Royal Mencap Society Reviews

Updated April 14, 2015
13 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.7
13 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jan Tregelles
3 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Personal assistant to Director

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant

    I worked at Royal Mencap Society full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Gratifying and worthwhile. Felt like part of the team. Was included in all parts of company. Regular reviews helped me develop.

    Cons

    Very rigid regarding hours and time off.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your comments. Should you wish to provide me with any further feedback it would be gratefully received.
    Rob Walker FCIPD
    Head of Resourcing
    Rob.Walker@Mencap.org.uk

  2. The people we support are truly amazing

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Peterborough, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people with learning disabilities are fabulous- very varied cross section of people. Training is excellent at induction but thereafter normally just the statutory updates. Good team work and a good team help a lot. Salary OKish for management but expectations are high too. There is a lot of job satisfaction and autonomy to develop your service as a manager. There is effort to engage but with the variety in working hours and disperse nature of devices in domicilary care this is hard to achieve as funding is only given for the hours they need and are for specific tasks. However it it generally an enjoyable role where the clients give you motivation to work hard for them and there is when things go well a great sense of achievement that does get recognised and is valued which is rare these days

    Cons

    Management salary nothing special, and considering workload and responsibility on the lower side and to retain staff with so much responsibility this needs to be looked at. Too much corporate spin at times and forms or initiatives designed to include the clients are so complex and ill thought out for those with complex needs and lack of cognitive ability can be very frustrating. Support workers salary is very low and is different all over the country even from neighbouring towns - makes recruitment of quality staff v hard and quality of most applicants is poor. The main cause is down to what each local authority pay and budget cuts impact greatly. A great deal of time and resources are used on a monthly basis on recruitment that could be offset if support worker pay was more better

    Advice to Management

    Simplify finance and quality monitoring documentation so the clients can use for themselves. Quality CPD that has National Accreditation would help to retain good staff. The gap between Service Manager and support worker is so great in terms of people requirements that it does not encourage a grow your own culture. To employ someone at 14k a year and expect them to be developed into a 30k role in one jump is not an easy thing. Someone with the potential skills and abilities for a service manager would rarely apply for a job that paid £7.30 an hour - there needs to be graduation. Pay is an issue all round.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 16, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your feedback. I feel that you raise some valid points which are worth considering. I would llike to invite you to share thoughts with me directly so that they can be considered ... More

  3. So far so good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Services in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Business Services in Peterborough, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great on-boarding experience, welcoming peers, supportive managers, really good enviroment

    Cons

    Salary is not so good , but work life balance and the cause worth the sacrifice

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the open door policy and continue to encourage employee involvement within continuous improvement processes

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 16, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your review.

    I wish you every success in your new role.

    If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Rob Walker
    Head of Resourcing
    ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Fantastic organisation to work for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Peterborough, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society full-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great cause! Working together to help people with learning disabilities and their families. Flexible working hours, great family feel and above all team work. One of the best organisations I have ever worked for. The organisation actually cares about their staff and the CEO is approachable and is open to direct contact. Every employee is able to have their say and contribute to policies and change.

    Cons

    There are frustrations in all organisations. It is about how as an employee you deal with them and contribute to helping change and making things better! It is up to everyone. There is no point being negative.

    Advice to Management

    Just continue with the new organisational values and embed them into the organisation right across the board.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 17, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your review and comments.

    Rob Walker
    Head of Resourcing
    Royal Mencap Society
    rob.walker@mencap.org.uk

  6. project worker

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Worker in Belfast, Northern Ireland (UK)
    Current Employee - Project Worker in Belfast, Northern Ireland (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Working with some dedicated staff and inspiring young people. Seeing them develop and achieve their goals is satisfying.

    Cons

    Treated poorly by management. Opportunities you create can be taken off you and given to others for less than satisfying justification. Can be clear some senior management do not like your style, but won't help you develop, a very bureaucratic organisation, with little desire that I can see to genuinely help people, outside what they portray in the media.

