all the best for your future career.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Full Time Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Full Time Supervisor in Austin, TX

    I have been working at PUMA full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    good benefits for both part-time and full-time

    Cons

    Internal promotions are slow going.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    PUMA Response

    Nov 14, 2014Human Resources

    Many thanks for your feedback. We wish you all the best for your future career!

  6.  

    Great company to work for but upper management is lacking in experience.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - PT Supervisor in Uncasville, CT
    Current Employee - PT Supervisor in Uncasville, CT

    I have been working at PUMA part-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The discount is amazing. You get an allotment of clothes and shoes every season. Co workers are passionate about the product. The customer experience are one in a life time since this store is located inside of a casino.

    Cons

    There has been much turn over within the company involving upper management. District managers becoming Regional and then Area Managers after being a District manager for only a couple months, and its not because of their personal achievements it because of the company down sizing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take more time to experience and evaluate each store. Too many upper management are just looking at the trend of sales and not checking on the efficiency of every employee.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    PUMA Response

    Nov 14, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed working for PUMA. Thank you also for the constructive criticism! We take it serious and will get on touch with the persons in charge ... More

  7.  

    Horrible

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at PUMA

    Pros

    Free clothes every season.

    Cons

    Way too many managers not enough associates. Promo changes are super random, because of the lack of associates supervisors turn into sales people. At least 3 or more policy and procedures to read and sign daily. Store manager runs a 1.2 million location in the middle of nowhere like its a 8 million location. Where anything you do is never enough. No open communication between supervisors and district manager. If contacting store manager while she's off she gives you a lecture of why we called on her day off. Way too much paperwork for closing procedures. Company has trust issues with money and there employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Loosen up the grips. People want to come to work and not be treated horribly.

    PUMA Response

    Sep 29, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We can understand your anger, but at the same time we also hope for your understanding that there are certain procedures and guidelines every management has to ... More

  8.  

    STRESSFULL!!!!!!!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Stock in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Stock in Orlando, FL

    I have been working at PUMA part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Store atmosphere, upbeat music, good discounts. Free clothes 3 times a year.

    Cons

    Pay sucks, too much work with no incentives, too many supervisors and managers in such a small store, favoritism towards certain employees, long tenured employees have more control than own store manager or management in general. They cut your hours for no apparent reason and change your schedule without proper notice. Some managers are nice to you in front of you but talk about you to other employees behind your back. Overall the only good thing about working for this company is the discounts, everything else sucks.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Learn how to listen to your hard working employees concerns and not treat them like crap. And for the love of god stop promoting inexperienced people to management.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    PUMA Response

    Sep 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. We're truely sorry to hear that you have experienced your time with PUMA like this. The living of our vision "fair, honest, positive, creative" is ... More

  9.  

    A Good Start

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Leesburg, VA
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Leesburg, VA

    I have been working at PUMA full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great support system among managers when it comes to training and working to refine each other's management skills. Also have good employee benefits when it comes to creating a flexible schedule, better than average pay, and upbeat store atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not a large amount of stores in a variety of locations, which makes employment difficult unless location is close. Also, hard to move up into management and beyond due to the smaller amount of stores available to be management in. For a retail job, it is unfortunate to have to work on holidays as well.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  10.  

    Eh

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - PUMA Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Former Employee - PUMA Sales Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at PUMA part-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Clothes you get for the season

    Cons

    No hours , Low Pay, Rude staff, And Favoritism .

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11.  

    Good experience builder

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at PUMA full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun work environment and great people and comradery.
    Good learning industry experience.

    Cons

    Growth within company can be stifled depending on which department you work in/
    Some lack of interest in personal growth of employees from upper management.
    Salaries are very unbalanced across the departments and categories.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More frequent check-ins with employees to share positive/negative feedback.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

Work at PUMA? Share Your Experiences

PUMA

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.