Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh)

www.theriverscasino.com/pittsburgh
Engaged Employer

Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Reviews

Updated July 14, 2015
49 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
  • Full-time
  • Part-time
Employment Status

Reset
3.3
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Greg Carlin
16 Ratings

49 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Decent place to work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender
    Former Employee - Bartender
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Worked when I wanted to. Employees are fun, atmosphere is fun.

    Cons

    No growth, no Union, management doesn't listen to employees more

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more often.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors!


  2. Fun work

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Greensburg, PA
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) part-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment if you love makeup and working with customers.

    Cons

    Seasonal they just stop scheduling you and let you go without warning. Bad communication with management on that part of it.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    May 22, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your positive experience working here at Rivers. We wish you all the best in your new work!


  3. Valet

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valet in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Valet in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of PTO, benefits, free food/cheap food. Free parking

    Cons

    Work holidays and other busy days, union trying to get in and causing tension

    Advice to Management

    Have a better way for full time people to pick their days off, such as a day off bid.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    May 11, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience in working with us here at Rivers. We appreciate your thoughts regarding full-time coverage and will pass that along to management.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Used to be better

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Cocktail Waitress in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    cocktail waitressing you are able to keep your own tips. Really fun people to work with!!!

    Cons

    management is very unprofessional and at times degrading. You don't feel appreciated and always have to look over your shoulder.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staffs opinions with more of an open mind . Communicating with employees are a more professional level.


  6. Decent job but no career

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Astoria, NY
    Former Employee - Driver in Astoria, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits. Decent pay for a low skill job. Moderate upward mobility. Great middle management. Seniority gets you everything.

    Cons

    Upper management has no clue what is going on. They make decisions with no input from subordinates who know how it will really impact things. Part time workers are treated horribly.

    Advice to Management

    Create a board of both part time and full time dealers to work together to create or modify new policies. Pay attention to the people who are on the front lines.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    May 22, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about areas of improvement for us as an organization and we will pass along your suggestions and idea for peer boards. Thank you!


  7. fun, long hours, smoke environment

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Co workers, entertainment, pto

    Cons

    Management , schedule changes every couple months

    Advice to Management

    Leave the schedule alone, people have lifes

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    Apr 29, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with others and we appreciate your work for us here at Rivers.


  8. Worst company to work for

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    401(k) benefits, medical/dental insurance, decent pay, good location

    Cons

    They will screw you every chance they get; teach you one policy, then later change it and make it your fault; they fight EVERYONE'S unemployment, even though they fire so many people for terrible reasons; don't let them trick you with their tuition reimbursement- they'll find a way to not pay, or make you pay them back. Management is a joke and a bunch of slimy snakes. I wasted way too much time on this company. I would work for McDonald's before I worked here again.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    May 22, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us at Rivers and we hope that your new job is working out well for you. We wish you well!


  9. Helpful (2)

    Good benefits, Hypocritical Culture

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free parking, free lunches (or $2.50 for a "buffet" lunch), great coworkers, fun employee events and promotions. Gaming positions make good money, especially tips.

    Cons

    Incredibly strict "no-fault" attendance policy, must work all holidays, must be willing to work nights and weekends. Company culture emphasizes "respect", but very little respect seems to exists between management and team members. Non-gaming and "administrative support" departments are paid below average. High turnover. Company also preaches opportunities for advancement and hiring from within, but outside candidates are usually hired over internal applicants.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your team members enough to keep them. Pay in line with the industry. Don't take advantage of good workers.

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    Apr 29, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    We appreciate that you shared your sights with us and other prospective employees and current job seekers. We will take into account the Cons that you wrote about and will continue to work toward ... More


  10. Best company in today's casino industry.

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pit Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Pit Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Everything, pto, 401k,insurance, management, people think the grass is greener on the other side but 99% of them don't realize that this is their 1st big job and for a company to offer what rivers give to their employees is absolutely amazing

    Cons

    There is none...Do your job and u will have one forever. They listen to the problems and address all concerns. Everybody puts the obvious. It's a casino and it's open 27/7/365 and it's the main part of your interview process so people can't complain.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for being a great company. Hope people realize what they have before it's to late for them to realize. Thank you for the turkey and ham during the holidays. Thank you for all the employees giveaways ex. Money,flat screens, & Gift cards

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    Mar 31, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    We appreciate your kind words, support and dedication to Rivers! Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you enjoy working with us.


  11. Excellent focus on team member satisfaction and retention. Very strong benefits package. Exciting and fun

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valet in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Valet in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly and energetic work environment that rewards team members with an array of advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    As with any profession working closely with customers, there are times when your customer service skills are put to the test.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the team members. Great progress so far!

    Rivers Casino (Pittsburgh) Response

    Mar 6, 2015 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for the kind comments and candor. As you mention, we will keep the team members a top priority.



Showing 49 of 49 reviews
Reset Filters
RSS Feed </> Embed

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.