Railinc Reviews

Updated February 9, 2015
49 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.2
49 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Railinc President & CEO E. Allen West
E. Allen West
30 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Awesome work life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Product Support in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Product Support in Cary, NC

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Although railinc isn't the highest paying in the industry, there are other great benefits. Healthcare is top notch. Free O2 gym memberships, and onsite boot camps. Railinc also has an onsite gym and yoga classes! Lots of fun people, work from home flexibility and lots of sick/vacation. The job security is treated, owned by the Aar. Little to no chance of being laid off

    Cons

    Not huge promotions, hard to grow salary wise. If you work hard you will be noticed though.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I personally love the executive team. You can't work many places where the entire executive team knows you by name, or works out next to you at the gym. Pretty open environment

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Feb 19, 2015Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thank you for your thoughtful review! I think you hit on good points about Railinc. Our work is important here, but it's also important for you to have a good life. Lots of folks workout during the ... More

  2. Great place of work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Railinc

    Pros

    Amazing culture, nice people, great flexibility

    Cons

    None- Just limited career opportunities

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Railinc Response

    Jan 20, 2015Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your kind words. The people here make it great! Be sure to keep an eye on open positions and talk with your manager about career paths. Our career pathing program may help you find ... More

  3. Old company with Old Ideas

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor

    I have been working at Railinc as a contractor (more than a year)

    Pros

    There is no pros to this company.

    Cons

    Bad company over all, recruiter call's and sends resume over and with out any reason they decided to pass. People do not work for them long a month or less they seem to leave.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Hire people and give pay raises keep people at the same pay rate for 54 years more is not the answer.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Feb 6, 2015Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re having problems – not really sure where to start with this. I see that you are a contractor. You should know that simply being a contractor can limit your exposure to ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 2 people found this helpful

    Good benefits but Culture not for everyone

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC

    I worked at Railinc full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Good Benefits - flexible hours, fun social events - Hard working, dedicated employees.

    Cons

    Many in the Railroad industry are resistant to change. Until recently they were still using microfiche! Many of the long-term employees were not open to new or different ways of thinking or doing things. This has worked well for many of their customers, who also are stuck in the dark ages, but made for a lot of inefficiencies. Many employees are happy there, but it's not a culture for innovative thinkers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management could really improve the bottom line if they listen to the ideas of newer employees and not be afraid to take risks.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Dec 1, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for taking time to write your review. First, you are correct – Railinc culture is not for everyone. For other folks reading this, it helps to know that our role is to help improve the safety ... More

  6. 2 people found this helpful

    Railinc and the Future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Railinc is a family friendly company that takes care of its employees and contractors. Good benefits, promotions are done when earned and open door policy with staff.

    Cons

    Listening to people complain that they have it so bad at Railinc and they really don't do anything about it. Not Railinc but the people complaining.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work and get more projects and money from the Railroads so that we can complete all upgrades and maintenance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Sep 30, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Wow - this is nice. Thank you for your review, your good work every day and support for the company.

  7. 1 person found this helpful

    Steady Progress!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director Product Support in Cary, NC
    Current Employee - Director Product Support in Cary, NC

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are outstanding! Life work balance has to be the best in the industry. High performers are retained, promoted and given recognition. In the eight years that I have worked at Railinc, there has never been layoffs. The company is currently going through a growth spurt. As management adjusts to the new direction of Railinc there are going to be growing pains. Railinc does not have share holders. Decisions are mostly industry value based, not strictly profit and loss.

    High performers at lower level positions are promoted at a rapid pace. The workplace is open, engaging and collaborative. Lunch activities, from volleyball, running, soccer and yoga are available on a daily basis.

    Railinc is finalizing a migration from IBM/DB2/EMC mainframe infrastructure to a mid-range Cisco UCS/Oracle/Net-app/VMWare/Teradata platform. This migration work has been a drain on resources. However, there is light at the end of the tunnel (And it is not a train!). Sometime early 2015, Railinc will be free of the legacy platform and able to concentrate on providing increased value to our customers.

    Cons

    Smaller companies have limited upper management opportunities.

