River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated July 31, 2015
185 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.1
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
59 Ratings

Pros
  • Staff discount after 7 weeks of working there (although everything I bought ended up going in the sale right after (in 18 reviews)

  • 30 % discount on all clothing except promotional items (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Every sales assistant is on minimum wage and only goes up when the government increases the (in 9 reviews)

  • There is a lot of pressure put on every member of staff and management in the company from the highest positions all the way to level ones (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

185 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Fast paced challenging high fashion retailer with a buzzing atmosphere.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Free uniform, great discount, being part of a fashion forward business.

    Cons

    Need to be flexible as to support the business needs. Too many different opinions on different aspects of the store can cause extended workload for teams and can be frustrating. Not enough hours in a day. 😕

    Advice to Management

    Tailor training to the individuals role. Consistency needed in people skills from the top down in order to get the best from your staff and to create a happy driven work force.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Apr 13, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thank you for your review and lovely to hear you are enjoying your time at River Island.


  2. Fun role, good place to meet people and be first to fashion

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and shifts, good staff discounts, 75% off on jeans and 30% off the rest when I worked there for two years.

    Cons

    Not always guaranteed to leave on time at the end of day shifts until every inch of the shop is clean. The management (supervisors) can sometimes be a bit rude and disrespectful.

    Advice to Management

    Always treat your staff with respect

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 14, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thanks for the review of River Island - glad you enjoyed your time with us!


  3. Best employer!! great perks

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Derry, Northern Ireland (UK)
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Derry, Northern Ireland (UK)

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time (More than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Riverisland really treat you as a family, not just a number like other organisations. Their benefits such as 40% discount on FP, uniform, and flexibility in terms of hours, what more do people want. Ive worked here for nearly 2 years, it has been wonderful, i love my job, collegues, management and the staff perks. Management are understanding if you need more hours and will adapt if possible to suit the needs of the employee. In terms of the company i cannot fault, maybe some in store individuals can be. But the good outshines the bad.

    Cons

    The only downside is sometimes members of management dont show appraisal or encourage as much as they should and have "favourites" based on personal relationship however these "favourites" are often not half as efficient or good at their job than others and good workers get their efforts ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Encouraging your staff more and showing appreciation makes for effective staff, happy people sell afterall. If staff feel their hard efforts go unnoticed, this causes them to be demotivated and therefore their efficiency and customer service will lack, having the domino effect on the business as sales and standards will lack. The perks and benefits are amazing but if their own hands on management are not treating or managing correctly, the employees and the store will still suffer.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reatil Assistant
    Current Employee - Reatil Assistant

    I have been working at River Island Clothing

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Discount Banter Great staff Wage for Under 21's high

    Cons

    None as its a great place to work

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Fabulous, thanks for your review on River Island. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.


  6. sales advisor

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Oxford, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Oxford, England (UK)

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Recommends

    Pros

    beautiful products with a decent staff discount and uniform allowance. Opportunity to transfer to different stores when opportunities arise for career progression or if moving location.

    Cons

    management can take their stress out on staff especially after conference calls!, sometimes menswear can become quite short staffed as womenswear is the main focus of each store.

    Advice to Management

    create a balance between womens, mens and kidswear as well as try not to take out stress on staff so frequently.


  7. Sales Assistant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Meet some great people while working there, management isn't too bad. Always overtime available if you want to make some extra money.

    Cons

    Sometimes the store feels under staffed during peak times (holiday time or sales etc).

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Fabulous, thanks for your review on River Island. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.


  8. Lots of progression but only if you work really hard!

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England (UK)

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Met some of my closest friends over the past 4 years, if you get a good manager it's a very fun place to work, progressed 9 times in 8 years, discount amounts have just improved and the company is changing to make river island a happy positive place to work

    Cons

    Some managers are stuck in the past and don't understand the need to motivate, it can be over whelming at times with work loads for managers but the challenge is enjoyable.

    Advice to Management

    Motivate! good feedback is more important than negative, understand your staff and take time to get to know them. :)

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thanks for your feedback and we will feedback your points. Thanks for your continued hard work :)


  9. Helpful (5)

    Store manager

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland (UK)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland (UK)

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Always busy, work with a great team and company set up a survey to help improve work place for team and we seeing changes already

    Cons

    Company planning although stressed to us that we need to be organised it is hard when things don't happen when supposed too

    Advice to Management

    My boss is brilliant so myself and rest of my area is very lucky. She is very approachable still understands all the pressures at store level although she has not worked in a store for years.

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jun 19, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Thank you for your review about River Island and your hard work and commitment :)


  10. worst place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    uniform allowance meant free clothes store discount of 30% meant being able to get clothes cheaper

    Cons

    roughly £4 per hour for a challenging and tiring job managers don't actually do anything just stand and boss people around unreal amount of pressure put on the young part time workers to increase sales use humiliation tactics to attempt to motivate staff members when it comes to booking holidays not everyone is treated equally

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding and kind to staff instead of undermining and condescending

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at River Island - we have listened to your comments.


  11. sales assisstant

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Preston, North West England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Preston, North West England, England (UK)

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    good team and incentives, lots to do, variety, work with fashion, OK pay, good hours

    Cons

    temp contract, can be very busy , pay can be classified as low, tiring, inadequate training and thrown straight into the job

    Advice to Management

    try keep teams small and provide more training to

    River Island Clothing Response

    Jul 23, 2015 – Recruitment Controller

    Fabulous, thanks for your review on River Island. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.



Showing 185 of 195 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.