SABMiller

www.sabmiller.com

SABMiller Reviews

Updated February 16, 2015
Updated February 16, 2015
93 Reviews
3.8
93 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SABMiller Chief Executive Officer Alan Clark
Alan Clark
38 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • International face-to-face learning, very good resources, smart people, fun category, free beer (in 8 reviews)

  • You get to work with some great people and it's interesting (in 8 reviews)


Cons
  • Work life balance is not the best in the professional environment (in 11 reviews)

  • Some of the white South Africans in the Nigerian arm are racially intolerant (in 3 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Challenging and fulfilling

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at SABMiller full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Top professionals in a very dynamic environment. Driven by the need to be best in class, every day is learning experience.

    Cons

    Work life balance is difficult to achieve. Strong leaders that tend to leave little room for discussion. Training and skill development is not a priority

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SABMiller Response

    Aug 26, 2014Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your former experience working at SABMiller and appreciate the feedback highlighting areas where there is room for improvement. We hope that ... More

  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    A multinational managing its growing pains

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Finance Manager (I Grade) in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Finance Manager (I Grade) in Miami, FL

    I have been working at SABMiller full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, consistent management, focus on producing excellent products while respecting its clients and employees. Office culture is very open, with perks such as daily gourmet lunch included, free monthly cases of excellent beers and an office pub open after hours to all employees and visitors.

    Cons

    Historical silos still exist within countries and processes. Centralisation is the key word, but it means organisational changes affecting people and job stability.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Maintain the focus on improving for the long term without sacrificing the good practices that teams have already developed.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    SABMiller Response

    May 27, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to post your review of your experience working for SABMiller. We are glad to hear you are enjoying the people, management and culture. As some of our structures are ... More

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    A challenging environment, where challenging professionals can thrive.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Milwaukee, WI
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Milwaukee, WI

    I worked at SABMiller full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    You won't find a better place to learn about the industry. What you put in, you will get out.

    Cons

    Some of the expectations in terms of time commitment are over the top. Occasionally the company suffers from analysis paralysis - too much second guessing the data and not enough action.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Trust & empower your people to make decisions.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    SABMiller Response

    May 27, 2014

    Thank you for taking time to post a review of your experience working at SABMiller. I'm not certain how long ago you left the organisation, however, we have been actively working on making dedicated ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Excellent company to work for.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at SABMiller full-time

    Pros

    Honest, high integrity, very experienced

    Cons

    Very little negative feedback, companys market is in a depressed area of the southwest

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find more commercial work

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    SABMiller Response

    May 27, 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of SABMiller. We are disappointed to read that you would not recommend this company to a friend and aren't optimistic about the outlook for the ... More

  6.  

    Love beer and planning how to sell beer? Love Miller!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Market Research Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - Market Research Manager in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at SABMiller

    Pros

    Other than the free beer - A lot of good people work in the field making the numbers everyday. They know how to market their product to their audience.

    Cons

    Planning, planning, planning - This took several months and they kept changing the process every year! Way too many consultants selling them on new ways to plan!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Selling beer is local - trust your local marketing and sales teams to meet the goals that you give to them!

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    Fantastic business with great brands

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales

    I have been working at SABMiller (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great brands, high performance culture, fast paced and exciting business to be part of. Probably the most talented group of people I've worked with

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity for progression / promotion in uk business. Employees moved around jobs in same level. Recent high turnover of staff due to this

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Create more promotion opportunities and management to engage more with employees and give recognition on a regular basis.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Welcome to the 80s

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Enschede (Netherlands)
    Current Employee - Manager in Enschede (Netherlands)

    I have been working at SABMiller full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    High dynamic work environment, you learn to swim if you don´t sink. Here is also the flaw, culture is extremely capitalist and short term focussed

    Cons

    culture is extremely capitalist and short term focussed. No building of the organisation. People as liabilities. They live from their substance, high turnover of personel

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    SABMiller Response

    Feb 12, 2015Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your experience working at SABMiller in the Netherlands. We are disappointed to hear your culture comments. We would recommend that you ... More

  9.  

    I learned a lot in SAB company they teached me on how to use SAP system.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Centurion (South Africa)
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Centurion (South Africa)

    I have been working at SABMiller

    Pros

    the advantage is that you can learn a lot, because you are multitasking , and you must be a hard working somebody.

    Cons

    you need to have qualifications and drivers licence at the most.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    you need to apply but meet the requirements.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    SABMiller Response

    Jan 16, 2015Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about your experience working at SABMiller in S. Africa. We value your opinion and are glad to see you appear to be having a positive experience.

  10.  

    Big global company with lots of opportunities

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Network Support Engineer in Accra (Ghana)
    Current Employee - Network Support Engineer in Accra (Ghana)

    I have been working at SABMiller full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very big company this many job opportunities within. Canteen for employees - good food for - almost - free. Liquid perks. Nice bar and free beer. Mature

    Cons

    Rigid atmosphere, people seem to be scared to have some fun at work, with their heads down. This is probably coming from management. Some of the managers patronizing tendencies. Not many, but some of the people in management I have met very rude.

  11.  

    Big global company with lots of opportunities but rigid atmosphere

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at SABMiller full-time

    Pros

    Very big company this many job opportunities within. Canteen for employees - good food for - almost - free. Liquid perks. Nice bar and free beer. Mature

    Cons

    Rigid atmosphere, people seem to be scared to have some fun at work, with their heads down. This is probably coming from management. Some of the managers patronizing tendencies. Not many, but some of the people in management I have met very rude.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Relax please!

    SABMiller Response

    Nov 14, 2014Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your experience at SABMiller. We take on board your suggestions for improvement and are sorry to hear that you feel the atmosphere holds some ... More

Work at SABMiller? Share Your Experiences

SABMiller

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.