R+L Carriers

  www.rlcarriers.com
  www.rlcarriers.com

R+L Carriers Reviews

Updated December 13, 2014
Updated December 13, 2014
69 Reviews
2.4
69 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ralph Larry Roberts, Sr
45 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Decent pay, vacation spots they own free of charge to use, Sundays off (in 4 reviews)

  • Pay and some decent benefits, having the employee resorts is a plus when you get the opportunity to use them and you're off on weekends (in 3 reviews)


Cons
  • No respect for employees whatsoever, they will write you up in a heartbeat but yet will never give you praise for a job well done (in 4 reviews)

  • Terminal Manager could of cared less about security (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Albuquerque, NM
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Albuquerque, NM

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Pay was good on linehauls and if you did your job as expected there weren't usually any problems with upper management.

    Cons

    Some of the other drivers were too busy sucking up to management & trying to get others fired instead of just doing their jobs.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to your employees when there are problems

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Over all good company, which made some poor management decisions several years back.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Service Center Manager
    Current Employee - Service Center Manager

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, service and people.

    Cons

    HR does not treat employees fairly. President, HR and upper management does not give the Service Center Mangers very much support.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let your managers run their centers. They are in the trenches and should be able to do what is needed without having to look over their shoulders.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    Thank you for the feedback. All current employees are encouraged to share their thoughts via the employee page at http://www.talktorl.com/

  3.  

    Great place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at R+L Carriers

    Pros

    Promotion from within. Non-traditional benefits, such as several resorts at which employees can stay free of charge. The sales organization is getting stronger.

    Cons

    Very conservative ownership with outdated management styles. There are some strong, dynamic leaders at R+L, but they are often at odds with an older culture.

    Operations management is very heavy handed.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. All reviews are considered by leadership and used for improvement in all we do.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - LH Supervisor in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - LH Supervisor in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    great employees and work environment

    Cons

    long hours of operation and must be dedicated

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Stay as far away as you can from this place!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Billing in Columbia, SC
    Former Employee - Billing in Columbia, SC

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Weekly pay and free stay at the company resorts, I liked some of my co-workers and repetitive work with overtime.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING! Management is just awful about everything. If you can avoid this place do it! Definitely not the kind of job you want to stay at.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop thinking about yourselves and really treat the employees better.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    We count on feedback from every employee to meet our goal of continuous improvement. Please consider sharing your experience at our R+L Cares page.

    http://www2.rlcarriers.com/contact/rl-cares

  7.  

    Portrayal, this company is no where close to being what the say.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    It was a job to fill in the gaps while you are looking for a job. If you are looking for lower wages than what the competition pays, this might just be the company for you.

    Cons

    Upper management. VP of ops out of Lakeland is horrible. Old school with no forward thinking. All he wants is to fire people and always tells you that he will give you anything you need to support you but NEVER lives up to his word. Take the cross out of your logo, no where close ti being a so called Christian company that values people. Pride in our performance, pride in our people is the biggest joke among all employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Raise pay, learn how to value people, review your upper management, live by your motto. Quit portraying to be a Christian based company. Just let everyone know up front you don't care about people, just profit off the back of your people at lower wages than the competition.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    We appreciate your feedback. As a current employee we encourage you to share your concerns on our employee page at http://www.talktorl.com/.

  8.  

    Don't bother telling upper management about a problem. They will just make up an excuse.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Dock Supervisor
    Current Employee - Dock Supervisor

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Not much to say here. They will step over a dollar to save a dime. Literally the worst managed company.

    Cons

    Work you tell you have nothing left in you. And still want more. They don't plan for nothing. It's just all react day by day. When they have the means to plan at least a day ahead.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pride in your people. Pride in our performance.
    More like, just pride in your bank account. Take better care of your people. Drivers aren't the only reason you are in business.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    We appreciate your concerns being shared here at Glassdoor. Please consider leaving your thoughts at http://www.talktorl.com/ to be received and reviewed by leadership.

  9.  

    they will squeeze everything they possibly can out of you until your spirit is crushed

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tonawanda, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tonawanda, NY

    I have been working at R+L Carriers

    Pros

    For the most part, I like my co-workers.

    Cons

    People are never rewarded for doing a good job, except with "Pride Points" with which you can get some stupid company crap like gloves or a hat, but if you do something wrong, get ready to get your a.ss chewed out. Terminal Manager is rude and impatient and uncaring. They barely train you but then expect you to know everything.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Care about your employees instead of the bottom line occasionally. When you're reprimanding someone, instead of just repeating your (probably stupid) question more loudly, maybe first give them a chance to answer, then LISTEN.

    No opinion of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    We appreciate your concerns being shared here at Glassdoor. Please consider leaving your thoughts at http://www.talktorl.com/ to be received and reviewed by leadership.

  10.  

    Great company and ultra competitive, but ownership needs to step in to save the company from itself.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Outside Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Outside Account Executive in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Great salary, excellent bonus potential, tons of opportunity to grow internally.

    Cons

    Cut throat environment. Everyone only cares about themselves and will do anything to make sure they stay off the radar. The ones that take chances for the benefit of the company get thrown about upper management the first time something goes wrong.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Recognize those who bring growth to the company, not those who stand idle and are content with what they "manage."

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  11.  

    Decent company, have had issues with management.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Combo Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Combo Driver in Milwaukee, WI

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good Salary, bonuses, and steady workload

    Cons

    dishonest management. I was told I would not have to work the dock at time of hire. 5 months later I had to have a meeting with my supperiors for refusing to work the dock. I was forced to sit off the clock for nearly an hour waiting on a load, before i informed the dispatcher i was going home. The dispatcher lied about what transpired. Also sitting on loads is a common thing.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Tell employees all of what the job entails.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    R+L Carriers Response

    Dec 10, 2014Employee Representative

    We appreciate your concerns being shared here at Glassdoor. Please consider leaving your experiences at http://www.talktorl.com/ to be received and reviewed by leadership. We count on feedback from ... More

Work at R+L Carriers? Share Your Experiences

R+L Carriers

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.