    Advice to Management

    Work with entry level colleagues to develop professionally and clearly outline the mencap strategy as it is confusing and difficult to source meaningful material on it. Do not let personal reason interfere with good work, the clients come first.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 16, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your comments. I am really sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience whilst with Mencap and I am particularly dismayed that you believe that some managers you have come in ... More

  7. Support Worker

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Thetford, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Thetford, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Helping vulnerable people to live life to the full.

    Cons

    Ridiculous Pay, incentives and Poor management. Staff shortages are far too common.

    Advice to Management

    Listening to your staff will serve you well. Too much responsibility is handed to carers and it's the service users that miss out most of all.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your experiences whilst working at Mencap. I realise that as with any job there are challenges and difficulties, I recognise that within our ... More

  8. Services going down hill rapidly

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trowbridge, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trowbridge, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Tenants we work with and support

    Cons

    Low wages, unprofessional management, staff unreliability leaving staff stranded in projects,managaments constant excuses to deal with bad staff,sickness of staff,staff not turning up for shifts,expecting staff to work 50+ hours a week,incorrect pay.....the list is endless

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and deal with issues,don't sweep them under the carpet Deal with staff shortages,support staff properly ......don't expect staff to be able to do paperwork as well as support tenants when some tenants need extra support! Don't favour some staff and treat some staff appallingly........

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    As a responsible employer we take seriously any negative comments regarding our duty of care towards our employees. Mencap genuinely values the contribution that all our employees make each and every ... More

  9. support worker

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society full-time (more than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    flexible if you chase the manager, good and honest teams

    Cons

    no career development opportunities, empty promises during job interview, too much bureaucracy and ticking the boxes to meet the targets. Management seems detached from front line work. Monthly Mencap mag portrays the company as the best with lots of celebrities support but in reality people at the services are struggling. They are simply too big and too commercial. During my employment i hardly ever heard positives about Mencap. I meet other support workers and also talk to parents of people we support as well as met few former employee.

    Advice to Management

    Dont take too many services if you can not manage them. Order your line managers to actually work "on the floor" with others for more than 10 min so they can have some knowledge about people we support needs. Offer some financial bonuses when you push support workers to go an extra mile. Give some hope. There is no motivation at all.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. As with any organisation or employer there are times that we have not been able to support every employee or volunteer as would be expected. Mencap genuinely ... More

  10. Useless , people leaving due to getting fed up.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Contractor - Support Worker
    Current Contractor - Support Worker

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society as a contractor (more than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Plenty of training only , supportive workmates.

    Cons

    Rubbish hours, useless lying managers, wrong wages, favorited staff, bullying, more paper work than actual support. Dead end job with limited opportunities to develop.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Offer more career opportunities and extended training for staff that want it. Focus more on support than completeing pointless new paperwork that is not required within regards of reviewing and support work. When services are running on low staff pick up shifts like at your service like you are supposed to, don't run on less staff and harass staff to come in on there days off. Offer local training or train local staff to train rather than sending them to the other end of the country. Shape your future is a waste of time and money, really no one cares about it, just let us do our jobs and look after the tenants.

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    As an agency worker (contractor) within Mencap it can be sometimes difficult to really feel part of the organisation as the work is intermittant and you do not enjoy the continuity. I can also ... More

  11. So far so good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Aylesbury, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Aylesbury, England (UK)

    I have been working at Royal Mencap Society part-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexibility, great working environment and superb training and support. No two days are the same thats what makes it enjoyable

    Cons

    Salary is not so good, not many benefits. Too much paperwork at least computerise the documents. Thats makes it easy to file

    Advice to Management

    Introduce computer systems to recird data than manual filing

    Royal Mencap Society Response

    Apr 6, 2015Head of Resourcing

    Hi, thank you for your comments and feedback. I am pleased that you are enjoying your experience with Mencap.

    With regards to salary, we make every attempt to remain competative within the local
    ... More

Work at Royal Mencap Society? Share Your Experiences

Royal Mencap Society

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.