Paper Source Reviews

Updated July 24, 2015
101 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.5
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Sally Pofcher
47 Ratings

Pros
  • Good place if your looking for entry level work (in 3 reviews)

  • As a worker, you have to dig deep to find it within you to punch up the creative & customer service skills needed for a job like this (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • Company is growing very fast, although the infrastructure may not be there to handle such swift growth (in 3 reviews)

  • Now, there is little or no training and compensation is their already barely-above-minimum-wage rate (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

101 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    Wonderful Place to Work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Paper Source full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The company is growing which means there is a lot of room for you to grow too! They believe in investing in their people so that promotions can come from within! Upper management and home office is incredibly supportive and makes you feel valued. By far the best company I've ever worked for!

    Cons

    Health care benefits are a bit lack-luster. Definitely pay more out of pocket for coverage than any other place I've worked - but that comes with working for a smaller company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work - thank you for empowering your people so that we can empower our customers!

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 1, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we are thrilled to hear of your positive feedback and certainly will share the benefit information with the appropriate leaders here in HQ. We have made some great ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    Fun work environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I worked at Paper Source part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    fun, supportive leaders. Opportunities to display creativity. The store has very fun products which makes it enjoyable to show to customers. You also get an employee discount ;)

    Cons

    very short work shifts. Working part time, I had to push very hard to get a 4 or 5 hour shift instead of the regular 3 hour shift.

    Advice to Management

    I had a great time working here. I wish they could have been more accommodating with my schedule and long commute. I also did not like that we had trainings on Sunday when the store was closed, as it conflicted with my religious worship.

    Paper Source Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thanks for your feedback. Retail scheduling is a combined effort and about ensuring the right coverage to accomodate our customers during peak times. While we certainly look at associate schedules ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Lead
    Current Employee - Sale Lead

    I have been working at Paper Source full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Love the products, love the design of the store and the chance to train and encourage coworkers

    Cons

    Getting hired was way too complicated and felt Like pulling teeth. A lengthy process that really shouldn't take so long. Recruited was super nice but seems unable to make decisions and would set time frames that were not followed. I should have just said forget it but I really wanted to work for paper source.

    Advice to Management

    You probably lose a lot of great candidates due to the the chaos at the hiring level. I was really surprised that there were so many openings and no really push to get the stores staffed. I needed more decisions to be made and more help and it just wasn't there.

    Paper Source Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We are happy to see you love the store and your team. Paper Source takes great pride in ensuring the right candidates are hired and we do not ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    Store Manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Alhambra, CA
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Alhambra, CA

    I worked at Paper Source (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Paper Source allows you to work in a creative environment.

    Cons

    The company is going through some obvious growing pains. I am sure that it will balance out in the future.


  6. Helpful (1)

    Customer Service Associate

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Paper Source part-time

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment! Creative space allows for a unique experience with every customer. Work is enjoyable.

    Cons

    Not much advancement opportunities through corporate.


  7. Helpful (2)

    Great Company

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in University City, St. Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in University City, St. Louis, MO

    I worked at Paper Source (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment. Flexible work hours. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Lack of training. Lack of communication. Not enough work hours per week.

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 24, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thank your for your feedack and glad to hear you liked our environment. I would have encouraged you to reach out regarding training and communication. We have a very structured training program for ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    It's okay... not great, but not bad.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Highland Park, IL
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Highland Park, IL

    I have been working at Paper Source full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I love the crafty environment! So many tools to work with, and so many crafty people to talk to. The tasks aren't difficult, and usually easily accomplished within a day. The custom printing is one of my favorite aspects - being able to help someone create their dream invitation and bring it to life.

    Cons

    There are a LOT of tasks to do. At my particular location, we are always on a skeleton crew. It's very difficult to get tasks done in a timely manner, only because at most times, the two (yes, TWO) people on the floor, which includes myself, are swamped with customers. I don't know how I can manage to update signage, make a hundred fliers, get a workshop together and prepared, reach out to customers X, Y, and Z regarding matter A, B, and C, while also trying to help the six people shopping who all need time-intensive help. I have no assistance, and the training was mediocre, at best.

    Advice to Management

    We need more people... and better training. The amount of staff that doesn't know (or care to know?) about certain tasks is astounding. If I'm not busy trying to help customers, I'm busy trying to help the staff with tasks that they should know better than I do, considering their length of employment, versus my own.

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 24, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thanks for your feedack, I will share this with the appropriate leadership.


  9. Helpful (1)

    Great Company

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paper Source

    Pros

    30% discount for employees; fun, engaging, and creative work environment

    Cons

    Not much room for growth

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Glad to hear you are having a fun and engaging time. I am sure the customers love coming into your store. Thank you for your feedback!


  10. Great Place To Be!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Paper Source

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company, Great people, Great work environment!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Thanks for the great feedback.


  11. Best job I've ever had!!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager

    I have been working at Paper Source full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It's a great to be a part of a company that values your opinion and where you matter as a individual. I have seen tremendous growth in my team in the past year and seeing the difference in our efforts to better customer service and expand the knowledge of our sales associate through corporate directed initiatives in training and being inspired by our region in creative sip challenges has my team buzzing with excitement! What better way to challenge the team to do something creative everyday. Where else can you get that! Having a HQ that partners with stores and understands and values the store above themselves is commendable. I am proud to be part of this exciting and innovative company whose real attitude is "people first"

    Cons

    Competition for hiring is high so hiring the right candidate is tough when you need to do it quickly so not to lose out on great people who are both crafty and has the passion for people and great service. But once they are in and the catch the fever, they are hooked!

    Paper Source Response

    Jun 10, 2015 – Manager- Field Recruitment

    Excellent to hear and the passion for your teams growth is inspiring. Keep up the great job.



Showing 101 of 102 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.