Physicians Choice Laboratory Services

www.pcls.com

Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Reviews

Updated January 8, 2015
Updated January 8, 2015
13 Reviews
2.6
13 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joe Wiegel
4 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    A good place to start.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technologist in Rock Hill, SC
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technologist in Rock Hill, SC

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy-going office environment, nice people, free coffee, free fitness classes, company matches 50% of HSA contributions and offers a bonus HSA contribution based on how many fitness classes you attend, pays for insurance premiums.

    Cons

    You enter the lab to do a single thing (i.e. sample prep, data review, data analysis, etc...) and don't get trained on anything else which doesn't make you very marketable to other employers if you ever plan to leave the company (most places will expect you to know the process from start to finish). Because of this, the job can seem a bit monotonous and you may not feel like you're learning anything after the first couple of months. It seems as though the company is trying to cross-train everyone in the future but they have been hiring so many new people they're having a hard time coordinating this process.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Communication between shifts could be better, most problems or changes are made known by word of mouth

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    Jan 12, 2015Marketing communications manager

    Thank you for your honest and thoughtful response. We appreciate your feedback and will consider it as we continue to grow throughout 2015. Should you like to share more, please email ... More

  2.  

    Some Unfair Bosses

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services

    Pros

    Great pay, Great hours some of the Sales Rep are super nice to work with.

    Cons

    Dealing with people personalities. They hear one side of stories about new employes because of someone else opinion and run with it.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Great communication starts with the managers K.C

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    Jan 12, 2015Marketing communications manager

    I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with PCLS. We thank you for your honest and thoughtful response. As you know, we are a company experiencing tremendous growth and our road through these ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Excellent culture, clueless management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rock Hill, SC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rock Hill, SC

    I worked at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good programs for employees, ideal location, employment stability

    Cons

    Unfair compensation structure, over-emphasis on sales staff, lack of clear direction from management on future direction of company.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Improve communication and standardize the salary schedule. Make sure employees understand where they fall on the pay schedule and what they need to do to advance.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    Sep 23, 2014Marketing communications manager

    Thank you for your honest, thoughtful response. As you know, we are a company experiencing tremendous growth and our road through these changes will have a few bumps. We appreciate your feedback and ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    horrible

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    work-life balance is ok. If you work at corporate, you should have fun with all of their exercise opportunities

    Cons

    No help provided - minimal training at best

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    If you invest in your employees they will invest in you

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    Nov 5, 2014Marketing communications manager

    I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with PCLS. We appreciate your feedback and should you like to share more, please email jennifer.gammage@pcls.com.

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Best team to work with and always staying busy

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Challenging company that keeps me on my toes and I'm continually learning new things as I work on various projects that span all departments. PTO is sufficient although it's hard to have sick days and vacation lumped together. The health plan and 401k benefits are genuinely good. I've always had an HSA plan so I am used to the ins and outs of the healthcare plan. I know it can be a shock to most when switching form a PPO co-pay plan to the HSA.

    Cons

    Company is still growing so they are transforming and with that comes bumps. Mistakes will be made as they move forward, but I feel like they will come out on top.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to be open with employees and share as much about the company growth and direction as possible.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    You Do Not Want to Work Here.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Data Review in Rock Hill, SC
    Current Employee - Data Review in Rock Hill, SC

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Might be an ok position for entry level fresh graduates who have low expectations. Occasional free food/snacks.

    Cons

    The pay is is well below average, unless you flirt with supervisors. It is also difficult to advance, unless again you flirt with supervisors. Initially, HR and management are very deceptive about pay rises and also about bonuses. Supervisors let lazy people sit around while making the hard workers pick up their slack.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Re evaluate your supervisors, they need more training on how to properly distribute the workload among all the employees, lazy ones too. Give the raises and bonuses that you promise.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    Sep 23, 2014Marketing communications manager

    I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with PCLS. We appreciate your feedback and should you like to share more, please email jennifer.gammage@pcls.com.

  8.  

    Please don't be fooled by any five star review of this place. BOGUS!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services

    Pros

    Free donuts once a month

    Cons

    Low pay rate
    No annual merit increase
    Health insurance benefits suck

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get a clue

    Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Response

    May 9, 2014Marketing communications manager

    I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with PCLS. We appreciate your feedback and should you like to share more, please email jennifer.gammage@pcls.com.

  9.  

    Exciting Healthcare Technology Laboratory

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rock Hill, SC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rock Hill, SC

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Dynamic growth focused on patient and customer needs. Dependable and high quality results. Value of employees. Continuing education support (tuition reimbursement). Opportunities to advance, develop new services. Employee perks, such as on site healthcare clinics, fitness, meals. Team oriented environment. High level of customer service.

    Cons

    None, PCLS is an industry leader.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management respects and values the employees. This is tremendous and supports the employee value chain.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  10.  

    Dynamic Culture Realized

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The company is fast paced and collaborative. If you like to be part of a team where you can make a mark, you will love PCLS"!

    Cons

    Although I know it is coming, it is the first building in River Walk so not a lot of services, food close by.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
  11.  

    One of the best companies I have worked for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations in Rock Hill, SC
    Current Employee - Operations in Rock Hill, SC

    I have been working at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Brand new, state of the art corporate headquarters
    Great benefits
    Great amenities - fitness center, CrossFit, yoga, basketball court, etc.
    Flexible hours - this is a results driven company
    Friendly, knowledgeable staff
    Awesome work environment
    Quarterly bonuses
    Pet friendly

    Cons

    From time to time, the complex workflow and drive to go above-and-beyond for any customer request causes inefficiencies and extended work hours.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

Physicians Choice Laboratory Services Photos

PCLS Facilities
PCLS Core Values

+ Add Photo

Work at Physicians Choice Laboratory Services? Share Your Experiences

Physicians Choice Laboratory Services

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.