Prime Communications

  www.primecomms.com
  www.primecomms.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Prime Communications Reviews in Houston, TX

Updated July 23, 2014
Updated July 23, 2014
100 Reviews
3.7
100 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Farid Virani
75 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Very easy job for a recent college graduate (in 5 reviews)

  • Decent pay compared to fast food industry and big box retail (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • The 'prime' skill middle and upper management possess is that of passing the buck (in 12 reviews)

  • Store managers and district managers frequently get demoted with no notice or reason (in 5 reviews)

More Highlights

15 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Sugar Land, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sugar Land, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge opportunities for company growth; Job advancement always available; Family atmosphere; Strong leadership team; Great benefits; Positive office culture; Fluid work schedule; Understanding and responsive management team; Company loyalty evident!

    Cons

    Corporate office location could be a little far depending on residence, but hardly a concern for most!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great work and we thank you for all that you do!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Aug 8, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

  2.  

    Great Company and Always room to grow.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable  in  Sugar Land, TX
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable in Sugar Land, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can work your way up if you are a hard worker.. I started as an employee and moved all the way up to several different positions in the Home Office. And the owner truly cares about his employees. When I hear people complain about what they do for a living I can’t help but grin because I am one of the few lucky ones that can say I have a job that I look forward to going to everyday.

    Cons

    Fast growing company and you must be able to adapt to change as this company is always growing. I think most of the people who do not grow and leave the company have a hard time dealing with change. I really don’t have any Cons.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep showing how much you care about your employees.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Jul 18, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

  3.  

    Awesome place to work. Great environment.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative  in  Lake Jackson, TX
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lake Jackson, TX

    I worked at Prime Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership, Values, Multi Tasking Responsibility ability to grow within this company.

    Cons

    Better employee Benefits, Sick Time,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Prime is a great place to work. You can gain a lot of experience in sales, management and this company is awesome at helping people to grow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Jun 26, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    My coworkers are such a joy to work with, that we maintain a great relationship in and out of work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Sugar Land, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sugar Land, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time

    Pros

    Employees are really valued here, whether it be in the corporate office or out in the field.

    Cons

    Not the most exciting, but you cant expect much more from a desk job. Raises should be much better.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Please work to get us better raises, and its ok to takle us out on lunches once in a while!!!!!!!!!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Jun 26, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review

  6.  

    My experience with Prime Communications has been amazing by far.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would have to say the reason I like working for Prime would be the friendly environment and learning about the upcoming changes in the wireless world.

    Cons

    Starting off I would say the cons would have to be learning everything and doing it correctly.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    When it comes to learning some individuals are hands on.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Jun 26, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Unprofessional and anti-employee.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager  in  Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at Prime Communications full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay compared to fast food industry and big box retail.

    Cons

    Basically a tool to allow AT&T to expand their retail footprint while not having to sully themselves with the PR hit that cutting wages and benefits would entail. Hours were completely unpredictable. Often we would be told there is a meeting the very next day and that we would have to reschedule our day off. Impossible to have any kind of life outside of work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide more opportunities for advancement. Don't burn out your managers. Provide better pay and benefits. Stop union-busting.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Prime Communications Response

    Jun 26, 2014Onboarding Manager

    Thanks for your review

  8.  

    ok

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate  in  Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX

    I worked at Prime Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    easy job good money if you try hard enough

    Cons

    It wasnt the greatest culture and middle management wasnt very ethical

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    The Worst AT&T Dealer - Rude, Underpaid, & Unprofessional

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - AT&T Prime Communication Sales Associate  in  Humble, TX
    Former Employee - AT&T Prime Communication Sales Associate in Humble, TX

    I worked at Prime Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    if you work HARD... and I mean HARD.. then your commission will be satisfactory.
    willing to give you the hours
    easy job if you work in the mall.
    employees are pretty cool to work with.

    Cons

    they always make you screw ppl over on their bills adding extra features for more money in the sellers pockets & less in your customers.
    no raises.
    no flexibility.
    work you like you are a slave.
    Unprofessional when it comes to management.
    -I was sexually harassed by my manager (which was moved to another location after I sent an email to my DM) when they moved him he had the same issue with another girl in which they just relocated her to another location. I mean what does it take for a woman to get any respect these days.
    they find every reason to take your commission from you whether its "chargebacks" or "Misc"

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it professional. A lot of your locations close due to complaints. They have complaints because of the ill-mannered people you hired.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Don't waste your time and seek carrer with this scam

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager  in  Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was good in 2006, before Radio shack team took over.

    Cons

    Everyday is a challenge. Not organized , lots of racism and favourism.worked 8 years and believe me I am not exagerating.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    promote folks arrocding to merit and seniority, not by race and physical attraction. Stop changing comp structure so much 5 times in a year is really shady. Arshad Fancy should be fired. Mr Farid should take notice of this and get more involved in houston market,

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Uninspired and negative corporate culture.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Sugar Land, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sugar Land, TX

    I have been working at Prime Communications full-time

    Pros

    Work is easy and as long as your actions are recorded in writing by you, you will get through the day. Annual review means as long as you meet minimum requirements for job, you will receive a raise.

    Cons

    Management is flaky, decisions are made with little to no thought regarding business logic or financial consequences. The 'prime' skill middle and upper management possess is that of passing the buck. Everyone is willing to blame one another for incidents and mistakes, but no one is willing to find a solution. Also, all departments are not kept at same expectations or levels... favoritism runs deep.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    1. Stop putting the sales field on a pedestal -- they are costing you money and corporate talent!
    2. If you have an Annual review, make it more beneficial than a superficial circus act... reviews should give employees genuine feedback regarding their work, not be a general 'good job' for all when there are clear work discrepancies.
    3. If you want talented individuals to remain at Prime, provide career opportunities and benefits worthy of their time and skills. If you don't value their time, they will look elsewhere.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

Worked for Prime Communications? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.