    The rail industry as a whole is quite conservative. Operational excellence is the guiding management philosophy at Railinc. Operational excellence is a competitive advantage: it translates to increased production flexibility, improved customer responsiveness, and cost minimization. Some individuals can get frustrated if they do not understand these drivers. For example, developers who want to design the next cutting edge widget may feel constrained. This is not to say that current technologies are not employed. In fact, many new proven technologies are standard. The key word is proven.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to identify leaders and ensure that these individuals are given opportunities to shine. Continue to shift from being a traditional IT centric company to embracing the move towards being customer centric. Look at current business drivers and ensure they align with the corporate strategy. Find ways to incentivize product management to adopt architectural and design standards.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Sep 26, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your very detailed review of Railinc. I think you nailed it in your discusion of operational excellence. Given our role in our industry, Railinc is not necessarily focused on developing ... More

  8. Life is Good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Work is meaningful and concept of work/life balance is embraced. Robust benefits package, culture of wellness, lots of perks beyond the norm. A great deal of internal movement and progression available especially for the size of the organization.

    Cons

    Compensation tends to be conservative, relevant communication not always cascaded down through the organization by managers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Demonstrate that you value and appreciate your employees.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Sep 26, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your review and for pointing out a number of the good things about working at Railinc. Be assured, there is work to be done and room for improvement, but we are making good progress. We ... More

  9. 4 people found this helpful

    No time for making jokes....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Railinc full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    I agree with what everyone else has said of late.....most of what was good is quickly eroding.

    Cons

    I don't dislike my job as much as some have written already but there is definitely an executive shake up that needs to occur. The Head of Communications is a nice guy but now is not the time to mock or joke about the current issues or reviews. It's only making it worse. Giving advice that the executive team is open for communication is laughable and shows the great divide between the executives in their cushy offices and the manufacturing floor that we work on,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    The employee consensus is to start over. It would be refreshing to have a new set of executives that could lead.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Sep 22, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your comments and review. There are many good things going on at Railinc. Most employees are very happy with their work, the company and what it offers them and their families. Management ... More

  10. 5 people found this helpful

    Manager assigns high risk project with unrealistic timelines and push contractor to meet deadlines

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Senior Quality Assurance Analyst in Cary, NC
    Former Contractor - Senior Quality Assurance Analyst in Cary, NC

    I worked at Railinc as a contractor (less than a year)

    Pros

    Veify Agile focus work environment, allowing team building with all stakeholders.

    Cons

    Sweat shop, low pay. Management took no accountability for their errors on project(s).

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Go beyond ahering to managment team concerns and ahere to non-management concerns.

    Doesn't Recommend
  11. Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Railinc full-time

    Pros

    Railinc has a wonderful work-life balance. You hear that a lot but it really does. No one is hovering over you making you punch in and out. As long as you get your work done, you are free to come and go as you please. You see people here working very early in the morning and some very late at night, all based on your preference as adults to make your own decisions regarding working hours. The benefits package here is pretty sweet as well. They have lessened over the years but that is due to rising health care costs. Every year the rates increase and Railinc absorbs the majority of the costs. The CEO shares this information with you at company meetings that take place once a month. The vacation is 3 weeks with 14 paid holidays, so that is nice as well. You also have access to the executives here, which I have never experienced before. Once hired, you meet with the CEO 1-1. You can lunch with the executive team pretty often and meet with them simply by scheduling an appointment. I have never worked anywhere that allowed that type of access. There are a lot of neat things here to make it fun, ice cream in the summers, employee recognition awards, picnics, parties, concerts and sporting events then anyone can register to win. Where I worked before only executives got tickets to anything, here it is very transparent on who receives what. They recently offered a gym membership, you have to go to the gym 4x a month and if you do, Railinc covers the cost. There is also a gym onsite. We are close to trails, volleyball and lakes. Working here is a lot of fun. The people here are the best. I think this is a great place to work and when I read the reviews it makes me sad to know that people here are unhappy. I feel like they just want to be unhappy.

    Cons

    One of the bad things about working here, Railinc does not pay a lot. I wish they would consider raising salaries here. If management raised the salaries I don't think anyone would ever leave here. Another, a few disgruntled people are ruining it for everyone with their bad attitudes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Increase the salaries. We are losing good people to companies that are paying a little more. Perks are great but they do not pay the bills.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Railinc Response

    Sep 18, 2014Director of Corporate and Brand Communications

    Thanks for your nice comments!

Work at Railinc? Share Your Experiences

Railinc

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.